We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunderban Eco village”

Tour de Sundarbans - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tour companions to the sundarban jungles and Kolkata city.Come and see Sundarban the way it deserves to be seen, Free and Wild.Kolkata is wild in its own distinctive way, take a motorbike ride with us, during the day or during the night!!!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Kolkata
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunderban Eco village”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

It is RAW experience of a forest and the bengal village lifestyle. If you are a nature person, you will love this. No lights but yes well maintained. Negligible mosquitoes in March. Carry odomos if you are that particular. Good dormitories.
The best part is the night river ride - you should do that to see the bio-luminescent bacteria glow in the water. This can be only seen at night. Strangely, no body in the Tourism department knows this and calls it Glowing water. Thanks to my lovely cousins who had experienced this in Porto Rico and thus, could enlighten us. In layman language you can call it " paani main jugnu"
Do not go just to see animals as they are not told to be available and they don't know that you have paid to see them. They will be seen only if they want to be seen.
Food is good and clean and very simple and tasty..Non-veg - GOOD..
Not for kids as the mothers won't enjoy the nature. Carry your regular biscuits and snacks for non-stop munching on the boat.
ENJOY - nature and bengal

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BhandariKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    166
    19
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fantastic way to experience Sunderbans”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I and my wife undertook this trip for 2N/3D Sunderban trip and it surely is one of the memorable jungle trips we have ever had. Not only, does one get to see the Sunderbans in all its majesty , but also get to experience the life style of the locals. And add to that, the wonderful and friendly Rhett and Om to take care of all the needs, you have a heady mix. We, along with 2 co travelers left Kolkata early in the morning and reached Godkhali, a river port, at around 11.30 am. From there Rhett took over and we crossed over to Gosaba on a country boat, jostling for space with the localites- just the way any localite would travel on any given day. From Gosaba, we got into a cycle Van Rickshaw and had a 30 min trip to Jhatirampur, on the other side of the island, to take another country boat ride to our destination Saatjhalia-thats where the Eco Village was. A 5 min walk, and we were in the Eco Village. Very basic mud huts, no electricity, but amazing environment. The rooms have attached baths and basic necessities for survival, running water in the toilet and clean and comfortable beds- no fancy luxury , but thats what we are here for arent we ? After lunch of local cuisine, we went for a walk in the village and at about 3 pm took a boat ride, ably guided by Rhett and the boatman Anantda, into the narrow canals for bird watching up close- an amazing experience travelling through the narrow canals, virtually pushing the branches aside !! We returned at sunset, thoroughly entertained and having got to watch Egret, Heron, Sand Piper , Cormorant . Hot cups of tea awaited us back at the resort and were then entertained into the night by local folk music. The day ended with dinner at around 8.30 pm. By then we were thoroughly tired and crashed to bed. Day 2 started early as he headed for a day long trip of the jungle in "Elmaar" at 6.30 am .Today Om was our guide, supported by Jagannath and Sanjay on the boat and we were soon joined by Amar Pal, the guide from the forest department. We had an enchanting 10 hours meandering through the various canals and around the many inhabited islands to enjoy the flora and fauna of the sunderbans. It would have been a greater experience had weather not played spoil sport. It rained heavily and did dampen our chances of better animal sighting, though we did get to see spotted deer and wild boar and rhesus macau (red faced monkey) along with a large number of birds, including the rare brown winged kingfisher. The flora of the Sunderbans was also amazing . We got to see fresh tiger trail though "His Majesty" the Royal Bengal Tiger eluded us. We returned at about 6 in the evening, thoroughly tired, but with a great and memorable experience. Only word of caution, DONOT TAKE THIS TRIP IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR LUXURY AND DONOT LOVE ADVENTURE !!The guys in the resort are great and take good care of all legitimate needs and you are very well looked after and you get to experience the life in Sunderban up close- a no frills but exceedingly enjoyable trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Arijit_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“simply ..cool”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

hi , i and my family visited sundarbon on 19 jan 13, and one of the best tour of my life begins ........... fantastic desi food , very very very very nice people.... very good place and arrengement ..... very happening ... not let me clear my points : good things first , he he he ..... ___1st supper food , love ur cook, 2nd AJ was very funny , knowledgeable , __3rd all the people/batch (luckily) in tour was very cooperative funny and friendly .......bad points _ plz try to arrange pvt boat during crossing river specialy second one .. as all become very tired after whole day journey ( DAY 1)....in the end .... driver was not at all harsh ..... very good over all .. one more negetive point ...y y y y y only sundarbon

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Utkarsh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhanjiang, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Professional and well-organized”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We took both the motorcycle city tour and the 3D2N Sunderbans tour with Backpackers.

The motorcycle tour was an interesting way to see the city, and was a good way to spend a day. Most of it went really well, though I felt that we were being hustled along a little at times, and would have, for example, liked to have spent more time at the Victoria Memorial, though the lack of parking for the bikes there was a problem. My only other complaint would be the dhaba lunch, which was not the best representation of Bengali cuisine. Worthwhile, but a little overpriced at RS1500/-, I thought.

The Sunderbans excursion was very, very good however. The bus ride is uncomfortable, but this is the road's fault, not the vehicle's or the driver's. The eco-village was a joy to stay in, and the food there was tasty. We were very ably looked after by Om, who was attentive, sensitive and thoroughly professional while still bringing an unforced jolliness everywhere he went. My partner and I both enjoyed the time we had on the boat despite seeing no dolphins or tigers. The cultural performances in the evening were interesting, though at times - inevitably - they seemed a little bit ersatz.

I would recommend the tour of the Sunderbans more highly than the bike tour, but both were good, and you couldn't hope to meet a friendlier bunch of guys.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gweilo_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome experience.. Must visit place”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Me, My wife and my 3 other firends had planned for this trip 3 months ago. The trip was great and we had loads and loads of fun.The ride from kolkata was bumpy and breakfast was served (sandwiches, chips and fruits). After reaching the common point, we headed for eco village on a boat. it took us 2 hrs. Lunch was served in eco village which was simply and tasty. We headed for bird watching where we manned the boats ourselves and our rafting skills were tested.... We had a great cultural show with loads of music and dancing and a skit. The meals served were authentic, tasty and simple.we spotted animals like wild boars, crocodile, deer, monkeys, fishing cat (one of the most rarely spotted animal in sundarban )... The eco village is really superb and ebery minute spent there was fun. bonfire, black tea in the night was awesome... We also played badminton, pitto, volleyball and did lots of swimming where all the local kids joined us in the fun. The support staff was brilliant and they simply provided the best hospitality. They even provided halal chicken on our demands... boat ride was very nice where we even tried our hands on "jack sparrowing" the boat... Some suggestion to backpackers team, please check the vehicles before sending them from kolkata as a faulty engine delayed our trip by almost 2.5 hrs.. some suggestions to the tourists, please carry a torch as it becomes quite dark in the night. although the food is brilliant, if you are not used to indian food, please carry something with your from kolkata as you wont get anything there.and please a kind requets, please dont waste food. some idiots in our group wasted their food at their will and that really made us angry at them... and yes, dont forget to take some honey home.. its pure and tastes really nice

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank YusufZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour de Sundarbans - Day Tours also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Tour de Sundarbans - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing