We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location. Clean hotel. Okay value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corporate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Corporate
Ranked #142 of 216 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice location. Clean hotel. Okay value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel is just a minute away from Kolkata's Park Street where all the action happens. It's also minutes away from nice little neighborhood's that we enjoyed walking around in. The rooms are very modern and clean—very nice showers. Otherwise the room was a bit smaller than you might expect.

Breakfast service was a bit slow and even though they say your laundry will be down by 7 PM, it won't be. Ours came at like 10 PM. Not a huge deal, but you might sweat it if you have somewhere you need to be.

My only major complaint is that our fridge didn't work, which was a big deal visiting Kolkata in May as we wanted cold water. I told the management—who completely patronized me and didn't think I knew how a fridge worked—and they sent someone to the room. After the hotel bellboy looked at the fridge for a few minutes and saw it clearly wasn't working he told me that it actually wasn't a refrigerator and that it won't cool anything. I asked him if the electrical box that wasn't a refrigerator had a purpose. He said it had no purpose. Quite the experience :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CultureCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    44
    57
    15
    24
See reviews for
19
18
21
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Balangir
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

Decent place for a couple of nights. Especially if you want to hang around the city center. Small rooms but well appointed rooms. However not the best managed hotels i would say.. The bathroom was leaking which I brought to the notice of the reception but not taken care of. We were stuck in the lift due to a power failure for 10-15 mins and no wifi. Had these problems not occured to me i'd give it 4 stars!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samarendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

The hotel is about 200 m from Park Street, the most happening street in Kolkata. Though small, the large glass window rooms give a feeling of space. Presence of refrigerator and kettle help. The security is courteous, though the same cannot be said about the men at the reception. They treat guests with suspicion and work slowly.

Room Tip: A floor plan is provided. Rooms on the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amitabh_Varma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my friends. The hotel is half way through from Kolkata Airport and Howrah station. The location of the hotel is very nice. There are lots of nice restaurants near by like BBQ and others. Lots of options to do shopping too. The hotel stuff always helped to get the taxi when needed for traveling. The check-in was time consuming though. It took me almost 15-20 mins to do the check-in. The rooms are decent and clean. My room was near the lift area. So I could hear people coming and going till late night which was a little disturbing.We ordered room service, but the food quality could've been better. Overall it was quite nice stay and value of money is quite good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kisskissboomboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

The front desk were helpful in getting a cab arranged. But they need to be a little more polite.
The room was compact, very much on the smaller side.
Very near to the park street and yet in a much quiter lane.
Complimentary breakfast was good. The restaurant and housekeeping staff were very helpful.
The bed made a creaky noise every time one turned around making it irritating at times.
No bathroom mat was not provided.
The cab was requested for by 9am to be available by 10am. I was told that it will come latest by 10:15. It actually arrived at 11:15am. Later I learnt from the driver that he started from his office only at 10:45am as the car was busy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jinngala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We went on a family vacation to Kolkata last week and stayed at 'The Corportate' for four days and three nights. The hotel is located at a great place just off Park Street. This is very convenient if you are a tourist and don't have a car to get around the city. You can walk to places like Park Street, Camac Street and the Indian Museum from the hotel itself. Moreover, the Park Street Metro station is also walk able and you could take the metro to other major parts of the city. Victoria Memorial and Esplanade are five minute drives and it takes about 25 rupees to get there in a taxi.
The rooms were pretty small as noted in several reviews below, but were very clean and well maintained. However, considering the location (Park Street), the price and the size of the room, I would say that it was about right. I didn't mind the small rooms as I was roaming around the city all day anyways and I only needed a place to crash in the night. However, if you are traveling with a kid, the basic room might not be sufficient as my sister discovered. There wasn't even space for an extra mattress. Also, please be aware that there are two 'types' standard room on offer - one with a double-bed and the other with two single beds. There are no additional costs for having a double bed however, the flip side is that the rooms with two single beds were marginally larger than the ones with the double bed (i saw both). If you are very keen on sleeping on a double bed, you may have to call and request that they set one aside for you. I guess there are no guarantees though.
The staff were courteous and the restaurant was average. But then again, if you are staying in Park Street then you will have so many options to eat out and this wouldn't matter.
The one thing that I was disappointed about this hotel was their travel services. They did not have a dedicated travel desk. They did have tie ups with some local cab operators, but the staff at the reception were not very knowledgeable. While I could get around the city pretty easily, I needed some help in going to sunderbans and digha beach and the staff weren't of much help.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what you are getting in a standard room - there are two types: one with two singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cs_giri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sittard-geleen
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

we stayed three nigghts in the corporate hotel 4 Royd street.The hotel was good.
It was very clean, what sometimes not in India.The rooms are small, but its okay and everything is in it.The only thing is that the breakfast is very,very poor for a hotel like this.
The hotel is laying very near to Parkstreet, where are a lot of good restaurants , specially
Bar-B-Que.The staff is very kind and helpfull , and we would go back to this hotel , for a next stay in Kolkata.

Room Tip: take the back site we had room 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indialiefhebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.4 mi away
Walson Spa "O" Tel
Walson Spa "O" Tel
#110 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rushabh Home
Hotel Rushabh Home
#122 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dee Empresa Hotel
Dee Empresa Hotel
#67 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#46 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#30 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Middleton Inn
Middleton Inn
#78 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corporate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corporate

Property: The Corporate
Address: 4 Royd Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 216 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corporate 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Corporate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corporate Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
The Corporate India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing