We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, unkempt, and ridiculous service”
Review of Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mark Hotel
Ranked #145 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Seems reasonable at first glance, but....
Overpriced, unkempt, and ridiculous service.
Toilet room window faces building shaft - disgusting scene
We were harassed multiple times a day by the impatient receptionist/concierge about all sorts of issues - "What items have you consumed from the mini bar?",or " When will u leave the room so it can be cleaned etc?" etc'

Basically - India at its best

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leon_shira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkataMark, General Manager at Mark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Dear Patron,

It was very unfortunate that you had to face such issues at our hotel and we apologize for the same.
However, we now have placed basic amenities and individual geysers in all of our rooms to resolve the issues. We have also replaced old mattresses with new 10inch luxurious mattress for guest comfort. windows have been made air and sound tight for lesser outside noise. We have also put up a direct call button to the manager on every phone in all of the rooms. We now have professional and responsible front office staff who take full care of guest privacy and comfort.
Over these last few years we have come to understand the need of a guests and have done our best to re-earn valuable guest like yourself.

We thank you for your stay and hope you would continue your support.

General Manager.
Mark Hotel.
Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

The entrance of Hotel Mark does not do any justice to what lies within. The reception area is tiny, the elevator seems to be from a different era altogether, making one wonder "have I made a mistake booking my room here?". But when once you enter the room, you realize that Hotel Mark is definitely a good choice. They have well appointed rooms and spacious and clean bathrooms. The hotel staff a efficient and helpful. It is definitely a good place to stay while on business in Kolkata.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chitra75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

When we stayed at Mark it was brand new addition to the list of small and medium sized hotels in and around Kolkata's New Market. There was still work going in parts of it and the restaurant was under construction. So everything was fresh and clean but what struck us about the hotel was the contemporary decor and cosiness.
We stayed at one of the deluxe rooms and it was stylishly decorated with an LCD tv, not typical of hotels this size in my experience. The room was cozy and clean and the service excellent. We gorged on the yummy Bengali/Indian roomservice breakfasts every morning which were served in good quantity for a very small price. The staff was helpful and very service oriented and given that its a small hotel, well managed. The only minor complaint I had of the hotel was although they cleaned up the rooms very nicely, I felt that the bathrooms were only simply dried up and the thrash emptied and not really properly cleaned. However, this wasn't the case with the room as it was impeccably cleaned with the bed linen and everything else seeming as though they were freshly placed. The other plus-side of this hotel is the location. It's near the New Market and therefore close to all public transport, major shops/malls and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadtravellerWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

After searching through a rather disappointing selection of hotels in the Sudder St. area, we came upon this gem of a hotel, tucked away around the corner from the main street. The receptionist offered us a steal at 2100 for a room that turned out to be one of the nicest we've stayed at in India. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the bathroom was clean and modern- marble top counters and a proper shower! The cable TV and air conditioner were welcome respites after a long day of wandering around the city. Did I mention breakfast is also included? A great deal, and a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lacortedeisisanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dewittedirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#46 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayur Residency
Mayur Residency
#184 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Corporate
The Corporate
#177 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#49 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#69 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#65 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Hotel

Address: 31 / 2 A Marquis Street | Beside Jamuna Banquets,, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $68 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing