We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
1
5
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
1
5
3
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Very basic. Rather friendly. Very cheap (700R for a twin room). Central but away from Sudder Street and its attendant negatives and positives. That’s about it really – unattached rooms are unloved and uncleaned, although the sheets are clean. The bathrooms down the long corridor are clean, with copious hot water, and less used than those next to the unattached rooms (geyser electrics are hanging open). Didn’t try breakfast nor see rooms with bathroom.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frangijasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in April 2013 during a 5 month trip in India. We are budget travellers but wanted to avoid the backpacker Sudder St. area and try somewhere a bit different. The location of the YWCA is fantastic and just down the street from a metro station which is handy in this huge city. Breakfast was included in the price, although they were very simple and felt like you were back at school, but it was a fun change for a few days. I think this building makes for a really interesting stay and the staff are very friendly.

Date of stay: April 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bell1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for a week and whilst the building itself is closer to a convent than a guest house of sorts we very much enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and let us in even when we got back very late after dinner. The balconies that line the corridors offer nice views across the inner courtyard and the old building was generally very interesting to explore. The included breakfast left a little to be desired but the price and central location of the YWCA over came any minor gripes we had.

Date of stay: April 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

After a pleasant stay in Delhi's YWCA, my husband and I had a shock when we booked into YWCA Kolkata. YWCA 's inside looked like a dungeon, very unattractive and very uncomfortable. I had to go shopping in Kolkata for a cotton bedsheet, a duvet, and two soft pillows.(I took these home after the stay). It was an experience which saddened both of us as the place occupied prime land in the middle of the busiest part of the city,very close to all amenities yet extremely badly maintained. The YWCA Kolkata's kitchen was also poorly organized, very shabby and not clean, run by a few young adults. It is mainly for backpackers and hikers who have almost depleted their budget.

Room tip: get rooms closer to the public toilets and bathing cubicles if you do not get rooms with baths ensuite, rooms with multiple double deckers available too.
Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank aiswarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews