We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emerald Residency
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Feel at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed twice at Emerald Residency BF6, and the second time it was like coming home when we were greeted by the friendly and diligent young staff who prepared tea and a delicious dinner. The location is in Salt Lake City, which is some distance from the Esplanade area downtown. However it is easily reachable by a seamless transition between two autorickshaws and the metro, total cost one way is 30 rupees and takes perhaps 15 to 20 mins.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quiet, less traffic noise. Also be aware that there are no elevators if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimmi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi,

Happy New Year from Emerald Residency!! We thank you much for taking out time to write a review about us.

We are happy to know that you felt at home because that is precisely what we aim to provide and achieve - A Home Experience. We look forward to having you stay with us during your next visit and wish you a wonderful year ahead.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    26
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
13
16
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Came for few days for holidays .... Stay was excellent ... Neat and clean rooms... Homely food ... Nice decor neat and clean common area which is cleaned every day and free wifi .... Best location near Ck market .... Gets you all that you have forgotten to bring and more.. Try the sweet shop

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sujit1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking out precious time to write a review about our humble abode.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you much for recommending us. We look forward to your next visit to the city and to serve you. We wish your family a safe journey back home and a Happy and Prosperous New Year.


Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

i keep travelling to kolkata for work ..... and this is the best option for staying
Emerald Residency
Is a great place to stay
the rooms are really good fully furnished and very comfortable
the staff is very friendly
the food is really good
the service is great .........
and really happy to stay here ...
i travel to calcutta almost through out the year and i have been staying with them for almost 3 years now .
and i have never been disappointed with them
rather very happy with everything
call in rooms.........
service .........
staff ......
food .......
anything ...
perfect for corporate's and family ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Emerald Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time to write a review about us!

We value your patronage and sincerely appreciate your positive review. More than anything, it really boosts up the morale of the staff to go the extra mile. They have many fond memories of you over the last few years and hold you in high esteem. We shall always look forward to greeting you in our humble abode for years to come!

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This guest house is located in the middle of original Salt Lake where my friends lived many years ago and some still do. Sitting in the balcony, watching the city wake up and start another busy day, I was reminded of my salad days when I lived in this city. It felt more like living in a home rather than a hotel and that's because of the location of this guest house.
I also saw many birds, some known but many unknown species.

Room Tip: the waiters/caretaker are very helpful and actually smile - ask them for advice when in doubt
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtsushmita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Emerald Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time to write a review about us!

We are happy to know that you like the location and feel at home. That is precisely what we work towards for our guests, ie. providing a home-style-experience. We wish you the best and look forward to many more visits by you in the future.


Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very clean, well-cared for, very friendly, efficient and helpful staff, and excellent value. In a peaceful part of Kolkata, near a large park. It'll be even better when Salt Lake is connected by Metro. My only complaint was that there were limited dinner options (only chicken, and no green vegetables). But that's not much to complain about.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VascodeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind words.

Your point is well noted and we will surely look into your note regarding the food menu. We try to keep it simple and straight forward without any frills, with our focus on good quality and quantity. There are options to get salads and veggies too and can be ordered separately as and when required. But yes, there is scope for improvement and we are constantly endeavoring to do so.

We wish you a safe onward journey and look forward to having you with us in your next visit to our country and to the City of Joy!!

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have been here for more than a month and I did feel at home. Being a foreign young woman, I looked for a safe and clean place and i wasn't disappointed. The staff was of great help, and I have been particularly grateful for how they looked after me when I was sick. It's important to know that you can trust the people around you and count on them, especially when you are alone in another country. I also have special dietary requirements and they always made delicious food for me without any mistakes. So yes, I do recommend this place, also to foreigners and women.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamoni86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Madam,

Most importantly, we were all very happy to see that you were well by the time you checked out. Do let us know if you need any of our assistance during your stay in India, and we will be glad to help.

We wish you the best in your research and hope that you pass in your thesis with flying colours.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Amazing place, great value for money, good food and very attentive staff. i visited with my mother in August the staff was friendly and would try and make things easy for us in all possible ways - great tea, ushering a taxi, local directions and cooked great food. have stayed there twice and recommned it to another friend who found it equally good. Its a great option in Salt Lake.

Room Tip: They have 2 properties, prefer D-37/39. Its location is very good and very quiet and approachable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shireen_khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmeraldResidency, Manager at Emerald Residency, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your positive review!!

As you have seen, we have a very small outfit in Kolkata and try to give the best services to the Emerald Guests to make them feel at home. After all, its a home experience!!

We hope to see you again during your next visit to Kolkata and thank you once again for referring us to your friends and family.

Thanking you,
Yours sincerely,

Sujit

Manager - Operations
Emerald Residency
Salt Lake Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.8 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#8 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sonnet
The Sonnet
#11 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pipal Tree Hotel
Pipal Tree Hotel
#19 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#6 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#12 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Residency

Property: Emerald Residency
Address: Emerald Residency Block Bf - 6 Salt Lake Road | Salt Lake City, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean & Secure, Fully Furnished and Serviced Guest Houses and Serviced Apartments in Kolkata. Various locations all over the city including Salt Lake, Ballygunge, Alipore and Rajarhat areas. Choice of Self and/or Fully Serviced Apartments and Villas. A true home away from home experience for all with a combination of luxury, budget, excellent location, and service!! We have over 140 corporate clients with many being Fortune 500 companies. Perfect for the business and individual traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Emerald Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Residency India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing