We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mark Hotel
Ranked #147 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is very good location. Very near to metro station, Newmarket, museum. Hotel cleanness very good. Hotel rate little high. Large room but wash room very small. Food also good. Hotel restaurant very clean and supply fresh food.

Room Tip: You can choose executive deluxe suite.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B M Zakir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkataMark, General Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind words in your review.

We are delighted to let you know that we have introduced Live South Indian Breakfast to add more indian-ness to the Complimentary Buffet Breakfast and also change menu every day.

We thank for your stay with us and hope for your continuous support.

General Manager
Mark Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Mark Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 30 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

It is a good hotel in the area. Location and entrance is not so impressive. Rooms are big, clean and comfortable. Little high priced. Staff is friendly. Restaurant is not very big but it is ok. Breakfast is average.
Internet is available in the rooms. Lift is very small, only two-three persona can be adjusted at a time with out luggage.

Room Tip: Front side rooms are better as sun light comes in the morning.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anuragchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkataMark, General Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your kind words in your review and hope to see you again to stay at our renovated rooms.

We are also delighted to let you know that we have introduced Live South Indian Breakfast to add more indian-ness to the Complimentary Buffet Breakfast and also change menu every day.

We thank for your stay with us and hope for your continuous support.

General Manager
Mark Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is worst hotel I have ever stayed in any location. No TV working , No internet working, no hot water flowing, you need to ask for every basic things which you would expect in a hotel. Lot of mosquitoes, extremely awful bed and I couldn’t sleep whole and it has lead to severe back pain. Very very limted options in breakfast. No privacy, you can hear clear voice from near by buildings. Very rude staff and no ready to share number of hotel management. Please never ever stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KrishnaSinghal1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkataMark, General Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Dear Sir,

It was very unfortunate that you had to face such issues at our hotel and we apologize for the same.
However, we now have placed basic amenities and individual geysers in all of our rooms to resolve the issues. We have also replaced old mattresses with new 10inch luxurious mattress for guest comfort. windows have been made air and sound tight for lesser outside noise. We have also put up a direct call button to the manager on every phone in all of the rooms.

we understand the need of a good sleep and have done our best over the years to earn valuable guest like yourself.

We are delighted to let you know that we have introduced Live South Indian Breakfast to add more indian-ness to the Complimentary Buffet Breakfast and also change menu every day.

We thank for your stay with us and hope for your continuous support.

General Manager
Mark Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night while on a 2 day business trip to Kolkata, to start off I was given a 60% discount on the rack rates printed on their tariff card! Now I dont believe that they end up giving out rooms on their rack rates, that would be criminal. Because in their rack rates you could stay in 5 star in Kolkata. The hotel is located in the by-lanes off the Park street, which is a good 400-500 metres walk from the hotel. The hotel entrance is quite shady its a covered alley and is a good 10 metres inside the street. So the Hotel does not have a facade, all you see in the front is a small sign indicating the hotel. The checkin was efficient, however the reception is cramped for space. Post this you have to walk further inside towards the backside of the hotel towards the lift, I actually was not acompanied to the room so I wasnt sure if I was going into the hotel or heading out of the hotel through the rear exit. At the rear of the hotel there is an elevator which leads you to a landing which is between floors. So in case you are on the 4th floor your elevator will either drop you to 3.5 or 4.5 then you need to take flight of steps to get to the room area.
The rooms are big, there is a small LCD which is not in proportion to the room size, there is a well mini fridge which is stocked with cold drinks and water, the bottle of water is not complementary there is coffee machine and also a safe in the cupboard. What i didnt like about the room were the sheets and the pillows they could ve been a bit more hygienic. The bathroom was clean and had a separate shower area, there is no 24 hour hot water so you will have to switch on the geyser. Also in case you can avoid using the toiletries in the bathroom, i used their shampoo and my hair was very rough throughout the day. The towels are also not very nice. Couple of incidents that I should mention, in case you are in your room and dont want to be disturbed please keep the do not disturb sign outside. To my amazement in the morning the housekeeping knocked three times and then entered the room whilst i was in the bathroom. I guess they did not communicate with the reception whether the guest was still in the room or not. Another one was while having the buffet bf (normal stuff upma, poori alloo, eggs, toast, tea) i heard the restaurant person call up rooms which had not come for bf asking them if they would be coming down for bf. I did not see any sense of privacy in the hotel, too meddling in the affairs.
In case you are looking for a 1 night stay then this hotel might work for you if the reception is willing to give you 60% off the rack rate, in case you are staying here at full rate then please explore other renowned places in Kolkata

Room Tip: You dont need a tip none of the rooms have view, they all overlook buildings and houses which are an...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajay7283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Hotel is very elegant but littel over priced. You have to book room well in advance otherwise you won't get it. Room are very spacious and comfortable , staff is is very coperative. Hotel is situated in very prime location of parkstreet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anuragchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Seems reasonable at first glance, but....
Overpriced, unkempt, and ridiculous service.
Toilet room window faces building shaft - disgusting scene
We were harassed multiple times a day by the impatient receptionist/concierge about all sorts of issues - "What items have you consumed from the mini bar?",or " When will u leave the room so it can be cleaned etc?" etc'

Basically - India at its best

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leon_shira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkataMark, General Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Dear Patron,

It was very unfortunate that you had to face such issues at our hotel and we apologize for the same.
However, we now have placed basic amenities and individual geysers in all of our rooms to resolve the issues. We have also replaced old mattresses with new 10inch luxurious mattress for guest comfort. windows have been made air and sound tight for lesser outside noise. We have also put up a direct call button to the manager on every phone in all of the rooms. We now have professional and responsible front office staff who take full care of guest privacy and comfort.
Over these last few years we have come to understand the need of a guests and have done our best to re-earn valuable guest like yourself.

We thank you for your stay and hope you would continue your support.

General Manager.
Mark Hotel.
Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The entrance of Hotel Mark does not do any justice to what lies within. The reception area is tiny, the elevator seems to be from a different era altogether, making one wonder "have I made a mistake booking my room here?". But when once you enter the room, you realize that Hotel Mark is definitely a good choice. They have well appointed rooms and spacious and clean bathrooms. The hotel staff a efficient and helpful. It is definitely a good place to stay while on business in Kolkata.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chitra75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#45 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#75 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#175 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#53 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#44 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dee Empresa Hotel
Dee Empresa Hotel
#41 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Hotel

Address: 31 / 2 A Marquis Street | Beside Jamuna Banquets,, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $57 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing