We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Calm Surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata
Ranked #21 of 219 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Rishikesh, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Calm Surroundings”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Hotel is located in an upcoming locality. At present most of nearby area is under construction. So it is away from noisy and crowded city traffic. The rooms are comfortable, with all basic amenities. There is a buffet on the ground floor. The staff is courteous and responsive. There is a pool on the 6th floor, though not very big. The only con is that the hotel is quirt far from main city. So if one has to frequently travel to city center, a lot of time is consumed in commuting. Must be chosen if calm surroundings are preferred. Just across the road is a mall, and just few meters ahead is home town retail store

Room Tip: The lobby on 7th and 8th floors is quiet narrow. Other floors are wide enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Ankit_Agarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the Pride Kolkata!

Thank you for your excellent review. The team is excited looking at your fantastic feedback & I am sure this will motivate them further to deliver high levels of guest satisfaction.

Thank you once again. It will be our distinct privilege to serve you in the future.

Kindest Regards

Kenneth Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    156
    91
    36
    36
See reviews for
82
27
22
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A one night stay before departing India. The hotel has a number of faults which I gave to the assistant GM. Lack of cleaning up after the builders, items that should not have been signed off on the completion date, Business centre not signed, and with broken printer. Dreadful TV choice, no wi-fi, mosquitos even on the 7th floor. The site is in the middle of an area of concrete skeletons, so disturbed night.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing The Pride Hotel Kolkata during your recent trip to the city.

We would like every guest’s stay is delightful and sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have made a note of your concerns and would make the necessary amends, as applicable.

We would like to welcome you again during your next visit to Kolkata and assuring you of our best attention at all times!

Kindest Regards,

Kenneth Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, INDIA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed at this property on 11th and 12th of Feb. 2013 and the experience was average.
The lobby is most ordinary, but the hotel has played a lot with Italian Marble, the flooring, the walls, reception are all in Italian marble which looks nice but nothing awe about it. In lobby, they have a water fountain which separates the Cafe and Lobby.The fountain is small but not kept well, the water scaling is all over the place which is suprising since the Hotel is relatively new.
Anyways, elevators are spacious and fast. They quickly transported me to 8th floor. The gallery of the floors are nice and cosy with combination of carpet and Italian marble. The Rooms are fairly sized and so is bathroom. The rooms have lot of woodwork and have all basic amenities like Tea Kettle, Safe-Vault, Bed side reading light, writing desk, LAN point, 32 inch LCD TV, Wardrobe etc. The Washroom is of reasonable size and has 110-220 volt power connection with hot hair dryer. Found the W/C (Toilet pot) a little too high from the ground as one is not comfortable sitting on it after a while. This is after I, myself, is large built and a fairly tall person. A small technical mistake by developer !!
The AC of the room was not upto the mark and tripped occasionally in night and gave us disturbed night sleep. The light in washroom is not adequate and seems like a dark place...reading newspaper is not possible and shaving needs lot of concentration.
The food is something which the management needs to look into. The food is horribly wrong and has no taste absolutely. The breakfast spread is fairly okay.
To sum up : Good location in Salt City of Kolkata, rooms are okay, food is bad, stay only if you have a deal with the hotel for the rates.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyjust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing The Pride Hotel Kolkata during your recent trip to the city.

We would like every guest’s stay is delightful and sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have made a note of your concerns and would make the necessary amends, as applicable.

We would like to welcome you again during your next visit to Kolkata and assuring you of our best attention at all times!

Kindest Regards,

Kenneth Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Checked in today for a 4 day stay and already vowed to never stay here again. If it was possible to give 0 stars and a rating below terrible, I would.

First they stuck us in a room which was so noisy with a drill hammer going on just above that we had to change our room.

At the reception, they refused to give 2 entry door keys - some BS about security. Really!!!

Then, there are no channels on the TV other than Al Jazeera and Russia Today and they tell us some cable issue which will take 1 week to fix. If my cable guy at home did that to us, he would have lost all his customers. Really again!!! I felt like we were in the 1980s when you had to wait for every connection.

And then these guys had the gall to say wi-fi was chargeable. At the very least, they should apologize for not having cable and provide free wi-fi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sareview_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing The Pride Hotel Kolkata during your recent trip to the city.

We would like every guest’s stay is delightful and sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have made a note of your concerns and would make the necessary amends, as applicable.

We would like to welcome you again during your next visit to Kolkata and assuring you of our best attention at all times!

Kindest Regards,

Kenneth Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights late jan early march. The positives were, modern room, fantastic shower, house staff and restaurant staff great and food ok. The bad things were, Internet connection issues in room, this was finally fixed by moving us and they did not charge for our connection as we only got it on the last day. The reception staff were awful, as a woman they would keep serving the men behind me! Felt like leaving without paying I was so annoyed! In the rooms no alarm clock and a drought of toilet paper. The other issue which really annoyed me was I asked for a taxi to take us into town, they said just over 1100 rupees plus tax.... Our return trip in a cab off the street cost us just over 200 rupees.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleySnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing The Pride Hotel Kolkata during your recent trip to the city.

We would like every guest’s stay is delightful and sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have made a note of your concerns and would make the necessary amends, as applicable.

We would like to welcome you again during your next visit to Kolkata and assuring you of our best attention at all times!

Kindest Regards,

Kenneth Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed in The Pride hotel for a day on 30th Jan'13. I was informed that the hotel is 5 star but I never got the feeling that it is a 5 star hotel by the following matters:

1) The hotel was not clean at all - tissue was lying on the floor; dirt was stuck on the sides of the walls

2) In the night, I asked for newspaper - the room service informed that I should contact reception; receptionist informed that he will check and come back but never came back.

3) In the morning, I again asked for news paper. I was told that it will be sent but it took a long time before the news paper could reach my room after two follow ups.

4) The switch board was not fixed properly and was coming out in the hand.

5) Our passports were taken in the reception and the lady in the check in desk informed that it would be returned back after taking a copy but it was never returned back. While checking out also, the receptionist did not have the courtesy to return it back voluntarily. I had to remind him to get it back.

The good aspects are:

1) The location of the hotel is close to the airport.

2) The dinner was not that great but the breakfast was good; the price was really five star.

3) The attenders (baggage boy) are quite helpful in the reception.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danieldesmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing The Pride Hotel Kolkata during your recent trip to the city.

We would like every guest’s stay is delightful and sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have made a note of your concerns and would make the necessary amends, as applicable.

We would like to welcome you again during your next visit to Kolkata and assuring you of our best attention at all times!

Kindest Regards,

Kenneth Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

i went with my family to visit kolkatta from 13 jan 13 - 16 jan i stayed there for 03 nights. Total 03 nights cable connection was not working as they claim its a 5 star & other problem is that it is outskrit of city in isolated places where yu cant roam in evening as the place is deserted. From there city is 15- 18 km distance. LIttle bit soffocation is felt in rooms for sometime.

Room Tip: If yu are going with family pls dont take this hotel as it is in isolated area and outskirt of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePrideGroup, General Manager at Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing The Pride Hotel Kolkata during your recent trip to the city.

We would like every guest’s stay is delightful and sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have made a note of your concerns and would make the necessary amends, as applicable.

We would like to welcome you again during your next visit to Kolkata and assuring you of our best attention at all times!

Kindest Regards,

Kenneth Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Residences
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Reside...
#8 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
#14 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pipal Tree Hotel
Pipal Tree Hotel
#19 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#7 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Sonnet
The Sonnet
#12 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata

Property: Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata
Address: Terminus, B.G-12, Action Area,1-B, New Town, Rajarhat, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700 156, India (Formerly The Pride Hotel Kolkata)
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pride Plaza Hotel Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing