We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Ok in very noisy street”
Review of Kempton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kempton Hotel
Ranked #42 of 250 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hotelrooms are Ok and so is the service. Unfortunately, the best rooms are on the street, where you won't be able to sleep untill vey late due to ungoing parties and traffic. Also inside the hotel there is a lot of noise because the rooms are very badly isolated.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep take a room at the backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 186 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

About Location - Hotel is Located in one of conjusted street in Heart of Kolkatta just next to park Street, however this will not affect your regular transporation as vehicles keep moving.
This is just close to park street, walk way distance from new market and from there is close to Esplanade.
Its about 20-30mins drive from Sealdah or howrah Station, 60-90mins drive from Airport, just 5 mins drive from Esplanade Bus station.
Around 15-20mins drive you can visit Eden Garden, Victoria Memorial Palace, Museum, Howrah Bridge and other Attractions in and around park Street.
Just out of Hote by you have Pharmacy, HDFC Bank and ATM, Some Restaurants, Kiosk for buying Water, Bathing items etc..

About Staff - They are Excellent, Cooperative and Helpful.

About Room - I booked hotel through Phone and normally check in 12:00pm, But I checked in morning 8.00am. I stayed in Premier Room on 3rd Floor. Facing Road side.
I was with my Family of Wife and Kid, room is Very Spacious, Small Balcony,Interior are contemporary, Nice Master Bed, Toilet is clean and Tidy, Seperate Shower room, 32" LCD TV and other general ameneties. They Provide just 2 small bottle of Water, So you can just come out and oppoiste kiosk can buy a Bottle of Water a Big one.
The few things i dont like about Room is - its not a Carpet floor, So when you come out of Bathroom it get soon dirty on whole room of bare tile flooring, Next - the Hot water in Bathroom is not hot enough. We ordered Dinner and Lunch through Room service, Food was nominal and Excellent esp. i recommend Chicken Reshmi Kabab (if you non-veg). The complimentary Buffet breakfast is small but Enough for average man to enjoy the full meal, I like Dosa serving in Buffet.

I strongly recommend and Hope to stay again once i visit Kolkatta.

Room Tip: Premier Room on Higher Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VijayRangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

A comfortable western style hotel very centrally located provided much needed sanctuary between easy walks into the alien dystopia of Kolkata.
Staff were very knowledgeable and helpful (e.g reliable and cheap ATM 20m away; reliable and cheap phone SIM card purchase for iPhone $20AU; excellent driver and car 10hr/100km Rp1350; help c fair taxi fares).
Room was good (one problem c stained linen was immediately and cheerfully rectified).
Excellent service and food at breakfast cafe in hotel. Same kitchen supplies excellent
restaurant within hotel (recommend the mushroom vegetarian curry).
Some construction noises in the building during one night required ear plugs.
Don't be out off by the ubiquitous bamboo scaffolding on the outside. It brought us close to a Laggar Falcon family!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank melbournian1950s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

if you just step in Kolkata and afraid of getting diarrhea (hahhaha) and you are in that area just go to the restaurant of the hotel, we are not staying at hotel but we found the breakfast so cheap for a 4 star hotel class 240INR (USD 4,5) it is the combined of Indian and western breakfast, the service of the stuff so friendly, if you want to take a rest a moment from the chaotic of the street just having lunch and choose any kind of Indian dishes, I think it's tasty, the place clean and have good toilet and wifi, so hang out there is ok when you need it
the price of the hotel is over my budget that's why we didn't stay there, but I think if you need comfort stuff choose this hotel

Room Tip: I recommend to choose dishes here (ABOUT THE ROOM I DON'T HAVE ANY IDEA cause we didn't stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inten_utari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Despite the slightly run-down setting of this hotel I had a great room, spacious, and well furnished. The breakfasts were really good, and really charming service. To have all this at a very reasonable price makes the Kempton a surprising little find.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myself2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

It is conveniently located in the central area however it is easy to miss as it is on a busy almost laneway type street. I noted the hotel was favored by a lot of people traveling for work as we hardly saw any tourists saying that it is not exactly tourist season! The hotel's housekeeping was excellent and they had nightly turndown service. Their buffet breakfast is a good spread. Their restaurant though expensive had good food though its not licensed. A good safe choice. You wouldn't go wrong for booking here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel had a reasonably good location although on a chaotic and dirty street. It is close to the Indian Museum. The room was nice although they tried to give me a less nice room than I had paid for at first. The restaurant was also good and reasonable and the staff were nice. The fatal flaw in this hotel is noise. First of all all the floors face onto an atrium so that noise travels easily throughout the hotel. Second each room has a heavy door about three inches thick that slam shut and can be heard everywhere but the worst noise is between rooms. You can hear people talking in the next room and in my case I had newlyweds, then a baby, then a party group and finally a large family from a village who the staff told me didn't know how to behave in a hotel. In any event nine of the eleven nights I stayed there were extremely noisy and so the stay was unpleasent. I was also the only westerner in the hotel which I think says something about who the hotel is geared towards. I would not recommend this hotel unless you can toerate a lot of noise.

Room Tip: Rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DohaInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#67 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#46 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#180 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#21 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#27 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#81 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempton Hotel

Address: 3 Marquis Street | Opposite Jamuna Banquet Hall, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $65 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kempton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kempton is located at Kolkata's central business & shopping district. The hotel is ideal for travellers, be it for work or for business. The hotel has comfortable rooms & suites, fine dining, crisp service & state of art facilities such as access to internet. It offers the best of traditional values, seamlessly woven into its ultramodern design. It will give you a glimpse of Kolkata's wealth of culture & not surprisingly it will redefine your business trip. The Hotel is located 3 minutes walking from Park street and NewMarket ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kempton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempton Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing