We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best mutton”
Review of Peshawri

Peshawri
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“the best mutton”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

the peshawri at the itc sonar kolkata is by far the best mutton bada kabab and raan i have ever had so far.... i have eaten in quite a few restaurants all over India but have never had such amazing mutton ever. the bada was so amazing the meat just fell of the bone. and the raan was to die for. hot raan with garlic naan and some kali dal.
i strongly recommend the bada n raan to all mutton eaters
dont waste ur appetite over any other starter or entree

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rishabh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zubin S, General Manager at Peshawri, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out and reviewing and recommending us on Tripadvisor. My team and I are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable experience at Peshawri offering ‘ Robust Flavours of the Indian North West Frontier’.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peshawri at ITC Sonar.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    55
    22
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The lobster that was served to me was mind blowing. The kebab platter too was simply perfect to perfection! On top of that, the service was quite good. A special word of appreciation for Mr Atanu for his hospitality and alertness!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Puchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zubin S, General Manager at Peshawri, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know you were well looked after on your visit to Peshawri and you enjoyed your experience there. I will personally convey your positive feedback to Atanu and I am sure this will motivate him to further excel and reach greater heights.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Sonar.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food quality bad”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our entire family had gone for dinner at Peshawri, ITC Sonar where our experience was so bad.
Could not believe the server's attitude and the way of serving and talking to us. My husband is allergic to gluten and had asked the chef particularly to make any food that he thinks he can make gluten free but to our surprise he made the food and it had been cross-contaminated and my husband really became sick the entire night. We were even surprised when we spoke to the chef and asked him what is cross-contamination and he had no clue what exactly that was. The quality of food has also deteriorated like anything. Try to avoid this restaurant at any cost.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mitra_jayeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zubin S, General Manager at Peshawri, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Jayeeta,

We have noted your feedback with great concern and sincerely regret the reported incident & inconvenience caused to your husband. I do hope he has completely recovered now. I would like to assure you that at ITC Hotels we are extremely sensitive to such special dietary requirements & have a fairly robust protocol to service such needs, to the extent of the food being prepared in isolated sections of the kitchen.

We also regret your observation on the responsiveness of the associate referred to by you in your review. We have made necessary intervention to sensitize team members appropriately.

Look forward to your visit to ITC Sonar on your next trip to Kolkata to give us an opportunity to reinstate our credibility.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wow excellnt food...”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

If u want to have good unlimited kababs and Indian food this is one of the best I have tried. Visited there with around 20 guests and they arranged special dining for us, the services were excellent food and live kabab kitchen. The decor was good but only thing which i did not like is the stools. sitting on stools for long is not something I like.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumit_Dhar_kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zubin S, General Manager at Peshawri, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Dhar,

Thank you for taking time out and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and would most certainly help us in our "Quest for Quality".

We look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Sonar.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine dining Place”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Went with my family and friends there; busy place on weekends but fortunately got reservation. The place had variety of Non Vegetarian platters / kababs. Food was heavy and serving quantity was appropriate. Bit of overpriced. Average meal costed 2000 Per pax.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lait121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zubin S, General Manager at Peshawri, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We thank you for your words of appreciation & have appreciate your feedback regarding our product offering at Peshawri.

We look forward to welcoming back to the ITC Sonar.

Warmest regards
Zubin S.Songadwala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peshawri also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Peshawri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing