We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centraly located and near to airport”
Review of The Sonnet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sonnet
Ranked #12 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Centraly located and near to airport”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I started staying in this hotel as per recomendation of a friend and no regrets. For the past ten years I was staying in the oldest five star hotel in Kolkota HHI. The Sonnet is n new property and fulfills all requirements of a business traveller. The staff is friendly and the service is OK. The food is reasonably good but not very exciting. The property is very near to city center mall and can spend the evening usefully. This mall has some very good chineese restaurants.
Recomended for business trips

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epsreekumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    199
    45
    14
    10
See reviews for
89
43
29
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2011

In Recent times stayed at one of the best hotel in recent times. The property is at a good location at salt lake city close to center one mall. i even got a upgrade to a club room. it was a last minute booking and i will always cherish my stay at a hotel. Decent price for the returns they give you as a hotel.

Compared to all the five star hotel properties ever stayed.

The Food Was Awesome and The Even made Special Kolkatta Fish For Me.
The RoomBar Was Awesome
Bathrooms Excellent.

Must Stay if You in Kokatta

Room Tip: Book a Room And Forget All The Tips. Club Room Reccomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nainnoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

for a busy travel schedule, one of the most irritating thoughts is to shell out around for 5000 Rs for a stay not lasting 10 hours ( i know some of my rich and travelled friends rationalise it as under 100 dollars).

I did a similar short trip to the land of misti-Kolkatta. However despite the close to "100 dollar" tariff, i found teh stay at Sonnet worth it. for two key reasons:
1) its proximity to the airport, allowing one to skip a lot of the nasty traffic heading back to the airport
2) a lavish breakfast , spanning various cuisines . Not to miss the chaas as a beverage during breakfast. I insist this should be made a mandatory drink by law in support of the Indian dairy community.

Sonnet- worthy stay!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dukaandaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My colleague found out about this hotel over internet. and we chose to stay there because it was close to our conference venue.
I found the hotel very well decorated and has a pleasant feel. The staff is well trained and helpful.
The food is good and buffet had good choices keeping in mind various tastes of their guests. The rooms are neat and all modern amenities are provided.
However if you opt for a single room, then the room is very small and little space to move around but boasts a good size bath room. Also i got room which had no view except the next room.
However overall if you choose your room carefully, this is a good hotel to stay in on a business trip.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the street are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saps_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed at The Sonnet, Kolkata after our experience with Sonnet, Jamshedpur. It was a family trip and we had a great time. For business visits and short stays, Sonnet is ideal and gives the guest a greater service and class than what it is officially rated as. The hotel staff is well trained and cordial. Food is good and serves a variety. Overall, great place to stay in Kolkata. We will b back for sure !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikhiladesara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The Sonnet, Kolkata is ready to meet the needs of discerning travellers with its contemporary space, ultra modern ambience, varied dining experiences, state-of-the-art technology and comprehensive in-house facilities.
Uniquely positioned to offer a 4-star luxury experience in the heart of Kolkata’s IT district, the hotel is an ideal venue for business events. The Sonnet caters to the needs of leisure and business travellers seeking the finest facilities and world class service.
Our ethos is to offer attentive yet unassuming service with sophisticated interior styling. Guest can indulge the hotel’s contemporary and specious ambience, enjoy the quality cuisine and genuine personal service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falgunisaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This is a new property in Salt Lake. Its is very close to the City Centre. Very refreshing interiors, spacious rooms and bath area. The bar at the lobby "Unwine" is a nice place to hang out after a long working day. Try the Kebabs. B/F is also good. 15/20 mins from the airport makes this hotel an ideal place for requent fleys.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.7 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#10 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
348 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip
#3 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#9 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,268 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sonnet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonnet

Property: The Sonnet
Address: Block Dd Plot No 08 | Sector 1, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#9 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#22 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sonnet 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonnet has embarked on a journey of establishing itself as a premium 4-star business hotel group in India. The Sonnet, Kolkata is a symphony in design, service & efficiency. A premium business hotel, located in The City of Joy’s newest and most promising Business Hub, Salt Lake. It’s proximity to the airport and Salt Lake’s sprawling IT district makes it the most convenient location. Amenities and facilities are at par with the best in the industry. With unobtrusive & efficient service, we strive to make your stay a very comfortable one. The Sonnet is a eco sensitive hotel and is committed to the social & environmental causes and responsibilities and is always involved in organizing activities to initiate social and ecological awareness. The environment team at the hotel is always ready to contribute to the smallest concerns and handy in extending all support to environmental needs.The state of the art décor, 64 ultra-modern superbly furnished self-contained guest rooms, the fitness centre “WORKOUT” along with the open air Jacuzzi “SPLASH”, a well-stocked bar “UNWINE”, a Music Lounge “ORION” and Round the Clock Fine Dine restaurant “AURA” provides the boarders with all the physical, holistic and gastronomical relaxation that they need to feel at home. Round the Clock in Room Dining pampers one to lazy meals in the privacy of the room. Tailored tour arrangements in luxury cars, heritage walks, religious services, buddy services, and also tie-up with a renowned SPA are always available at beck n call.For the discerned corporate traveller, The Sonnet is ever ready with specially crafted food by the Master Chefs as per guest preference, place, country or origin. Facilities like express check-in, check-out, Wi Fi connectivity, secretarial services, and chauffeur services are tailored to one’s choice and requirement. Corporate meetings, Seminars, Get togethers can be organized in the well-equipped meeting rooms (starting from 1500 Sq. feet to 4000 Sq. feet). Also not to forget the open air terraces for the social functions as well as evening cocktails…….the package is unlimited. THE SONNET OFFERS YOU ONLY THE BEST, SERVICE IN A PERFECT SYMPHONY!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Sonnet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonnet India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing