We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly below average”
Review of The Corporate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Corporate
Ranked #153 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Dimapur, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slightly below average”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The price for the rooms for this hotel is not in par with the services provided. Luckily, I got a very nice deal from an online travel site. Overall, the rooms are good and the bathroom are clean but could be cleaner. I have found the security guards to be very helpful, friendly and polite as opposed to the staff working inside the hotel. There are some issues with the service of the hotel:
1. Linens are not crisp and not very clean 2. The staff needs extreme grooming as they are disheveled most of the time and in dirty uniforms 3. The front desk staff needs more personality and professional look - when I checked in, the front desk was managed by an amateur boy in his teens. 4. their service trays are dirty and it is covered with paper doilies to conceal the dirt but it shows
The hotel has great potential to be a good budget hotel as the location is good and so are the room layouts. Major tweaking with food, staff etiquette and grooming, service presentation will really help boost its popularity. I have found the hotel to be safe as the security is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renovung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    44
    59
    15
    25
See reviews for
21
18
21
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I booked this hotel thru Agoda they had a special on which with taxes cost me A$50 ,When I turned up at the hotel they told me the booking was only for 1 person,I don`t usually miss the small print and was asked to pay an extra 500 rupees at the reception for an extra person,No receipt was given for this extra payment.The room was ok but nothing special aside from the TV not working,AC also not working and the hot water not working either.I called up about the hot water the next morning and was told they would send some one but no one came.By this time the room was also getting a bit stuffy seemed like the AC was a very out dated one that had also never ever been cleaned.The buffet breakfast was ok mostly Indian style food,I did ask for some scrambled eggs which seemed to take forever and when they did arrive were inedible to me who ever cooked them put a lot of sugar in so my scrambled eggs were very sweet ??.
I was beginning to think that this was just Indias standard of hotels ,But after staying in the Rivatas in Varanasi where everything was up to scratch and it was a real pleasure to stay,I could see that the Corporate Hotel did not give a stuff about paying guests.I strongly recommend that you find another hotel to stay at in Kolkatta this one really needs a good wake up call.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in with Ac,TV and hot water not working was room 503
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jomm903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

even though the hotel has a central location advantage, unfortunately this advantage is missed in the attitude of the staff. On Checking out, the receptionist (who BTW was senior staff , Tina) checked me out on a different room.Luckily for the hotel, I had kept my baggage and gone out for shopping post check out. On returning, when i clarified about the bill amount, she found out the error and the audacity was that there was no "thank you".. instead it was just "fine". I guess she didn't realize that the hotel could have lost nearly 1000/- because of wrong billing. the thing that rubbed me on the wrong side was not the fact that the billing was wrong but the casual attitude of a senior staff.
the room A/C was not very effective though we were lucky that the weather was not hot for a change in Calcutta.
there were lots of couples around in the hotel and we observed a very disturbing issue in the manner the staff were ogling them. On one instance I found a staff looking from behind a glass door near the reception. For a hotel of such quality, it is very sad to see the standards set by the staff.. the hotel can do much more than what it is doing.. my best wishes to them ..For me, i guess the journey ends as far as Corporate is concerned.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Anup N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel was off park street and hardly 600 metres from park street metro station..food was awesome barring south indian..service was prompt and with a smile..room was good albeit small..will stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Kulbhushan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.m.c.h, Assam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Good hotel to stay in Central kolkata, little interior location, difficult to locate easily for outsiders.
Excellent house- keeping & room service. delicious food.
Very good for Business trips in kolkata.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Pinaki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have put up my relatives at the hotel this month first problem faced was no body had a clue to the booking after showing the onfirmation mail from the hotel front office alloted the room.The room was not spacious the break fast was just average.only the location was very good as it is in the heart of the city the good part ends there staff was not polite nor has any cursy both house keeping and service.Over all i will think twice to put up my guest here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RockyRookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed for two nights. Staff at reception are friendly.
Other staff were not very friendly and could have been more courteous.
Room was clean and neat.
Bath towels looked over used .
Breakfast menu was very limited.
Not bad over all.






  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Santharam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#34 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#44 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#16 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Treebo Orion West Willows
Treebo Orion West Willows
#43 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#46 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gulshan International
Hotel Gulshan International
#117 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corporate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corporate

Property: The Corporate
Address: 4 Royd Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corporate 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Corporate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corporate Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
The Corporate India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing