We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Sapphire Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sapphire Suites
Ranked #49 of 219 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was visiting the hotel on business trip, was the first time in the city after searching on the net found this Hotel, was little apprehensive as have found in my earlier trips that pictures and actual rooms are different.
But in this case what was shown is what I got the rooms were neat and clean very well kept which is a good thing.
Food was good though expensive and in the night there were some issues in the kitchen and it took an hour for food to be delivered.
The bathroom were clean but I always believe the quality of hotels can be judged by its linen and in this case the bedding was perfect the towels were really in bad shaped they were in desperate need to be replace and that is my suggestion that kindly have better quality towels

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samir_aa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    73
    41
    11
    9
See reviews for
50
40
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Itanagar, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I along with my wife and daughter stayed in this hotel on 6.6.14 by booking through Yatra.com.I paid Rs.3500/ per night for double occupancy.I was charged Rs.1000/ extra for my daughter who is below 12 years old and total room cost rose to Rs.4500/ from normal rate of Rs.2500/.We found the hotel congested and on entering room there was no homely feeling instead fear psychosis dominated.There is no WIFI.The room are dirty particularly the walls.I repented the whole night and left the hotel much before flight time.Some of the reviews of my fellow travelers are old one .I don't recommend this hotel to any gentleman of my age and stature.
R.Ronya

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 64Ronya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Sapphire Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear R.Ronya,

Greetings from Sapphire Suites....

We regret the inconvenience caused to you by paying extra money for extra person at Sapphire Suites .Mr. Ronya your reservation at Sapphire Suites was for double occupancy and the child age was mentioned "0" years on yatra reservation slip. Let me assure you that no were in the world 8 years and above gets free stay with there parents.We have given the child age policy to each and every travel partners which you might have skipped while making reservation.And regarding Wifi we have upgraded to high speed internet of Tata Docomo. For the size of rooms we followed the H.A.R.A.I norms. We have noted your feedback and would like to apologise for the inconvenience you have faced during your stay and would like to assure that this is not the standard of Sapphire Suites.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sapphire Suites.

with regards,
Ravi Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Since the hotel is located the centrally in the market room were less spacious .Staffs were polite. The restaurant were okay but the food were not up to the mark. Transportation is an issue most taxi were not willing to go to the airport.

Room Tip: All rooms were same .Good for those who want shopping in kolkata
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suraj Kumaar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at this property for a very short time..almost just overnight....the room which was alloted to me was nice and clean but i felt it was a bit small. For a business traveler the property gives great access to Kolkata with its central location..and for a traveler interested in the city it offers a location at the very center of colonial kolkata....recommended for both types of travel.....the complimentary breakfast was very good.....an icing on the cake

Room Tip: take a room overlooking the new market.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samrat146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Got a very good value room for a last-minute trip through goibibo.

The hotel isn't particularly well known, but easy to direct a taxi to if you get to the New Market clock tower.

Check-in was easy and friendly.

The room was fairly small, but not cramped. It was clearly very clean and modern at the time of installation, but certain elements have quite a faded appearance now. That said, everything was very well cleaned. A small window opened over the market square giving interesting views, but the noise was not excessive, not least thanks to the small size of the window.

Impressively good restaurant and room service - the kati roll was just what I needed after a long journey. Likewise, a good breakfast - tasty puri bhajee and lots of breads and hot dishes available on suggestion from the staff.

Some few oddities in the building - like some hastily-added glass doors (presumably to keep the aircon in), but overall a good stay, and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southlambeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed in room no 104 for 3 nights.

Cons
- No Wifi range in room 104.
- No fan no proper ventilation and when we checked in hotel on afternoon 3pm AC on maintenance. fried in kolkata heat for 45mins.
- Room size is so small for the price they charge.
- So noisy we can clearly listen from bed wats going on in reception. I afraid if the same is reversed then im done.
- Door got locked and key didnt respond another 1hr wait in reception.
- Mini bar & snack bar is cool. But 150% more on MRP is high.
- Washroom is so small and have excellent taps but no buckets or a mug. (Not all people likes to take shower)
- Reception desk is not so friendly.

Pro:
- In middle of business place
- Breakfast spread is good. (timing can be like extended)
- Room is well maintained.
- good linen and bed is small but comfortable.

When i asked for 1hr later check out they said they will charge half a day rent. I think there are some better hotels available at this price. Not worth for the money spend.

Room Tip: room no 104 has no WIFI range and no ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSKrocks2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Had checked the reviews before booking this & was satisfied. I normally stay at the Tulip Inn at Mullick Bazaar crossing. But this time didn't get better rates from them, which Sapphire Suites offered. Reached hotel around 1500hrs on a Sunday. I was aware about New Market area, hence it wasn't difficult to locate the hotel. Walked in, was helped with my luggage. Didn't have to wait as checkin was superfast. Best part was my room was next to reception so super cool. I suppose my room no. was 102, which is the last room by the corridor. Entered the room, fantastic. As I am not a big room guy, this room was very much suitable for me. Good linen, nice bathroom etc. Room service is excellent. They deliver on time. Food taste is very good. Had a lunch & a dinner there & the taste was awesome.

The overall staff is very good, very friendly, always there to help. However, didn't like the behaviour like the behaviour of a particular staff, I suppose the name was Sourobh. He had a strong inclination towards foreign guests & Indian guests were completely neglected, especially during breakfasts. There were I suppose 3 Turkish couples, aged, and the services extended to them during breakfast was way much different than that to Indian guests. We were not even helped with a spoon or a fork. One day, sandwiches were over, I just asked will they be providing more, I was straightaway said no, but the Turkish couples got it. The day that particular staff was not present, all guests got equal treatment. So I just walked up to the lady on the reception, I presume her name to be Moumita, who then spoke to them. But damage once done is done. Otherwise, my entire 5 day stay was perfect.

I hope necessary measures are taken to train the staff which serves to the best interests of everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surajeet_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#46 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#33 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#29 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#65 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Walson Spa "O" Tel
Walson Spa "O" Tel
#119 of 219 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Suites

Property: Sapphire Suites
Address: 15 Lindsay Street | New Market, Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sapphire Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sapphire Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Suites India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing