We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to stay again”
Review of Swissotel Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Kolkata
Ranked #7 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Good rooms, good ambiance, good location and good food!. What more should one expect from a hotel. The shopping mall just next door is just another plus!

Swissotel Kolkata is conveniently located about 15-20 mins away from the airport. The airport pickup was quick a efficient. The quick check-in actually helped us - a travel weary group. The rooms are comfortable, with a subtle yet classy decor. The restaurant is very roomy with high ceiling and lots of natural light illuminating it. Food quality, taste and spread is definitely very good. Would love to stay in Swissotel again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitra75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Miss. Chitra,
It was a great pleasure having you stay in Swissôtel Kolkata and we would thank you for taking out time and post a review on tripadvisor.

It gives us a great pleasure to know that you had a comfort in staying with us and also that our location and proximity to airport and to your business travel was a way much easier. We indeed take up the appreciation from your review about our Swiss contemporary and modern designs about the property.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,476 - 1,482 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Truly a luxurious get away place in the midst of all conveniences like proximity to the airport, shopping area, many facilities. The hotel has the signature Swiss sytle in everything from the exapansive lobby to the amazing roof top infinity pool to the room decors. A must for my next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TsheringBhutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Miss. Tshering,
Thank you very much for taking out the time to post a review about your experience with Swissotel Kolkata in TripAdvisor!

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. We are grateful for your appreciation of the luxury, location and the Swiss style as you have mentioned in your review. Besides offering the heartfelt service and good food to all our guests the hotel has been the perfect choice of venue for both business and social events in the city.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Our team members are very grateful for your glowing reviews and join me in wishing you well.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager
Swissôtel Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed for just one night on a layover. I will not comment on the rooms,ambience etc .. etc ... which are very very good but subject to personal tastes ... but one thing... the staff are super super ... ready to cater to your smallest need Do check it out yourself .... The End....

Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
Thank Roshvijayakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay. We take immense pride in our service standards and work very hard to ensure that each of our guests have an experience like yours.

Do let us know when we can expect you again in Swissôtel Kolkata. We will work towards providing you with an even greater and more delightful experience than your existing one.

Our staff is very grateful for your glowing reviews and joins me in wishing you well.

Warm Regards,
Swissôtel Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel is just two years hotel, very clean and modern contemporary design. Had appointments in the city center and near the airport. Just 10-15 minutes by car to the airport, to the city center 45-60 minutes by car depends on your address and traffic. Traffic can be bad especially when it rains.
Fantastic breakfast buffet with a great choice of International and Indian food. Spacious business center with free of charge internet.
Highlight of the hotel rooftop pool and the gym. Spotless clean and the very attentive staff. Very unique, they offer you after each work out session a complimentary stretching session (5-10 minutes) with one of their instructors.
Staff speaks very good English. Adjacent a shopping mall with a basic offer, no luxury brands but very good basic shops.
Location is brilliant if you have to catch a flight in the morning, because you dont have to worry about the traffic.

Room Tip: Treat yourself and book a room on the Executive Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay. We take immense pride in our service standards and work very hard to ensure that each of our guests have an experience like yours.

Do let us know when we can expect you again in Swissôtel Kolkata. We will work towards providing you with an even greater and more delightful experience than your existing one.

Our staff is very grateful for your glowing reviews and joins me in wishing you well.

Warm Regards,
Swissôtel Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

If u want to be treated like a Royal, then u should visit Swissotel at Kolkata. Right from the time u check in until u check out, Customer is the King. The service was way beyond expectations and the staff made me feel very important. I requested for early check in and late check out and both my requests were adhered to without any hesitancy. I also had the opportunity to dine at Cafe Swiss and also experience their Banquet service. I must say the food is really out of this world...Sous Chef Sahoo is a magician. The Room is spacious with latest amenities and I was amazed how they manage to clean the room each time I move out and return again. Even small things like changing the towels and replenishing bottled water is given so much importance. The staff is extremely friendly and since this was my 1st visit to this great city, they guided me where to have the authentic local Bengali cuisine and recommended which items to taste. The proximity to City Center 2 mall gives this Hotel an edge in case u get bored and want to grab some time for a movie or just go around the mall. I am in awe of Swissotel and the friendly staff for whom Service is top priority. Will visit again soon.

Room Tip: Choose the Room on top floor which gives u a great view of the New City
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arvind_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay. We take immense pride in our service standards and work very hard to ensure that each of our guests have an experience like yours.

Do let us know when we can expect you again in Swissôtel Kolkata. We will work towards providing you with an even greater and more delightful experience than your existing one.

Our staff is very grateful for your glowing reviews and joins me in wishing you well.

Warm Regards,
Swissôtel Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on 25th august 2012.
I was transiting Kolkata on my way to Dhaka from Chennai
I selected this hotel because of its proximity to International Hotel.
I was delighted to see the warm wellcome, homely food & g

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hariharanchennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay. We take immense pride in our service standards and work very hard to ensure that each of our guests have an experience like yours.

Do let us know when we can expect you again in Swissôtel Kolkata. We will work towards providing you with an even greater and more delightful experience than your existing one.

Our staff is very grateful for your glowing reviews and joins me in wishing you well.

Warm Regards,
Swissôtel Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Excellent hotel for a soft landing in Calcutta. We stay there on transit before starting our journey in India.
Excellent service, very kind and helpfull staff. Located surprisingly next to a mall where you can find few sort of coffee bars, restaurant and even a theater movie!
Situed very close to airport that is even visible from room. The room is fantastic (the classic one). Super clean with big size mattress and very comfy

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg_yoavIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!

We take immense pride in our service standards and work very hard to ensure that each of our guests have an experience like yours. Do let us know when we can expect you again in Swissôtel Kolkata. We will work towards providing you with an even greater and more delightful experience than your existing one.

Our staff is very grateful for your glowing reviews and join me in wishing you well.

Warm Regards,

Swissôtel Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
7.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,001 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,192 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Residences
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Reside...
#8 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,342 reviews
9.5 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,951 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Kolkata

Address: City Center New Town, Action Area 2D | Plot No. 11/5, Rajarhat, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700157, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $96 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Kolkata is one of the most luxurious addresses in the city of Kolkata which offers well-appointed leisure and business facilities. Boasting an under-one-roof concept, Swissôtel Kolkata has 147 contemporary guest rooms and luxury suites with spectacular Jacuzzis, four restaurants and bars, a fitness centre, a rooftop swimming pool, and over 1261 square meters of meeting space with the largest pillarless banquet in the city. The hotel is part of a new urban development with an attached mall featuring shops, restaurants and a multiplex cinema. Located in Rajarhat beside the IT hub, the hotel offers a distinct mix of leisure and business facilities, and is noted for its unique offering of Swiss hospitality and attention to detail. The award-winning rooftop Sky Lounge is the jewel of the hotel's three restaurants and bar, offering views over the city. An in-house nightclub with resident DJ attracts hip locals and guests alike. The sumptuous breakfast buffet offers a wide range of choices to energise your day.The business centre and two meeting rooms more than cover all your business needs. Over 1000 guests can be accommodated in cocktail/reception style in Bern, the largest pillar-free banqueting facility - and a team of event planners is on hand to help you hold the perfect wedding at Swissotel Kolkata. Swissotel Kolkata's alpine-inspired Purovel Sport offers you an exclusive ambiance in which to continue your exercise routine, with a fully equipped gym and a breathtaking infinity swimming pool on the roof.The hotel has separate smoking and non-smoking floors, there is free internet throughout except in the banquet areas, and secure parking is also available for your vehicle during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swissotel Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Swissotel Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing