We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay always”
Review of The Sonnet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sonnet
Ranked #11 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I come back to this hotel again and again. This is a decent business hotel in salt lake area. Although recently the quality of linens have been deteriorated. Location is good, near to a shopping complex with lots of fast food joints.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank prakdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajib R, General Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Namashkar !

Thanks for taking out time to put in your honest comments. We thank you for your continuous patronage of The Sonnet Kolkata and again considering us as your preferred hotel during your recent visit to the city.

I have taken a note of your appreciation as well as your feedback about the Linen....complete set of new linen have replaced the old, even we have upgraded the washroom amenities for better bath experience, also other upgradation measures have been implemented to make each stay a comfortable & memorable one; I take this opportunity to assure you that The Sonnet Kolkata believes in the promise to serve with a deep rooted passion thus striving to ensure a paramount satisfaction for it's patrons. I am sure that in your next stay we would, once again be able to give you memories and pleasant stories to share & cherish.

The Sonnet family truly believes in "Atithi Devo Bhaba" and imparting best of services, hospitality standards & benchmarks, thereby creating a Symphony in Harmony.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Sonnet very soon and my team shall go that extra mile to extend the Sonnet hospitality of "Poetry in Service".

Thanks & regards,
Rajib Roy Choudhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 489 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

Will recommend to friends also.The staff was courteous and they upgraded my room.Early morning check out was smooth.Food was good and so was service. Will stay here on my other visits to kolkata too.Location is good as it is close to the airport and in the good locality of kolkata.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita jamshedpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajib R, General Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Namashkar!

The Sonnet Family takes this opportunity to thank you for taking out time to share your experience on this platform and are extremely happy to know that your expectations were met during your recent stay with us.

It has been our constant endeavour to deliver the personalized best in Hospitality standards & services and we firmly stand committed to our goal....creating a true "Home away from home".

I look forward to welcome you back during your next visit to the City of Joy.... soon in the near future, and my team shall ensure The Sonnet benchmarks, those you would love to recall & share as stories with your friends and family. Assuring you of our best services at all times.

Thanks and Regards,
Rajib Roy Choudhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

decent enough, good service. Wifi can be improved. All others fine, including breakfast & the in-house restaurant. The location is not very crowded or secluded. Its a calm place with hospital, multi-complex facilities very near by.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Srini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajib R, General Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Namashkar !

Thanks for taking out time to put in your honest comments. We thank you for your patronage of The Sonnet Kolkata during your recent visit to the city.

I have taken a note of your appreciation as well as your feedback about the Internet connectivity....measures are being implemented; also I take this opportunity to assure you that The Sonnet Kolkata believes in the promise to serve with a deep rooted passion thus ensuring a paramount satisfaction for it's patrons. I am sure that in your next stay we would, once again be able to give you memories and pleasant stories to share & cherish.

The Sonnet family truly believes in "Atithi Devo Bhaba" and imparting best of services, hospitality standards & benchmarks, thereby creating a Symphony in Harmony.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Sonnet very soon and my team shall go that extra mile to extend the Sonnet hospitality of "Poetry in Service".

Thanks & regards,
Rajib Roy Choudhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed twice 2012 & 2014. Excellent Hotel in this category. Staffs are courteseous. You fell like at home. Comfortable. Sopacious rooms, cooperative staffs. Good Cafe. Conveniently located. Food is good. The rooms are well equipped The only fault I found was , slow wifi connection. Strongly recommended .

Room Tip: Ask for better rooms, they will help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajib R, General Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Namashkar !

It gives us immense pleasure to know that The Sonnet Kolkata has been a true "Home away from home" for you. Many thanks for writing and sharing your honest feebacks.

We feel proud and honoured when we see that our efforts have given our guests pleasant recall & nice stories to share with their friends & loved ones, and on such travel and social platforms. We are truly happy that we have been successful in doing so, during your recent and earlier stay with us. Also I have taken a note of your feedback about the Internet connectivity and would like to assure you that we are taking necessary measures.

The Sonnet family assures you of the best services and hospitality at all times and shall wait patiently for you to return back and allow an opportunity to serve you again. I look forward to welcome you soon in the near future, at The Sonnet in the City of Joy.

Thanks & Regards,
Rajib Roy Choudhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I was here for a 2 day visit. The hotel is easy to find. I used google maps. Friendly and Polite Staff. Well trained in having small talk with the customer. Everyone around will ask if u liked the food and if u r enjoying the stay. Did not have the time to use the pool.
Food is delicious. But like most of the nice places it very highly priced. Worth for the quality of the food though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_kumta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajib R, General Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Namashkar!

The Sonnet Family takes this opportunity to thank you for taking out time to share your experience on this platform and are extremely happy to know that your expectations were met during your recent stay with us.

It has been our constant endeavour to deliver the personalized best in Hospitality standards & services and we firmly stand committed to our goal....creating a true "Home away from home".

I look forward to welcome you back during your next visit to the City of Joy.... soon in the near future, and my team shall ensure The Sonnet benchmarks, those you would love to recall & share as stories with your friends and family. Assuring you of our best services at all times.

Thanks and Regards,
Rajib Roy Choudhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is by far the best hotel I have stayed at in Kolkata below the 5-star threshold. Any traveller should be happy to book a room here with confidence. Clean, stylish, spacious, with very good service and facilities. My package came with breakfast and in-room wi-fi. I also received an upgrade to a "club" room. There is a small workout room with cardio equipment, weight machines, and free weights, as well as a small pool outside. The breakfast buffet is very good indeed, and the food overall is consistently very good. The location is also quiet, by Kolkata standards, and the room is almost silent at night. I have been very pleasantly surprised and would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Club room on the front -- excellent space and value, plus a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajib R, General Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Namashkar !

It gives us immense pleasure to know that The Sonnet Kolkata has been a true "Home away from home" for you. Many thanks for writing and sharing your honest feebacks.

We feel proud and honoured when we see that our efforts have given our guests pleasant recall & nice stories to share with their friends & loved ones, also on such travel and social platforms. We are truly happy that we have been successful in doing so, during your recent stay with us.

The Sonnet family assures you of the best services and hospitality at all times and shall wait patiently for you to return back and allow an opportunity to serve you again. I look forward to welcome you soon in the near future, at The Sonnet in the City of Joy.

Thanks & Regards,
Rajib Roy Choudhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

just returned from the one week stay at the sonnet,and am already looking forward to going back for our next vacation.My wife and I enjoyed a relaxing stay at this lovely little hotel that is the perfect antidote to the hustle and bustle of Kolkata.We very much appreciated our stay in one of the spacious rooms.Very clean and very well maintained place that is Professionally managed.
At night, we enjoyed chatting with other guests before settling down in the fine restaurant for dinner before retreating to our room.
Can warmly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satyajit_mitwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajib R, General Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Namashkar!

The Sonnet Family takes this opportunity to thank you for taking out time to share your experience on this platform and are extremely happy to know that your expectations were met during your recent stay with us.

It has been our constant endeavour to deliver the personalized best in Hospitality standards & services and we firmly stand committed to our goal....creating a true "Home away from home".

I look forward to welcome you back with your family.... soon in the near future, and my team shall ensure The Sonnet benchmarks, those you would love to recall & share as stories with your friends and family. Assuring you of our best services at all times.

Thanks and Regards,
Rajib Roy Choudhury
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
4.2 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip
#5 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#10 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
371 reviews
3.4 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#9 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,582 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sonnet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonnet

Address: Block Dd Plot No 08 | Sector 1, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#9 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $92 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sonnet 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonnet has embarked on a journey of establishing itself as a premium 4-star business hotel group in India. The Sonnet, Kolkata is a symphony in design, service & efficiency. A premium business hotel, located in The City of Joy’s newest and most promising Business Hub, Salt Lake. It’s proximity to the airport and Salt Lake’s sprawling IT district makes it the most convenient location. Amenities and facilities are at par with the best in the industry. With unobtrusive & efficient service, we strive to make your stay a very comfortable one. The Sonnet is a eco sensitive hotel and is committed to the social & environmental causes and responsibilities and is always involved in organizing activities to initiate social and ecological awareness. The environment team at the hotel is always ready to contribute to the smallest concerns and handy in extending all support to environmental needs.The state of the art décor, 64 ultra-modern superbly furnished self-contained guest rooms, the fitness centre “WORKOUT” along with the open air Jacuzzi “SPLASH”, a well-stocked bar “UNWINE”, a Music Lounge “ORION” and Round the Clock Fine Dine restaurant “AURA” provides the boarders with all the physical, holistic and gastronomical relaxation that they need to feel at home. Round the Clock in Room Dining pampers one to lazy meals in the privacy of the room. Tailored tour arrangements in luxury cars, heritage walks, religious services, buddy services, and also tie-up with a renowned SPA are always available at beck n call.For the discerned corporate traveller, The Sonnet is ever ready with specially crafted food by the Master Chefs as per guest preference, place, country or origin. Facilities like express check-in, check-out, Wi Fi connectivity, secretarial services, and chauffeur services are tailored to one’s choice and requirement. Corporate meetings, Seminars, Get togethers can be organized in the well-equipped meeting rooms (starting from 1500 Sq. feet to 4000 Sq. feet). Also not to forget the open air terraces for the social functions as well as evening cocktails…….the package is unlimited. THE SONNET OFFERS YOU ONLY THE BEST, SERVICE IN A PERFECT SYMPHONY!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Sonnet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonnet India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing