We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place close to airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swissotel Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swissotel Kolkata
Ranked #7 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice place close to airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

very nice place, 15-20min from airport. stayed there for a short duration, but was really amazed to see the lovely interior of the hotel, strategic location, a shopping complex attached to hotel is also a plus point compared to any other hotel in kolkata. If you are in kolkata and looking forward to stay away from the traffic chaos of the main city and still have a good connectivity to airport.. then swissotel is a right choice. The food was equally good. they have a small but well equipped business center.

overall I would rate this hotel 'very good'.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpr_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss0telK0lkata, Senior Manager - Marketing Communications at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to have you stay with us on your next trip to Kolkata.

Warm Regards,
Aparna Banerjee Paul

Senior Manager - Marketing Communications
Swissotel Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    387
    76
    22
    30
See reviews for
207
177
112
722
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Service was extremely good.It was worth to stay with all modern amenities. It is near beatifull shopping mall City centre II, where we dined from KFC and did our shopping from R C Jewellery(Fashion). I was amazed with their variety exclusive worldclass fashionjewellery collections. I would like to come back again in the hotel. It was indeed a wonderfull experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_786manama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss0telK0lkata, Senior Manager - Marketing Communications at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to have you stay with us on your next trip to Kolkata.

Warm Regards,
Aparna Banerjee Paul

Senior Manager - Marketing Communications
Swissotel Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

As this was my first trip to Kolkata, I had little expectation of the quality and service, but I have been astounded by Swissotel!
The trip from the airport was just 15 minutes and the entrance to the hotel belied the absolute luxury provided here....The service is world class, extremely efficient, yet warm and welcoming - a perfect combination. Everything here is of the highest standard: bedrooms are luxurious, the food is divine and beautifully presented and the facilities are astounding. It is attached to a luxury shopping mall with designer shops and food outlets, so a chance to browse and do some shopping. The Executive Lounge is fantastic with the added benefit of excellent staff who made my stay a joy.
The pool is breath-taking - an infinity pool with views over the diverse and chaotic city, making you feel like you are in a oasis of calm, yet right in the centre of an energetic, thriving city - a great combination!
Over the last 25 years, I have been privileged to stay in some of the world's best hotels and this would make my top 5 easily. If you want to impress and be impressed, then this must be the place to relax and do business - thoroughly recommend!

Room Tip: Don't think it would be possible to get a 'poor' room, they are all gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigsnakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss0telK0lkata, Senior Manager - Marketing Communications at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to have you stay with us on your next trip to Kolkata.

Warm Regards,
Aparna Banerjee Paul

Senior Manager - Marketing Communications
Swissotel Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

This hotel is class, it is part of the Rajarhat City Centre complex... though slightly expensive, I found it convenient because of access to airport and the IT offices in Rajarhat and Saltlake. For food one can go for room service, or just walk to the City center and opt for Mcdonalds, KFC or the food court on the 3rd floor... if you need any toileteries etc, you can walk underground to food bazaar. You can take one of the yellow taxis outside and travel to anywhere in the city... the airport is mere 15 mins drive

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArupAditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss0telK0lkata, Senior Manager - Marketing Communications at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and hope to have you stay with us on your next trip to Kolkata.

Warm Regards,
Aparna Banerjee Paul

Senior Manager - Marketing Communications
Swissotel Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

I basically lost 7000 buks without so much as staying at this hotel. This is the first time this has ever happened to me. I made an advance booking at the hotel through a travel website. The booking, offered at a special rate, was non-refundable (No complaints so far). My trip was postponed by a week and I requested an amendment of the booking (shift dates by a week). The request for amendment was submitted through a travel website (the hotel asked me to do the same. They specifically told me it was possible). Later, I was told (shockingly) that an amendment was not possible. I basically lost the entire amount. My mistake: a postponed meeting. Clearly, they're a bunch of amateurs who have absolutely no idea how to run a business. And so much for "Swiss hospitality". Pick the Taj, Oberoi, Hyatt or Sonar. Established and respectable.

Room Tip: Don't book one in advance, through a website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eardstapa_east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss0telK0lkata, Senior Manager - Marketing & Communications at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback. We deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you. We at Swissôtel Kolkata truly believe in being flexible and understanding towards our guest’s needs. From time to time, we come up with special promotions which offer excellent value for money for our guests. These promotions have slightly more stringent cancellation rules.

Your reservation was one of them and was booked through a travel portal. Swissôtel Kolkata did accede to your request, and made an exception to accept a date change, and communicated the same to the travel portal. It was, however, understood from your feedback that you had been charged for the same. The travel portal has now started the refund process and has requested for 12 to 15 days’ time.

We deeply empathize with you and regret the opportunity missed to be able to serve you.
We are eagerly looking forward to welcoming you at Swissôtel Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Aparna Banerjee Paul
Senior Manager - Marketing & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

I had 2 weeks here while working in Kolkata/Calcutta and loved it. Location is good, 15 mins max from the airport, convenient for the new businesses in Salt Lake, yet not TOO far away from the centre of Calcutta if you want to sightsee, though do bear in mind this can easily be an hous car ride due to traffic. Even in Monsoon the rooftop infinity pool and deck got some use, and the gym overlooks the pool and is well equipped. Being only a year old everything is fresh and new, and the Spa in-house has now opened - small but effective and my massage was great and a great price too! Above all, the atmosphere is so friendly and efficient, it was a good place to come home to in the late evening, excellent food including a lot of European as well as Indian cuisine if you get homesick. The bar is huge and with a bizarre [though effective] 20' x 30' backlit mural of the Swiss Alps! The only slight criticism is the lack of a cosy lounge to curl up and read, or meet friends in - the restaurant is vast and while open 24 hours is more warehouse than cosy! I'll be back in September

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss0telK0lkata, Senior Manager - Marketing Communications at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments.

We are pleased to know that you had a good stay with us and hope to have you stay with us on your next trip to Kolkata in September. Our Executive Lounge is where you may like to spend time and read during this forthcoming trip.

Warm Regards,
Aparna Banerjee Paul

Senior Manager - Marketing Communications
Swissotel Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed for almost a whole week in May......liked almost everything about this hotel, since the series of conferences I had gone for were all in the same hotel premises it made the whole experience a whole lot better since there was no travel involved.....except for zipping up and down the floors in the elevator :)........The one issue i would like to highlight is that the magnetic strips in the room keys tend to corrupt themselves pretty easily and unless one is very careful with the keys it might result into a situation where you wont be allowed into your own room and would have to go down all the way to the reception to seek assistance. Cant complain of anything else as I really loved my stay and the fact that a busy mall is just next door meant i could do all my shopping there itself before returning home to my family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrabalC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss0telK0lkata, Senior Manager - Marketing Comminications at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you stay with us on your next trip to Kolkata.

Warm Regards,
Aparna Banerjee Paul

Senior Manager - Marketing Communications
Swissotel Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
7.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Residences
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Reside...
#8 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Kolkata

Property: Swissotel Kolkata
Address: City Center New Town, Action Area 2D | Plot No. 11/5, Rajarhat, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700157, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Kolkata is one of the most luxurious addresses in the city of Kolkata which offers well-appointed leisure and business facilities. Boasting an under-one-roof concept, Swissôtel Kolkata has 147 contemporary guest rooms and luxury suites with spectacular Jacuzzis, four restaurants and bars, a fitness centre, a rooftop swimming pool, and over 1261 square meters of meeting space with the largest pillarless banquet in the city. The hotel is part of a new urban development with an attached mall featuring shops, restaurants and a multiplex cinema. Located in Rajarhat beside the IT hub, the hotel offers a distinct mix of leisure and business facilities, and is noted for its unique offering of Swiss hospitality and attention to detail. The award-winning rooftop Sky Lounge is the jewel of the hotel's three restaurants and bar, offering views over the city. An in-house nightclub with resident DJ attracts hip locals and guests alike. The sumptuous breakfast buffet offers a wide range of choices to energise your day.The business centre and two meeting rooms more than cover all your business needs. Over 1000 guests can be accommodated in cocktail/reception style in Bern, the largest pillar-free banqueting facility - and a team of event planners is on hand to help you hold the perfect wedding at Swissotel Kolkata. Swissotel Kolkata's alpine-inspired Purovel Sport offers you an exclusive ambiance in which to continue your exercise routine, with a fully equipped gym and a breathtaking infinity swimming pool on the roof.The hotel has separate smoking and non-smoking floors, there is free internet throughout except in the banquet areas, and secure parking is also available for your vehicle during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Swissotel Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing