We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience, great location and great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monorama Guest House
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I spent a week in this facility during March 2013. The guesthouse is very suitably located in Salt Lake City, away from downtown Kolkata hustle bustle, but not too far, 20 inutes away by car. 10 minutes walking distance to City Center, one of the happenning places in Kolkata. The rooms were very clean and very well attended. The attendants are always smiling and doing their best to keep you happy. You can get great home cooked food or whatever you wish to have during breakfast, lunch or dinner.

The hosts were wonderful; they tried their best to help me in every possible way, in fact they went out of our way (the wonderful elderly gentleman took me around the city just out of his goodness, showed me places, took me to the railway reservation office - all free of charge, as if I was one of his own, he is just wonderful). I am not sure, why one of the earlier guest complained about they chraged double for taxi, I used them more than once, and found to be exactly the same charge. I had a great time talking to him, as he is very well travelled all over the world, and understands quirkiness of a foreigner like me :-), and did their best to accommodate. These are two elderly couple running a guesthouse of 6 rooms, them living in the same property.

Not much to complain about, the warmth and the homelyness covered any possible minor blemishes, which I am having hard time remembering.

I will come back again and again. Thank you Subhra and Amitava.... You have made my stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: Just talk to the hosts, they will do everything to meet your needs. ground fpoor and 2nd floor rooms...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EpicTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Monorama Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here February 4th through the 9th. Had the ground floor room. Two single beds. The room was clean and the hot water worked very well. Didn't have much noise, although I usually sleep with earplugs. There were some barking dogs in the middle of the night. The breakfasts were very good, cooked to order. Omlettes, toast, coffee or tea, cereal, milk. Wireless worked very well. I was able to watch the SuperBowl using a Slingbox in the US. Skyped regularly with family back home. We did see some mosquitoes, but saw them everywhere else, also. They were bad this time of year. Didn't give us much problem, though. All in all, a very good place to stay. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevator, so remember, for us US folks, the second floor is three flights up! Ground floor room w...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffb1650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Monorama is located in Salt Lake city, a Kolkata suburb with little personality. It is quite far from the downtown core. The location can be a bit problematic for taxis. Staff are a mixed bag, though disorganization and miscommunication seem to be consistent. The price is exorbitant in terms of value. Huge difference in rooms - though the prices remain the same. Would not recommend this place. If you must, ensure that you do not source taxis through the guest house, as they charge double for their own cut.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimbyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

It is located fairly close to the Airport, though not to the business district of the city. The rooms are large, resonably well furnished and the service adequate. The owners and the staff are friendly and willing to help out regarding transport and so on.
Breakfast is cooked to order and is adequte. I did not have any meals here, though.
It is a quiet and safe locality and transport is readily available within a short walking distance.I liked it and would stay here again .
Please do not expect any hotel like facilities. This is a B & B place and within its limitations is well worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akdcts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.0 mi away
Next Generation Guest House
Next Generation Guest House
#70 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
IndiSmart Hotel
IndiSmart Hotel
#66 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#48 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
#13 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
699 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simi International - The Executive Guest House
Simi International - The Executi...
#9 of 346 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anamitra Guest House
Anamitra Guest House
#15 of 346 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monorama Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monorama Guest House

Address: Monorama Guest House Salt Lake Road | Sector 1, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 346 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $27 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Monorama Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive guesthouse located in Salt Lake City, Kolkata; Monorama guest house offers you a home away from home. With all delights of a homely atmosphere you will get the touch of living in excellence. Monorama offers a wide range of Luxury Accommodation to Corporate, Business or Vacation visitors to Kolkata. Monorama Guest House offers you Luxurious living at cheap rates. All our apartments are fully furnished in a contemporary style which includes all amenities required for a comfortable stay. If you are looking for a Guest House in Kokalta, or a Guest House near Kolkata - We at Monorama Guest House promises an alternative to 5-star hotel accommodation at unbelievable prices. Monorama Guest house is best known for its exclusive homely services for clients round the globe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monorama Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monorama Guest House India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing