We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal food and great AC”
Review of Banana Leaf

Banana Leaf
Ranked #26 of 4,185 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Phenomenal food and great AC”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

A nice break from the heat of the streets and a wonderfully refreshing meal.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    102
    21
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“wholesome tasty South Indian Food”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Banana Leaf
This is a south Indian, vegetarian cuisine restaurant. The food here, is delicious, it comprises of all the south Indian dishes. The long waiting queue at meal times outside this restaurant is validation enough for the quality of food. Their so called thali,is sumptuous and wholesome .

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank immortallight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
129 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“South Indian food at its best !!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

If you want to really enjoy South Indian food away from South India and that too in Kolkata then this is the place to be. Simply south indian food with south indian taste and south indian atmosphere. Everything in place with hundreds of south indian delicacies to choose from. Simply endless menu and so much to choose from. My wife and I enjoyed around 3 items and we were full and simply couldn't get over the taste. Best we liked was the platter of uttapam. That was simply unheard of.

Must try! Must try ! Must Try!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank YogeshGoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Awesome South Indian food”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The Sunday lunch special thali is just fabulous and must not be missed. But the other food on offer is just as good. Overall, this is the best South Indian vegetarian restaurant in the city. And mercifully, with the addition of tables, those interminable waits for a place are a thing of the past. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank editorindisguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A taste of the South in the heart of Kolkata”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

The location of this fully air conditioned vegetarian South Indian restaurant can not be more suitable than this. Gariahat is well known as a traditional shopping hub in the heart of Kolkata. I have always fancied a cup of strong filter coffee after a hard day of shopping jostling with the crowd at Gariahat. This quest had taken me to the Banana Leaf.

I was pleasantly surprised at the variety of food offered by the Banana Leaf. The restaurant is decorated as any other good South Indian restaurant anywhere in South India with the distinctive aroma of good food filling every corner of the establishment. The restaurant staff are courteous and welcoming. The fact that it was nearly full to capacity in an afternoon in the middle of the week is a good indicator of its popularity.

While my friends tried out the South Indian Thali, I was more tempted to taste the mini idlies (known as "14 idly" in Chennai) dipped in sambhar and the vadas. The mini idlies were a real surprise as I have never seen those in Kolkata before. I have to admit that the food was absolutely delicious. There were a few other favourites of mine in the menu, but they were not available at that time of day. The buttermilk was also very refreshing in the warm Kolkata afternoon. My meal concluded with a cup of strong filter coffee.

This place is a little gem for those who fancy a taste of the South in the heart of Kolkata.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank asarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing