We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Times International
Ranked #132 of 361 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I just had a whim to stay in Kolkata on a weekend and enjoy the city where i did my college from. Did a backpacker holiday … and chose this hotel. The TImes International is international because it has many patron from Bangladesh who take the daily Kolkata - Dakha bus right outside the hotel. Otherwise nothing international.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Bathrooms could be cleaner, but the price is low enough to accept the state of the room. The air-conditioning and the television work fine and the rooms have a small refrigerator too.

The only down side is no food. Therefore you need to go outside to have food or you order. Unfortunately the area near the hotel is not that great, and though there are many eateries - hygiene can be a confer. The good news is that park street is just 10 min walk and there one can have great food.

Be aware that hotel is in a low lying are and if it rains then the place can be water logged for hours making travel very tough - and tougher still getting food.

Room Tip: there is not much choice for the rooms, but ask for a room that has wide windows, so that you get so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anirudh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 41 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

If you just want to crash at night only, nothing else, then its a great hotel, near to new market, and surrounded by restaurants nearby, clean rooms & bathrooms with value for money. Co-operative staffs and offers you late check-in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faisal021187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Although I was taken aback by the building of this hotel, the interior was pretty decent for the price of the room. The room had some kind of odor for which we got an air freshener sprayed. The washroom is strictly OK.
However the location is just 5 mins from Park Street which is the biggest advantage of this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Chaitik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel is located near Park Street, so it's very easy to reach the center. It's quite easy to find it, but a bit surprising because the nice hotel is in an old apartment. The manager was really nice and helped us call the taxi for the next early morning to go the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank HuongNHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have selected this hotel on basis of attached photographs and review of tripadvisor.com. When i reached at hotel, i am shocked and uneasy smell is coming from room as well as pillow, mattress are too old and very ugly look. peel-off of paint in Bathroom and no maintenance. I have seen only 1 receptionist, 1 security guard and 1 boy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Kartik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The staffs are friendly, but the hotel itself doesn't reveals the quality of the name International. Don't go with the looks in the photos attached here. Oriental, D.K International also similar other hotels are very close to this which gives the same feel with less price. Not recommended.
There is no restaurant within, once ordered they will bring the food from outside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Amd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had a gr8 stay with my wife. The service staff are well behaved and responsive as well. We a gr8 stay in this hotel. Even they didnt have food service the staff provided us the food as per the order.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Prabhat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.3 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#20 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
283 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#48 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
99 reviews
11.5 mi away
Vedic Village Spa Resort
Vedic Village Spa Resort
#18 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,190 reviews
1.1 mi away
OYO 867 Marina
OYO 867 Marina
#97 of 361 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Times International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Times International

Address: 23 Marquis Street | 2nd Floor, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 361 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $16 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Hotel Times International India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing