We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as always”
Review of Jimmy's Kitchen

Jimmy's Kitchen
Ranked #98 of 4,184 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good as always”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Nice food. They have maintained quality of food since the first time I had been there in my childhood days. Yes, the menu is a bit traditional and they are not the experimenting type. That's all-right. Whatever they serve - is simply delicious.

The recent one at Landmark Hotel on EM Bye Pass, has a larger sitting area and perhaps a better ambiance. You can even have your private parties, by blocking one of the sitting areas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    32
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“LIMITED MENU”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have visited Jimmy,s Kitchen quite a few times but now the spark has gone. The romance which started over bowl of noodles is now jaded.All the items in the menu have almost the same taste.The staff is old and disillusioned. Service is slow. Now I don't know what to order the menu is so limited. Yes it serves Tangra chinese food and so does many more joints in Kolkata. It has a fancy price but little in terms of delivery. The place needs to reinvent itself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jyotibhatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Appropriate in taste and quantity”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

For those who love Chinese dishes must visit this place when in Calcutta. The choice of prawn, pork and Cantonese Chows are excellent to choose from. Fried pork is unbeatable. One does not have to wait and kill the appetite as the service is always fast. The quantity is just adequate and well balanced with the right proportion of vegetables, and the item ordered. Try it and see yourself!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ommehrotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
325 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Good old Calcutta style Chinese food”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Chinese food has evolved in India on its own trajectory. One of the best loved styles has its origins at "China Town" of yore at Calcutta. Jimmy's Kitchen is one of the few places in now Kolkata where one can get to experience this cuisine. Went back there after decades last week and was pleasantly surprised to find that the restaurant had retained the quality of food just as I remembered it. Highly reccomended is the chili roast pork and the Jimmy's special mixed chowmein

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank roundtabler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Chinese food with the Kolkata touch”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Whenever I visit Kolkata I make it point to take time out for a dinner at Jimmy's Kitchen.
In terms of food, most of the soups they serve are good. I love their fried chilly chicken. Though there has been a marginal dip in the quality of their cooking over the years, the ingredients are top notch, always. I always have the Chilly Prawn for which they use lobsters. The quality of the lobsters are generally very good. One of my other favorites is the Prawn and Shrimp hakka style noodles as is the Mixed fried rice.
And as someone else also mentioned, their bar is well stocked up these days which is a plus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank baidurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Kitchen also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Jimmy's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing