We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes!!!! A Tiger” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tour de Sundarbans - Day Tours

Tour de Sundarbans - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tour companions to the sundarban jungles and Kolkata city.Come and see Sundarban the way it deserves to be seen, Free and Wild.Kolkata is wild in its own distinctive way, take a motorbike ride with us, during the day or during the night!!!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Deventer, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yes!!!! A Tiger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

In januari we were for 2 nights/ three days in the sundarbans. We enjoyed the stay in the little village; very friendly people and the atmosphere of country life. We made a cycling tour around the island in the morning, Ajay also came whit us which was very nice because he knows the way and we could see a lot and we didn't get lost.
But .... the most important and beautiful experience was.......The Tiger!! Yes, we really did see one. A woman on the boat saw him first , said very calm " I see a tiger" and then everybody on the boat was exited and spotted the tiger walking along the riverside. It was a moment we will never forget.
So we had a wonderful tour which was very good organized , in a relaxing atmosphere and with a lot off luck that the Bengal Tiger came to say hello to us.
Thanks!

Betty and Willy from Holland.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Willy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    156
    19
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The Tiger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Yes we, 5 Dutch friends, saw the Tiger, ans also 'catch' him on a foto. But that's not the only thing we remember of our trip of 3 days in the Sundarbans. We had a lovely stay, Ajay an excellent guide, the accomodation lovely, food was good and we had a very good and nice group. We spotted a lot of deers (al kind of birds, spotted-dear, crocodiles and ... Yes ...the TIGER). Yes a really nice tour. Greetings The Dutch. Willy

Helpful?
Thank willyjutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“noisy night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Friendly boat ride with not too many birds. Noisy night with music till midnight, Back in Kolkata at 22:30h. Tigers were sorry not having met me.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunderban Eco village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

It is RAW experience of a forest and the bengal village lifestyle. If you are a nature person, you will love this. No lights but yes well maintained. Negligible mosquitoes in March. Carry odomos if you are that particular. Good dormitories.
The best part is the night river ride - you should do that to see the bio-luminescent bacteria glow in the water. This can be only seen at night. Strangely, no body in the Tourism department knows this and calls it Glowing water. Thanks to my lovely cousins who had experienced this in Porto Rico and thus, could enlighten us. In layman language you can call it " paani main jugnu"
Do not go just to see animals as they are not told to be available and they don't know that you have paid to see them. They will be seen only if they want to be seen.
Food is good and clean and very simple and tasty..Non-veg - GOOD..
Not for kids as the mothers won't enjoy the nature. Carry your regular biscuits and snacks for non-stop munching on the boat.
ENJOY - nature and bengal

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BhandariKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fantastic way to experience Sunderbans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I and my wife undertook this trip for 2N/3D Sunderban trip and it surely is one of the memorable jungle trips we have ever had. Not only, does one get to see the Sunderbans in all its majesty , but also get to experience the life style of the locals. And add to that, the wonderful and friendly Rhett and Om to take care of all the needs, you have a heady mix. We, along with 2 co travelers left Kolkata early in the morning and reached Godkhali, a river port, at around 11.30 am. From there Rhett took over and we crossed over to Gosaba on a country boat, jostling for space with the localites- just the way any localite would travel on any given day. From Gosaba, we got into a cycle Van Rickshaw and had a 30 min trip to Jhatirampur, on the other side of the island, to take another country boat ride to our destination Saatjhalia-thats where the Eco Village was. A 5 min walk, and we were in the Eco Village. Very basic mud huts, no electricity, but amazing environment. The rooms have attached baths and basic necessities for survival, running water in the toilet and clean and comfortable beds- no fancy luxury , but thats what we are here for arent we ? After lunch of local cuisine, we went for a walk in the village and at about 3 pm took a boat ride, ably guided by Rhett and the boatman Anantda, into the narrow canals for bird watching up close- an amazing experience travelling through the narrow canals, virtually pushing the branches aside !! We returned at sunset, thoroughly entertained and having got to watch Egret, Heron, Sand Piper , Cormorant . Hot cups of tea awaited us back at the resort and were then entertained into the night by local folk music. The day ended with dinner at around 8.30 pm. By then we were thoroughly tired and crashed to bed. Day 2 started early as he headed for a day long trip of the jungle in "Elmaar" at 6.30 am .Today Om was our guide, supported by Jagannath and Sanjay on the boat and we were soon joined by Amar Pal, the guide from the forest department. We had an enchanting 10 hours meandering through the various canals and around the many inhabited islands to enjoy the flora and fauna of the sunderbans. It would have been a greater experience had weather not played spoil sport. It rained heavily and did dampen our chances of better animal sighting, though we did get to see spotted deer and wild boar and rhesus macau (red faced monkey) along with a large number of birds, including the rare brown winged kingfisher. The flora of the Sunderbans was also amazing . We got to see fresh tiger trail though "His Majesty" the Royal Bengal Tiger eluded us. We returned at about 6 in the evening, thoroughly tired, but with a great and memorable experience. Only word of caution, DONOT TAKE THIS TRIP IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR LUXURY AND DONOT LOVE ADVENTURE !!The guys in the resort are great and take good care of all legitimate needs and you are very well looked after and you get to experience the life in Sunderban up close- a no frills but exceedingly enjoyable trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Arijit_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour de Sundarbans - Day Tours also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to Tour de Sundarbans - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing