We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living up the expectation”
Review of Swissotel Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swissotel Kolkata
Ranked #9 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I went to swissotel with my friends for dinner, initially i was a bit reluctant to go because it was away far from the city. However I was proved wrong when I went there. First of all the place is very neat and clean, staffs are very well behaved and the quality of food is exceptional. Maya the discotheque is different from the other discos in the city. I would really recommend this hotel for their service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amitbasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Mr. Basu,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful time at Swissôtel Kolkata and liked the food and service. Soon we are going to re-launch Splash, our award winning roof top lounge with lots of exciting offers. Do let us know when we would expect you again in Swissôtel Kolkata.

We will work towards providing you with an even greater and more delightful experience than
your existing one.

Warm Regards,
Swissôtel Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
There are newer reviews for Swissotel Kolkata
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Swissotel is the finest hotel I saw in Kolkata. Right from check in I found the hotel without any mistake anywhere. It is difficult to believe in a place like Kolkata where the staff are quite difficult to be motivate to the international standard of operation this chain hotel usually operates. On arrival me and my wife were busy and could not wait for the check-in procedure. So we left leaving the baggage in the lobby. They borrowed our passport for couple of minutes and we left for our urgent work. At around 5;30 pm we returned and found our room allocated and baggage kept in the room. When we were in the room we found two beds joined together to make it look like double. Little annoyed, I called the reception. It took minutes only before the room was changed to a suite. Probably our early check-in did not give them time enough to give our double room. However the suite is more than I asked for and they way the hotel operated, we would be as happy with a double room too.

After entering into the hotel everywhere I went around in the hotel found the staff really professional as I would find in Far East Asia like Singapore, Hong Kong, Bangkok or in States. Usually you do not get to see such staff in Kolkata. I saw their GM Marco Saxer on round thrice during my less than 20 hours stay in the hotel. A hotel with such responsibility of the GM got to be good. The hotel is neat and clean at all area including corners and SUPER GLOSSY everywhere. We had our lunch and breakfast buffet in their café swiss. It was very intelligent spread of food both with the continental and Indian choice. The food production was perfect to the details.

I did happen to talk to the GM Mr Marco Saxer while we were going for lunch before checking out. A Manager with a crispy management skill. He did let me know of the welfare of some of my old friends; a very charming and pleasant gentleman we talked to.

Unfortunately the hotel is in Rajarhat which quite far from the city centre. The new city is being grown in this area. Once the area matures, this will be fine hotel to stay. But for now I hate to understand that it may be rare for me to stay there since I have most business in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zuhur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay. We take immense pride in our service standards and work very hard to ensure that each of our guests have an experience like yours.

Do let us know when we can expect you again in Swissôtel Kolkata. We will work towards providing you with an even greater and more delightful experience than your existing one.

Our staff is very grateful for your glowing reviews and joins me in wishing you well.

Warm Regards,
Swissôtel Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My recent experience at this property was just awesome, complementing the name of the package that I took, Awesome Twosome to the 't'. They probably have one of the best trained, courteous and warm people looking after your every need, and, if you have a prior reservation, you will get an unthinkable reception. They made our silver anniversary, and my wife's 50th birthday, a real memorable one.

The only place which does not synch as much with the rest, is probably the Cafe. The food, whatever is spread out, is good, but you miss out on the degree of warmth, and I did not find the ambience to be very great either; probably because of the high expectations that they set out at the other corners. However, the other restaurant, Darbari that I visited also more than compensated this lacuna.

Nevertheless, I will recommend them any day to any one coming to this my city and checking in at a 5-star property.

Room Tip: If you have your spouse/companion along, then just get a room with its own jacuuzi and you'll bo...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gautam1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!
It’s a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay and sharing your experience. We take immense pride in our service standards and work very hard to ensure that each of our guests have an experience like yours.

We will look into the issues suggested by you and would work towards providing you with an even greater and more delightful experience than your existing one.

Do let us know when we can expect you again in Swissôtel Kolkata.

Warm Regards,
Swissôtel Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have been to the Cafe Swiss for Lunch Buffet.The ambiance and the service is too good,but somehow the food is not up to the mark.I wont say that the quality of food or the preparation is bad.But somehow when you are having lunch in Swissotel you definitely expect more.It is not like ; that you have it once and you will feel like returning again and again compared to other 5stars like ITC sonar bangla.Even the food @ Flame and Grill will make you return there again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharbani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We will look into the issues suggested by you and would work towards providing you with an even greater and more delightful experience than your existing one.

Do let us know when we can expect you again in Swissôtel Kolkata.

Warm Regards,
Swissôtel Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

While travelling to Dhaka I had to stay the night in Kolkata. I chose the Swissotel due to its proximity to the airport. Frankly, after a lot of research this was the only hotel which had decent reviews and was within 15 mins to the airport.

Had only few hrs in Kolkata (10:30 pm to 4:30 am) so was unable to sample the food and the breakfast buffet(which a lot of other reviews were raving about0 but the room was very comfortable and i got a sound sleep. Hotel also arranged for a pick up and drop. Concierge was very polite and the staff helpful.

It would have been good if the hotel has some discounted rates for short stay overs since paying the full day amount for just 5 hrs turned out to be very very expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NamCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay . We take immense pride in our service standards and work very hard to ensure that each of our guests have an experience like yours.

We will look into the suggestion made by you and would work towards providing you with an even greater and more delightful experience than your existing one.


Warm Regards,
Swissôtel Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel is located in building housing city center. Close to the airport Just 2km away. The room are well equiped and maintained meeting the star standards. Food is hyginic and meets expectations. As there is no competition is Kolkatta city and there are very few 5 star properties in Kol, the rates are on higher side.
This hotel is specially suitable, in case one need to catch a flight and wish to avoid Kolkata traffic. As such, Kolkata is not widely spread as Delhi or Mumbai, so as far as commuting to various places of buisness n tourist interest is concerned, there is absolutely no problem.

Gym is well equipt and the pool is also nicely maintained. There are three resturants in the Hotel and room service is very good.

Room Tip: Fifth floor room with city view is excellent choice
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manishjnewdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!

It’s a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay. We take immense pride in our service standards and work very hard to ensure that each of our guests have an experience like yours.

Do let us know when we can expect you again in Swissôtel Kolkata. We will work towards providing you with an even greater and more delightful experience than your existing one.

Our staff is very grateful for your glowing reviews and joins me in wishing you well.

Warm Regards,
Swissôtel Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A clean and stylish hotel which aims for a 5 star rating but it is manned by 2 star staff. If you don't mind being perpetually disturbed by the staff or mind constant fiascos then this is the hotel for you.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank PWongy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Kol, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!

We are really apologetic for the problem faced by you. It would have been nice if you could have mentioned the issues you have faced during your stay. As we take immense pride in our service standards and work very hard to ensure that each of our guests have a good experience.

In your next visit we will work towards providing you with an even greater and more delightful experience than your existing one.

Warm Regards,

Swissôtel Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
7.6 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,109 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,663 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Residences
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Reside...
#8 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,306 reviews
9.5 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#6 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,914 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Kolkata

Address: City Center New Town, Action Area 2D | Plot No. 11/5, Rajarhat, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700157, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $92 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Kolkata is one of the most luxurious addresses in the city of Kolkata which offers well-appointed leisure and business facilities. Boasting an under-one-roof concept, Swissôtel Kolkata has 147 contemporary guest rooms and luxury suites with spectacular Jacuzzis, four restaurants and bars, a fitness centre, a rooftop swimming pool, and over 1261 square meters of meeting space with the largest pillarless banquet in the city. The hotel is part of a new urban development with an attached mall featuring shops, restaurants and a multiplex cinema. Located in Rajarhat beside the IT hub, the hotel offers a distinct mix of leisure and business facilities, and is noted for its unique offering of Swiss hospitality and attention to detail. The award-winning rooftop Sky Lounge is the jewel of the hotel's three restaurants and bar, offering views over the city. An in-house nightclub with resident DJ attracts hip locals and guests alike. The sumptuous breakfast buffet offers a wide range of choices to energise your day.The business centre and two meeting rooms more than cover all your business needs. Over 1000 guests can be accommodated in cocktail/reception style in Bern, the largest pillar-free banqueting facility - and a team of event planners is on hand to help you hold the perfect wedding at Swissotel Kolkata. Swissotel Kolkata's alpine-inspired Purovel Sport offers you an exclusive ambiance in which to continue your exercise routine, with a fully equipped gym and a breathtaking infinity swimming pool on the roof.The hotel has separate smoking and non-smoking floors, there is free internet throughout except in the banquet areas, and secure parking is also available for your vehicle during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swissotel Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Swissotel Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing