We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous three days stay”
Review of The Sonnet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sonnet
Ranked #11 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous three days stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I didn't know this place existed until I reached there. It was an accommodation arranged by the organisation I work for, and to be frank I wasn't looking forward to it. I was wondering why didn't they put me up in Taj or ITC. But I have come back after a three day stay at Sonnet, pleasantly surprised. This is a lovely small hotel in Salt Lake close to the airport and City Center a good mall for all pockets and stomachs close-by.

I stayed in the two room suite on the fourth floor. It doesn't offer any good views, but the rooms were spotlessly clean and well done up. I had an issue with the linen initially as I though it appeared a little overused and they changed in no time. I used their bar and the restaurant on the ground floor. The barman was a cheerful guy who was helpful in providing the details about the nearby areas. The food was awesome too. I tried Italian, Chinese and Indian and loved every morsel of what I ate. The breakfast spread was very good too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kulpreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    201
    45
    14
    10
See reviews for
93
43
31
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
802 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a night during AUG-12.Hotel location is good and near to air port .Rooms are big, modren and well furnished. But food is average and front desk and other staff are average.Any way recommended for short stay and nothing much memorable.Not much value for money

Room Tip: Go for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chandra shekar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I just came back 3 weeks ago from Calcutta.
I stayed a whole week at the Sonnet hotel which was a very pleasant stay.
The room was very clean and confortable upto date western decoration.
The staff was very friendly and every problem i encountered was solved in a pleasant manner.
Even though the location of the hotel is a little remote from the center, now with the new roads built in Calcutta this was not a problem.
It was very nice to come back to my cozy room after spending time in the hectic city of Calcutta.
I plan to stay there again at my next visit.
Best value for money.
Hagit Amram

Room Tip: Best rooms are at the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagit_Amram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The sonnet Kolkotta is the new and the best propoerty in kolkotta now where i usually want to settle in kolkotta now .. For me the reason is the ambience and the centrally located venue . Sonnect staff is very much familier with my requiremnets and take care in each and every respect .. i am always haveing a wonderful experience over there as rooms and also big enough .. i will advise to experience this in your next visit and the tarrif and also very good. Thanks

Room Tip: Road side view is good << metro / fly over in construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koulsudhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

It was not a huge propoerty but all the amenities are there GYM , POOL a good restaurent and a bar.
The staff was very helpful. Loved my stay in the hotel . What ever room you take in the hotel are good. Hope to visit soon. .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamaljeet_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Very smart business hotel. Service is just excellent. Staff are very efficient. Rooms are well equipped.

Everything about the hotel was warm and welcoming.

Suites are spacious and nice Even the Deluxe rooms are great. We had a very large group of people staying and thus had over 25 rooms. Not a single complaint. All in all great experience.

Hands down the best value for a hotel in Kolkata!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yudhist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I would suggest to avoid staying at this hotel if on a business trip, even otherwsie. This is because they play very loud music ( may be a discotheque or dance floor) even upto wee hours. I had stayed at 3rd floor and still the noise was so loud that I had a horrible night. Such 'I don't care' policy hurts.

Discounting this fact, the hotel is otherwise reasonably decent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahi1852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
4.2 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip
#3 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
349 reviews
1.7 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#10 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,286 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,070 reviews
3.4 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sonnet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonnet

Property: The Sonnet
Address: Block Dd Plot No 08 | Sector 1, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#9 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#21 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sonnet 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonnet has embarked on a journey of establishing itself as a premium 4-star business hotel group in India. The Sonnet, Kolkata is a symphony in design, service & efficiency. A premium business hotel, located in The City of Joy’s newest and most promising Business Hub, Salt Lake. It’s proximity to the airport and Salt Lake’s sprawling IT district makes it the most convenient location. Amenities and facilities are at par with the best in the industry. With unobtrusive & efficient service, we strive to make your stay a very comfortable one. The Sonnet is a eco sensitive hotel and is committed to the social & environmental causes and responsibilities and is always involved in organizing activities to initiate social and ecological awareness. The environment team at the hotel is always ready to contribute to the smallest concerns and handy in extending all support to environmental needs.The state of the art décor, 64 ultra-modern superbly furnished self-contained guest rooms, the fitness centre “WORKOUT” along with the open air Jacuzzi “SPLASH”, a well-stocked bar “UNWINE”, a Music Lounge “ORION” and Round the Clock Fine Dine restaurant “AURA” provides the boarders with all the physical, holistic and gastronomical relaxation that they need to feel at home. Round the Clock in Room Dining pampers one to lazy meals in the privacy of the room. Tailored tour arrangements in luxury cars, heritage walks, religious services, buddy services, and also tie-up with a renowned SPA are always available at beck n call.For the discerned corporate traveller, The Sonnet is ever ready with specially crafted food by the Master Chefs as per guest preference, place, country or origin. Facilities like express check-in, check-out, Wi Fi connectivity, secretarial services, and chauffeur services are tailored to one’s choice and requirement. Corporate meetings, Seminars, Get togethers can be organized in the well-equipped meeting rooms (starting from 1500 Sq. feet to 4000 Sq. feet). Also not to forget the open air terraces for the social functions as well as evening cocktails…….the package is unlimited. THE SONNET OFFERS YOU ONLY THE BEST, SERVICE IN A PERFECT SYMPHONY!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sonnet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonnet India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing