We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Jameson Inn Shiraz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Ranked #15 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Galaxy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I was in Room #505. Noisy at night. No hot water in the shower - may be they would have rectified it if I had called, but with a short time for a meeting, I was in a hurry.

They provided complimentary internet, but I had to make multiple phone calls to get it working ( I am computer savvy and not a novice!). The complimentary breakfast was average from point of view of number of items offered and taste.

Clean room, clean bathroom, good location, comfortable bed, Many TV channels are the advantages. Staff are polite, helpful and service minded.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalaxyBiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    152
    52
    9
    7
See reviews for
60
56
36
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I am not much of a traveler, so I haven't stayed in too many hotels. But Tulip Inn was definitely the best hotel I have ever stayed in. If you can shell out some bucks then this hotel is a luxury.

Excellent service.
Hygiene level is top class.
The ambiance of the room is perfect.
The only little glitch was regarding food quality. It wasn't bad but it wasn't excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brahmabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panjim, India
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

New property with all the amenities as per 3 star rated hotel. Very efficient and courteous staff. Conveniently located at Park street, we could travel anywhere within reasonable time. Well planned rooms and nice bathrooms of European standards. Only thing I found little odd was workmanship, as I found that electrical DB cover was open and some parts were kept in the drawer. Wires were tapped from only 1 mcb for 4-5 circuits. ELCB was not installed, which is the prime necessity for safety against electrical shock. Needs to pay attention immediately.

Beds were noisy may be because of the rollers used. Feel bad that workmanship related issues prevails so much in India, even after using best of the equipments!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vallabhprabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I've stayed here in this hotel for 2 nights/3days on my business trip to Kolkata. The hotel is newly built, is modern in overall architecture and caters well to a business traveller. I booked this hotel thru hotel website and to my shock, when i reached, they were unable to find my booking which led to confusion on my reservation. The location is excellent near to Park circus (Mallick bazaar crossing) & 5 mins away from Park street. Rooms are decnt in size, enjoyed the buffet breakfast. Overall service of the staff was excellent. The room sofa seat needs cleaning. You can also enjoy Shiraj famous biryani right opp to the hotel. Overall, a nice comfortable stay, needs a little more professionalism as per global standards.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank preekshitgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked two suites of this hotel from hotel website for one night during our official trip to Kolkata. While check-in, we were shocked to know that there were no suits present in the hotel and suits are supposed to be under construction. We had a long argument with the manager on this issue & asked to cancel our reservations.Finally, we were offered spacious rooms and a complementary dinner. Rooms were nice & clean but lacked proper lighting. Floor of the hotel & rooms were not in good shape and found uneven at some places. The hotel staff were very good & service was nice. The hotel does not have any bar you will have to roam-in around park street area to get your fav drink.

Overall, we would suggest hotel management to kindly work towards achieving perfection in order to compete with other good hotels present in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capricon8y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is my second visit to this hotel. I styed here for 2 nights. Location is best in Kolkata as situated on park st food, shopping, nightlife dist of KOlkata. Staff and service is excellent as they treat u like out of world hospitality like they r treating Baratis. Std Room size is ok bathroom and amenities excellent. Toleteries limited but u can always ask housekeeping and they are more than happy to fulfill ur wish. Room & hotel Interiors are soothing and at par with any 4 star hotel though it is a 3 star hotel. Now some -ve and it is only one that breakfast for vegetarian person is very ordinary. Ist day b/f contains choley baturey as maincourse item for veg buffet bhaturey were half cooked and choleys has no taste even a street vendor does a better job than them. Next day main course veg item is aloo paratha with aloo methi subzi that too was really bad subzi contains just oil and oil & aloo paraths were again half done without any flavors or spices. Fruits were ok except pine apple that was stale on whole they must do something about b/f for veg customers. overall exp was just fabolous and outstanding.

Room Tip: book through clear trip in advance than may u can even get the room in this hotel at less than 4k wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank navyavni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayuthaya, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The location at the city center and convenient for transportation, specially tram.
The hotel staffs were very good and service mind, good value for money.
I booked the hotel through Agoda with extra bed (for 3 of us) just for 1 day but due to hotel only suit for 2 then the manager give us the extra 1 room without extra charge and their food also good in breakfast, lunch and dinner. Finally by our mistake of traing booking then we stay all 5 days at this hotel.
The staff were evaluate by the questionaire then they will come to service you and give questionaire to you to write about hime/her.
We were enjoy there.

Room Tip: Choose the room far from the store room (house keeper room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucksnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.7 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,461 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,914 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#18 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#19 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
741 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,069 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#49 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jameson Inn Shiraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jameson Inn Shiraz

Property: Jameson Inn Shiraz
Address: 56 Park Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700017, India (Formerly Tulip Inn Kolkata)
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#20 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jameson Inn Shiraz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cygnett Hotels is partaking in a bit of the joy in Kolkata. Jameson Inn Shiraz, the first hotel in India of the leading American budget hotel brand, 'Jameson Inn', stands grand and proud on Kolkata's veritable lifeline, Park Street. It is close to many of Kolkata's famous landmarks, the shopping havens, and business hubs. Business and leisure travellers alike will enjoy the advantages of its location complemented by the unmatched comfort of the accommodation, made possible by the exacting attention to the quality of every guest's experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jameson Inn Shiraz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn Shiraz India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing