We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broken Promises, Lousy Service.”
Review of The Sonnet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sonnet
Ranked #14 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2011

You book their Banquet Hall facility. Confirm the menu. Pay in advance for more then a 100 guests. Then on the day of the event you find that items from the menu is missing. You demand an explanation from their banquet manager Mr Koushik Banerjee and all you get is a blank face.

This is just to begin with. The food we tasted before we confirmed and what was served on the event day left a lot to be desired. The most important element of the menu, the Mutton Biryani we were assured would have been prepared by a special guest chef since the one prepared by their own chef was pathetic. But on the day of the event this same pathetic chef served that same pathetic biryani. Never have I met with such a breach of trust as this.

I could go on about the slow service or Mr Koushik Banerjee's marked absence for prolonged periods from the Banquet hall facility when the dinner was being served when he had assured that he would be available at all time on the floor but these were the least of my problems.

How can a you forget to prepare and serve dishes that was agreed upon and already paid for in a 100+ people event?

You make people tasted one thing before confirming a party and then serve something else in the actual party. This particular cheap gimmick just turned me off. I would have forgiven everything else but this is totally un-professional and not worthy of a star hotel as you claim to be.

Well I'm not here to score points. Please just make sure that hence forth in the future when you commit to someone please honour it. False promises dosen't make you look nice nor the people who put their trust on your commitments.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LastMile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 512 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

Hotel Sonnet is situated in Salt Lake city in Calcutta (Kolkatta) India. The hotel is around 30 Mins drive from Airport and around 1 hour drive from Howrah Railway Station.
The hotel has very good ameneties including SPA, Bar and Health Club. I have stayed in this hotel two times already and both time have had good experience. The rooms are large with Spring Mattresses, Ambient lighting, LCD TV, Work Table, recliner and Internet connection in room (Paid service). The interiors are very quiet and air conditioning is awsome. I have never had to get up in thie night to adjust the thermostat for being too cold or too hot !!!

The bathroom has excellent shower arrangement with three types of shower settings. the toiletteries are decent and on demand they provide things which are missing.
The food is excellent with local as well as internation touch and will appeal to all pallettes. the morning Buffet breakfast is lavish and tasteful.

Overall will rate the hotel as very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunjanKumar, Front Office Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

We would like to say thanks on behalf of the entire Team.

Looking forward for your next stay with us.

Thanking You

The Sonnet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed here for three days during my visit to Kolkata in July 2011. This is a nice 5-star rated hotel. I wouldn't have rated it with a 5-star though because I felt that the amenities and the services could have been better. The two rooms we occupied were cozy and the bed was comfortable. The location of the hotel is very good in terms of connectivity and shopping/dining places as the city center mall is within a kilometer of the hotel. However, I found the surrounding area to be quite dirty but that could be said pretty much about the entire city -- Sorry Kolkatans, it's sad but true. There were small tea & tobacco stalls right outside the gate of the hotel and the entire parking area was unpaved ground. Having stayed during the monsoon period, the unpaved parking area always made my shoes dirty. To make things worse, there were pools of water throughout the parking that made the small walk to the inside of the hotel miserable. Moreover, another disturbance was constant construction noise of the metro track right in front of the hotel. Can't imagine how bad it will get once the metro trains actually start running on those tracks.

The room service and housekeeping was excellent. The food was delicious, specially the club sandwiches! The front desk staff was courteous and helpful, upto the 5-star standards. Overall, my stay here was comfortable and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aksera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GunjanKumar, Front Office Manager at The Sonnet, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

We would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us which indicates your true liking for the property, as we firmly believe that it is friends like you who with your honest comment makes us travel from strength to strength and also give us motivation.

Thankking You

The Sonnet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Was on a business trip when i got to stay in this hotel. A newly opened hotel just 1/2 hr away from the airport. Rooms are very decent and also the staff is very helpful and friendly. The biggest problem for a vegetarian in kolkata is food and especially people like get smell of fish in every dish. But here the food was also good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ritzy313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The hotel is located close to the upcoming metro line. The lobby of the hotel is average. The reception staff is slow but co operative. The rooms are spacious. We had a double room with single bed. The very view of the rooms makes you feel that the building was originally meant for a hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for two weeks in August 2011. The service was excellent and the people were very friendly and helpful. Every night I enjoyed the diner a-la-carte or buffet. Both were very good. If I've to go back to Kolkata, I'll definitely consider this hotel. The hotel is well situated on a 5 minutes’ walk from the city mall.

Room Tip: I stayed in the superior room on the 7th floor. Very convinient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdenouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The hotel is located close to the upcoming metro line.

The lobby of the hotel is average. The reception staff is slow but co operative. The rooms are spacious. We had a double room with 2 separate beds. The very view of the rooms makes you feel that the building was originally meant for a hotel.

The food is good. The rates are expensive for food. The hotel service is very slow.

The rate that they take is not exactly value for money. This hotel cannot be my 1st choice in Kolkotta.

Room Tip: Take room with roadside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piyushsavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
4.2 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,318 reviews
3.3 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,759 reviews
1.7 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#10 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,381 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#18 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
615 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sonnet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonnet

Address: Block Dd Plot No 08 | Sector 1, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $93 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sonnet 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonnet has embarked on a journey of establishing itself as a premium 4-star business hotel group in India. The Sonnet, Kolkata is a symphony in design, service & efficiency. A premium business hotel, located in The City of Joy’s newest and most promising Business Hub, Salt Lake. It’s proximity to the airport and Salt Lake’s sprawling IT district makes it the most convenient location. Amenities and facilities are at par with the best in the industry. With unobtrusive & efficient service, we strive to make your stay a very comfortable one. The Sonnet is a eco sensitive hotel and is committed to the social & environmental causes and responsibilities and is always involved in organizing activities to initiate social and ecological awareness. The environment team at the hotel is always ready to contribute to the smallest concerns and handy in extending all support to environmental needs.The state of the art décor, 64 ultra-modern superbly furnished self-contained guest rooms, the fitness centre “WORKOUT” along with the open air Jacuzzi “SPLASH”, a well-stocked bar “UNWINE”, a Music Lounge “ORION” and Round the Clock Fine Dine restaurant “AURA” provides the boarders with all the physical, holistic and gastronomical relaxation that they need to feel at home. Round the Clock in Room Dining pampers one to lazy meals in the privacy of the room. Tailored tour arrangements in luxury cars, heritage walks, religious services, buddy services, and also tie-up with a renowned SPA are always available at beck n call.For the discerned corporate traveller, The Sonnet is ever ready with specially crafted food by the Master Chefs as per guest preference, place, country or origin. Facilities like express check-in, check-out, Wi Fi connectivity, secretarial services, and chauffeur services are tailored to one’s choice and requirement. Corporate meetings, Seminars, Get togethers can be organized in the well-equipped meeting rooms (starting from 1500 Sq. feet to 4000 Sq. feet). Also not to forget the open air terraces for the social functions as well as evening cocktails…….the package is unlimited. THE SONNET OFFERS YOU ONLY THE BEST, SERVICE IN A PERFECT SYMPHONY!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sonnet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonnet India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing