We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO PRIDE HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata
Ranked #24 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have stayed at their properties at Pune & nagpur and have always found the experience to be good. believe me, a trip to their Kolkata property changed all that. the attitude of the staff is very callous- primarily the problem lies in their understanding of the customer's request. Their first response (before you can complete the sentence) is universal- Sorry, this is not possible in a very typical accent- annoying & irritating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrQayum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing The Pride Hotel Kolkata during your recent trip to the city.

We would like every guest’s stay is delightful and sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have shared your comments with the team and are addressing your concerns on training of our team .

We would like to welcome you again during your next visit to Kolkata and assuring you of our best attention at all times!

Kindest Regards,

Kenneth Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 537 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a nice business hotel near the airport but far from central Kolkata. The room was clean. The gym was very nice with good equipment. The pool is great in the summer as it is outdoors but covered so you do not get burned by the sun. However, the pool is not heated in the winter (most pools in Kolkata are not) so water is very cold and unusable in winter. There is a nice outdoor jogging park just across the street from the hotel. Also a very good mall within walking distance of the hotel but you have to cross a very busy major street to get to it. The staff at reception were slow to check us in.The restaurant staff is mixed with excellent waiters and some not so good. But the value was excellent. Very nice breakfast and lunch buffet at one of the lowest prices of the big hotels. Also very good value was ordering off the menu, we had
chicken breast with peppercorn sauce with vegetables and potatoes and my son loved their fish and chips (around $6 US). Also, for dessert had the rasmalai, one of the best that I have ever had in any restaurant. Good value for the money if you need to stay in the business area of Kolkata.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88czm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the excellent review that you have written about us; would also be sharing the feedback with the team, specially your comments on the desserts!!

I would very much like to welcome you back to the hotel the next time you are visiting Kolkata.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times

Sincerely/ Kenneth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed in newly constructed Pride Hotel in Rajarhat area of kolkata for a occution. Exterior of the building is good even hotel lobby is OK. Reception is good courteous and quick with a welcome drink. Rooms are of good size and very well decorated. Furniture is well desigened for look and comfort. Bathroom is well furnished. Overall serviceis impressive. want to visit again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoma325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the excellent review that you have written about us; would also be sharing the feedback with the team.

I would very much like to welcome you back to the hotel the next time you are visiting Kolkata.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times

Sincerely/ Kenneth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice business hotel and good rooms. Close to the airport but very very far from central Kolkata. So if you want to stay closer to Park Street etc, stay at Kennilworth or Park. Makes sense if you have work in Sector V in salt lake or new town. Its still a very new hotel and the rooms are brilliant-expected for a 4 star. Perfect if you want to look at one level lower than the Hyatt or Swissotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sapta1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the excellent review that you have written about us; would also be sharing the feedback with the team.

I would very much like to welcome you back to the hotel the next time you are visiting Kolkata.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times

Sincerely/ Kenneth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

These guys need a visit from Gordon Ramsay. They were more concerned with asking how things were than actually getting food out on time. And laughed awkwardly when we complained. The pool is empty, but even the sales manager (whilst enquiring how were enjoying our stay of course) thought the pool was open.

It's clear they don't have any sort of briefing for staff. Nobody knew what was going on.

Also wifi is disproportionately expensive considering speed and reliability.

I'll be in India on business again, but won't be staying with Pride.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eoghangiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest

At the outset many apologies for a late revert as well as for an experience that was not up to much, to say the least!

I would like to inform you that we take the feedback in the true spirit and I have shared the same with my team, as much as we share positive feedback, its important that we learn from the areas where we were did not come up to your expectations or were below expectations.

Though I do know that you have very definite views on the subject of not staying with us, I would appreciate if you could give us another chance to make amends the next time you are in Kolkata.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times

Sincerely/ Kenneth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is very costly for the basic services they provide. The food is terrible, except for the breakfast. Even the a/c did not seem to be working. The dinner costs Rs. 950 !! Even the airport drop for 15 km is Rs. 850 !!

Room Tip: The king size bed room is pretty spacious but the a/c could be an issue
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalpesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for your feedback; we have taken note of the issues you faced at the hotel, specifically to the food and the air conditioning and would like to assure you that we have taken note of the same.

It is our endeavor to ensure flawless and delightful service recovery and would like to assure you that we have taken your feedback seriously.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times

Warmest regards/ Kenneth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Pride Kolkata is a large hotel which is well-located if one has work in New Town near airport.

It serves good food. Especially Indian. I loved their Bengali Mishti.

While the hotel has gloss and great-looking furniture, my experience with service was uneven. This may be because it is a new hotel. But the bathroom electrical fittings in room 737 were improper with the mirror light missing. Such things may be seen in a 3 star hotel. Certainly not in one claiming to be a 5 star property.

May be its a good hotel for groups.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranjeet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us.

You were happy with the location of the hotel as well as the Indian food, specially the desserts, we have noted the uneven service that you received, specially, the bathroom fittings, we would like to assure you that we will work on the same and would appreciate if you would give us another opportunity when you decide to stay with us in the future.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times

Warmest regards/ Kenneth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.9 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#10 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Residences
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Reside...
#8 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,392 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#15 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
#13 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
699 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Sonnet
The Sonnet
#11 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
485 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#54 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata

Address: Terminus, B.G-12, Action Area,1-B, New Town, Rajarhat, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700 156, India (Formerly The Pride Hotel Kolkata)
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $69 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing