We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but comfortable”
Review of Swissotel Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swissotel Kolkata
Ranked #8 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Swishotel Calcutta. We made a quick stop in Calcutta this past week while on a trip to the Andaman Islands. The four of us liked the comfort and convenience of staying at this hotel which was close to the airport. The rooms were appointed with the luxuries of a five star hotel. The food in the main restaurant was excellent with great attention to customer service. I do want to mention that the price for a large bottle of Perrier water was over $10 ---so be aware of that when ordering table water for dinner. You can expect to pay around $135 for a room at the Swishotel. It felt good to have such comfort while traveling in India even at a high price. I would recommend this hotel if your budget will allow.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

I along with my team members would like to thank you for giving us a review on TripAdvisor from your regular schedules.

It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable stay in Swissôtel Kolkata and the service delivered by our team, room and the location had fulfilled your expectation.

I along with my team members wait to welcome you again in Swissôtel Kolkata on your next visit to the city.

Warm regards,

Marco Saxer

General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,524 - 1,530 of 1,759 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Efficient business hotel about 15 mins from the airport in the new suburb. Takes about an hour to the present business district; the expectation is that the centre of gravity will shift closer during this decade. Decent sized five star rooms, wooden floor, fabulous linen. Solicitous and caring staff, but make sure you are not lumped with a smoking room, which seem to be the default option unless you protest. The bowl of apples at the reception is a nice touch, useful if one needs nourishment before rushing to a meeting. Windows overlook the mall, so no joy. The 'average' score for Value is because I suffered double rates during a particularly busy week.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoggingPlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

I along with my team members would like to thank you for giving us a review on TripAdvisor from your regular schedules.

It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable stay in Swissôtel Kolkata and the service delivered by our team, room and the location had fulfilled your expectation.

I along with my team members wait to welcome you again in Swissôtel Kolkata on your next visit to the city.

Warm regards,

Marco Saxer

General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at Swissotel, Kolkata on a business trip in January 2013. The rooms are spacious and quite comfortable. People at the Hotel are very friendly and helpful. The Hotel is connected to City Centre (a shopping mall). In the evening, if you would like to lighten your pocket, good place to hangout :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manjri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

I along with my team members would like to thank you for giving us a review on TripAdvisor from your regular schedules.

It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable stay in Swissôtel Kolkata and the service delivered by our team, room and the location had fulfilled your expectation.

I along with my team members wait to welcome you again in Swissôtel Kolkata on your next visit to the city.

Warm regards,

Marco Saxer

General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have stayed here in the past (2010) and recently too- end of Dec12. based on these positive responses, I booked three roosm(20Jan13-22Jan13) through Expedia and due to My Father's demise (while I was in Siliguri on work that morning- 20Jan13) had to cancel the booking. Expedia informed me that Swissotel would not permit this unless I pay Rs.33,000 of the Rs. 66000 that I had paid as advance. I want them (Swissotel and Expedia) to know am disappointed though I know personal grief has no place in their "only business" attitude. I may never stay in this Hotel or possibly never use Expedia but want each potential patron to be alert.....

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank aylur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

It gives us a great pleasure to hear back from you about the stay with us at Swissôtel Kolkata.

I share my condolences for your father’s demise. The review makes me a bit concerned that you have experienced due to the charges that was borne by you. I would like to share with you the fact that as the booking had the involvement of an external travel agency, we do not have any authority for the retention charges, but if the booking would have been on a direct basis then we do surely consider the emergency and the sentiments of our guest and wave off the charges.

I would request you not to take this as the overall rating for Swissôtel Kolkata and not choose us when you visit back to the city. We look forward to welcome you and share with you our services and make your memories unforgettable.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer

General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed two nights one week apart. What impacted me the most was the personal attention and service from EVERY staff member we came into contact with. From reception desk through to senior staff members who shared the elevator with us on one occasion - every one of them was personally interested and concerned about how stay and welfare. I was as if we were in their private home. On our first night we had a slight problem with the room and rang reception. They immediately offered another room. A very prompt and generous offer which we declined. But on the second stay - they had not forgotten. They upgraded us and staff who had not even dealt with us previously enquired about our stay as "I understand last time you had a problem." Extraordinary! The rooms and decor are superb. We will definately return. It was by far and away the best hotel experience I have ever had. Easily!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure having you stay in Swissôtel Kolkata and we would like to thank you for scheduling some time and post a review on TripAdvisor.

This gives me an immense pleasure to read that you had a comfort in staying with that and us our location and proximity to airport and to your business travel was a way much easier. We indeed take up the appreciation from your review about our Swiss contemporary and modern designs about the property.

I would surely share this review with my team in order make them happy and feel the same way that you feel about us. This would on the other hand help my staffs be motivated also to achieve the same comments from the other guests who stay with us on a regular basis.

I along with my team members would wait to welcome you back for a longer duration of stay with us, which would help us to your memorable moments.


Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer

General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I used to traveled around the world, therefore compare with a normal 5 stars hotel, I wouldn't say it's great. But for India standard it's better than expected. Breakfast was really good. Staffs were friendly and helpful. and Most importantly, it's very close from the airport. If I have to go back to Kolkata, I may consider going back to Swissotel.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms have better view. But get the room closer to the elevator due to better wifi serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerkyJessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

I along with my team members would like to thank you for giving us a review on TripAdvisor from your regular schedules.

It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable stay in Swissôtel Kolkata and the service delivered by our team, room and the location had fulfilled your expectation.

I along with my team members wait to welcome you again in Swissôtel Kolkata on your next visit to the city.

Warm regards,

Marco Saxer

General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

this is a very good hotel, nothing is too much trouble. the rooms are clean and spacious and have a mosquito plug and an expresso machine. The breakfast buffet has one of the best selections i have seen and they will cook to order anything you ask for. i would recommend this hotel for business or travel and the fact it is attached to a small shopping mall is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walke1l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

I along with my team members would like to thank you for giving us a review on TripAdvisor from your regular schedules.

It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable stay in Swissôtel Kolkata and the service delivered by our team, room and the location had fulfilled your expectation.

I along with my team members wait to welcome you again in Swissôtel Kolkata on your next visit to the city.

Warm regards,

Marco Saxer

General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
7.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,318 reviews
3 mi away
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Residences
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Reside...
#7 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,623 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,381 reviews
9.4 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,991 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Kolkata

Address: City Center New Town, Action Area 2D | Plot No. 11/5, Rajarhat, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700157, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#7 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $109 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Kolkata is the nearest five star hotel to the Kolkata airport. Being attached to a mall, it provides access to shops, restaurants and a multiplex cinema. Located in Rajarhat close to the IT hub it is patronized by corporates such as IBM, TCS, BT, PWC, Erricson, Primetals etc. We offer a distinct mix of leisure and business facilities. Choose from 147 contemporary guest rooms, including 10 suites with large terraces, each with its own exclusive outdoor Jacuzzi. Executive rooms and the Swiss Executive Club lounge provide additional energy and exclusivity. The high-speed internet and executive meeting room of the Club lounge are all here help you be highly productive at work. The business centre and two meeting rooms cover all your business needs. Host your next event at the ballroom in Swissotel Kolkata in true Swiss style. Over 1000 guests can be accommodated reception style at Bern, one of the largest pillar-free banqueting facilities in Eastern India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swissotel Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Swissotel Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing