We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence!”
Review of Swissotel Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swissotel Kolkata
Ranked #9 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is placed at a very strategic location, close to Airport and newly developing business hub in Kolkata.
The staff knows how to pamper customer, excellent service experience during my all business tours!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Nikesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for spending some of your precious time to share your review on Trip Advisor and also sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel. It gives us great satisfaction and also is a great pleasure to learn that you had an enriching experience at the Swissotel Kolkata. We strive to maintain our hospitality service to always exceed your expectation.

Swissotel Kolkata is a ‘Business Resort’ that has the efficiency of a business hotel yet the feet-up feel of a resort and customized service as its hallmark.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Swissotel Kolkata We look forward to a long lasting rewarding relationship with you and to serving you again.

With Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
There are newer reviews for Swissotel Kolkata
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,243 - 1,249 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Once again Swissotel have delivered exceptional service. All staff are so attentive and are genuine in their care and concern that you have all you need (and/or want) and provide it promptly. I am deeply impressed with them and they cause me to keep going back for more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel on Trip Advisor. It gives us great satisfaction and also is a great pleasure to learn that you had an enriching experience at the Swissotel Kolkata. We strive to maintain our hospitality service to always exceed your expectation. We are glad we could prove to be consistent.

Swissotel Kolkata is a ‘Business Resort’ that has the efficiency of a business hotel yet the feet-up feel of a resort and customized service as its hallmark.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Swissotel Kolkata We look forward to a long lasting rewarding relationship with you and to serving you again.

With Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have previously written a rave review of this property and often enjoyed staying here while traveling through Kolkata. During our last stay however, we were sorely disappointed.

We had a very smooth airport pick-up at midnight, but upon arriving at the hotel, found it took ages to check-in although the reception was empty (aside from a rude gentleman speaking loudly into his cell phone about personal matters) and a number of staff members were present. We were ready to get into bed immediately, but had to wait another twenty minutes for our luggage, which we only got once my husband went out on a search.

The room was a handicapped-accessible room, which we had not requested. The shower was on the same level as the toilet and divided only by a few inches and a plastic curtain. The furnishings and woodwork were quite worn and scratched in the room and bathroom.

At breakfast the following morning, we waited a full hour for our simple order of pancakes. Even then, one of our plates of pancakes never arrived! We weren't ready to wait any longer, so we left hungry.

Later on, we called for towels, which never arrived and this trend continued throughout our brief stay.

I'm disappointed that I can no longer turn to Swissotel as my go-to hotel in Kolkata.

Room Tip: Don't accept a handicapped-accessible room if you mind having a wet bathroom!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RS108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Warm Greetings from Swissotel Kolkata.

It is our pleasure and our privilege to have you stay at Swissotel Kolkata recently, and we thank you for taking the time to share your constructive and comprehensive feedback.

We deeply regret falling short of your expectations. We truly understand your views and have taken cognizance of the same. However, we would be very thankful if you could allow our Front Office Manager to speak to you to know the true cause of your disappointment. This would allow us to improve and arrest all loopholes, in order to keep our commitment.

We assure you that on your next visit with us, you will find the accommodation more comfortable and services, an elaborate blend of the finest of hospitality in the two great cultures of Bengal and Swiss. Please accept our sincere act of contrition. We look forward to providing you with the best possible service on your next visit.

With warm regards,


Marco Saxer
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

On my way back through Calcutta on my way back home to Delhi, I had a 12 hour break between my train and flight, and decided to hang out close to the airport in one of the newer properties, the Swissotel Kolkata. And it was a phenomenal decision.

The Swissotel is a very new property, just about 3 years old, and is styled perfectly for the modern business traveler. Amenities are great, such as the pool and lounge, and the rooms are spacious enough for a comfortable stay.

I was thrilled to see the Cafe Swiss, which meant that they had one of my favorite potato dishes, a Röschti with spinach and fried eggs. Beyond that, the Indian food was very good as well, with the rotis, naans, and subzis all piping hot and delicious. My only complaint would be the lack of Indian (vegetarian) food in the lunch buffet the day I went - there literally wasn't a single Indian item in the buffet, which was a turn-off point for me. However, the varieties of the other foods was fantastic, so it was still a great deal at INR 1000.

One nice thing about this hotel is that if you walk straight through the lobby, you actually walk into the courtyard of the mall next door, which has a KFC, a full food court, and some decent shops as well. When looking to kill some time, it was a welcome sight.

Overall, I think that the Swissotel is a great property, located close to the airport and convenient for business travellers!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayeleswarapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for spending some of your precious time to share your review on Trip Advisor and also sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel. It gives us great satisfaction and also is a great pleasure to learn that you had an enriching experience at the Swissotel Kolkata. We strive to maintain our hospitality service to always exceed your expectation. We are delighted to know that you loved the buffet served at all times and commended well on the quality and presentation.

Swissotel Kolkata is a ‘Business Resort’ that has the efficiency of a business hotel yet the feet-up feel of a resort and customized service as its hallmark.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Swissotel Kolkata We look forward to a long lasting rewarding relationship with you and to serving you again.

With Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

this is a very good hotel on kolkata, i loved staying there. the rooms are very comfortable , open , good view of the city and airport. good for busienss , holiday and meetings . I recommend this hotel if you visit kolkata.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank vivekjaipur460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time off to review us on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to know that my team took good care of you. We thank you for your warm feedback. It feels great to hear that your stay at Swissotel Kolkata was extremely comfortable & that the team made it special for you.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Swissotel Kolkata and we look forward to welcome you in the near future.

With warm regards

Marco Saxer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed here for three weeks this year and five weeks last year. This hotel was the best thing about my stay in Calcutta. The friendliness of the staff and the care they take really is wonderful! The rooms are nice. And the location, though not in the center of the city, is right next to the mall. The spa was wonderful and very affordable. Everyone truly went out of their way to make my stay as comfortable as possible. I looked forward to coming back to the hotel everyday after work.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time off to review us on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to know that my team took good care of you. We thank you for your warm feedback. It feels great to hear that your stay at Swissotel Kolkata was extremely comfortable & that the team made it special for you. We thank you for your kind appreciation once again.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Swissotel Kolkata and we look forward to welcome you in the near future.

With warm regards

Marco Saxer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Swissotel Kolkata is one of the most grandest hotels I have stayed in. I stayed for a 4-week period for work. Very clean and very accommodating. The staff including the security personnel are extremely nice. The restaurants and the buffet at Cafe Swiss is remarkable. Not to mention the mall that is adjoined to the hotel next door which includes more restaurants, shops, and the movies. The chef's let us know that if there was anything we wanted to have that was not included in the menu or buffet, thay he would make it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Ravi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are truly grateful for the wonderful comments you have posted about our hotel and the services of my team members on trip advisor.

At The Swissotel Kolkata, we are committed to consistently provide you warm, efficient and discrete service and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward. We value your comments and are not happy unless our guests are happy.

It is our endeavour at all times to offer supreme accommodation, finest of cuisines and personalised and timely service to all our guests.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Swissotel Kolkata and we look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards

Marco Saxer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
7.6 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,109 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,668 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Residences
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Reside...
#8 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,308 reviews
9.5 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#6 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,914 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Kolkata

Address: City Center New Town, Action Area 2D | Plot No. 11/5, Rajarhat, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700157, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $94 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Kolkata is one of the most luxurious addresses in the city of Kolkata which offers well-appointed leisure and business facilities. Boasting an under-one-roof concept, Swissôtel Kolkata has 147 contemporary guest rooms and luxury suites with spectacular Jacuzzis, four restaurants and bars, a fitness centre, a rooftop swimming pool, and over 1261 square meters of meeting space with the largest pillarless banquet in the city. The hotel is part of a new urban development with an attached mall featuring shops, restaurants and a multiplex cinema. Located in Rajarhat beside the IT hub, the hotel offers a distinct mix of leisure and business facilities, and is noted for its unique offering of Swiss hospitality and attention to detail. The award-winning rooftop Sky Lounge is the jewel of the hotel's three restaurants and bar, offering views over the city. An in-house nightclub with resident DJ attracts hip locals and guests alike. The sumptuous breakfast buffet offers a wide range of choices to energise your day.The business centre and two meeting rooms more than cover all your business needs. Over 1000 guests can be accommodated in cocktail/reception style in Bern, the largest pillar-free banqueting facility - and a team of event planners is on hand to help you hold the perfect wedding at Swissotel Kolkata. Swissotel Kolkata's alpine-inspired Purovel Sport offers you an exclusive ambiance in which to continue your exercise routine, with a fully equipped gym and a breathtaking infinity swimming pool on the roof.The hotel has separate smoking and non-smoking floors, there is free internet throughout except in the banquet areas, and secure parking is also available for your vehicle during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swissotel Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Swissotel Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing