We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jameson Inn Shiraz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Ranked #16 of 216 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Tulip Inn is conveniently located in Park Street. Rooms are neat and comfortable. Only minus point is that there was no hand-shower or bucket in the bathroom. Not sure if standard rooms do not have hand-showers while other rooms have. Staff was courteous but not equipped to give directions to different tourist locations in the city.

There are 2 restaurants but when we went for a late breakfast at the in-house restaurant, only sandwiches were available. The complimentary breakfast buffet was passable but nothing great about it.

We were able to check in an hour early and check out an hour late without even specifically requesting for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCouple_TWaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    139
    50
    8
    7
See reviews for
51
52
33
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Comfortable Place
Great Locale
Friendly & Helpful Staff
BESST Restaurant - SHIRAZ ( U have to try the Mutton Biryani here and yep if u can digest fat GO For REZALA its the best ive tasted)
This is the original Shiraz and now called Dawat-e - shiraz. Have a feast

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank ARazdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I often visits kolkata for business and always stay around park street. Last time I had rated them excellent now I would only say average. coz they have changed. They are still better than many other similar star category hotels in town but by their own standard they are on decline. Front desk staff is rude, infrastructure excellent, service poor, b/f average. No difference between superior and deluxe room (this time i booked superior room) but tariff difference)

Room Tip: never choose a superior room u will just pay hefty sum without any gain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank navyavni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

located in park street good place to stay , easy access to places around like victoria and market , friendly staff and very neat room, food is good .. great bargain shops near by ..worth to stay for business people

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

After spending a few days traveling and staying in budget places we were due for a nice treat. Tulip Inn was just the ticket. Still being fairly reasonable, especially for Kolkata standards, it cost 5000 Rps. for a double. We had a great time here though, the service was spot on, the room was clean and comfortable (albeit, a bit small) and the location couldn't be beat. We walked everywhere, including all the way to Howrah bridge and down to the Victoria Memorial (so it can be done from this location) and were comfortable walking back to the hotel even later in the evening.

Bonus, the restaurant across the street, Shiraz, had the most memorable mutton biryani that we tried on our whole India trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

A nice, new hotel for business people. They have offered a very good price at the moment. The rack rates are too high and not worth it. The hotel has all amenities and good furnishings with wooden floor. Good complimentary breakfast was offered. The location is at the end of park street. Courteous staff. They have SEPERATE smoke free rooms. The rooms are little bit small of course for one person is more than enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are almost same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sathyadev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent a few days at the Tulip Inn three separate times as we transitted to and from other places at the end of a long holiday in India. We are delighted that we found it, for it was a perfect place to relax after a long journey. Our rooms were comfortable and well-appointed, and the staff very helpful and courteous. We preferred the second and third floor rooms, especially looking north over the trees of South Park Cemetery. We were pleased to have such big windows with curtains that could pull right back. The showers are fantastic, the beds extremely comfortable and the linen crisp. There is a very good office type chair at the desk as well as a small armchair. We found the service straightforward and unpretentious. The location is very convenient, and the restaurant food is delicious, with very good choices at the breakfast buffet. Thank you Tulip Inn.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.8 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#18 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#23 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
5.1 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#8 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jameson Inn Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jameson Inn Shiraz

Property: Jameson Inn Shiraz
Address: 56, Park Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700017, India (Formerly Tulip Inn Kolkata)
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#19 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jameson Inn Shiraz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cygnett Hotels is partaking in a bit of the joy in Kolkata. Jameson Inn Shiraz, the first hotel in India of the leading American budget hotel brand, 'Jameson Inn', stands grand and proud on Kolkata's veritable lifeline, Park Street. It is close to many of Kolkata's famous landmarks, the shopping havens, and business hubs. Business and leisure travellers alike will enjoy the advantages of its location complemented by the unmatched comfort of the accommodation, made possible by the exacting attention to the quality of every guest's experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Jameson Inn Shiraz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn Shiraz India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing