We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs galore”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Times International
Ranked #130 of 350 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hotel is well located, rooms comfortable and staff helpful. But unfortunately it suffers from the Calcutta curse -bedbugs.

This was the end of my holiday and I was looking forward to relaxing for a few days. Room 101 next to reception was being photographed for makemytrip and looked surprisingly clean. But after the first night I woke up covered in bedbug bites, I stopped counting after 40 bites. I packed up all my stuff and was moved to room no 102 later on. Room had a strong smell of the spray and I was assured it had killed all the bedbugs. Few minutes after getting into the room in the evening, the biting started again and it was easy to see the little buggers running for cover on the white sheets.. Well, time to pack up again and I was moved to room 112 on the 4th floor. Strong smell the spray there again but it seemed to have done the trick as I was not bitten.

In overview I would say, if you react strongly to bedbug bites or are afraid of carrying them back to your own home, avoid the hotel. Which is a great shame as otherwise it would be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lilli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 41 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is One of the Good Hotels in Economic Budget & They care for you.

Hotel Staffs are good. Easy for Check in -Check Out. Won't waste your time at all.

Only thing missing is that, they don't have inhouse Restaurent But Outside Hotels are just Road crossing apart.

I liked the Bed Tea a lot.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Ganeshwar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

a good budget hotel located in the heart of kolkata. it is actually located on the 2nd floor of an apartment like building. the exterior/ approach does not do justice to it. they should clean the staircase and approach to the floor. the inside of the hotel is quite good on the contrary and the staff was very helpful. on the whole, a good hotel for budget minded people located centrally

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Pranay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a very good budget hotel.
Good things were:
+ Very friendly staff
+ Clean hotel
+ Peaceful
+ You can get to see sparrows if you open the windows

Improvements (Would have rated 5 stars if not for these):
- There was pesticide smell in the room - we had to open the windows
- You need to call reception if you need the hot water heater to be switched on
- AC was quite old, didn't bother to try to switch it on

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank muthusuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you are concern of cleanliness, decent hotel with competitive rate advantage in budget category hotel in the heart of Kolkata city. The best choice would be The Times International. I went to Kolkata on January 2, 2013 and stayed in this hotel with my family. In a brief, the hotel outside looks not so impressive except large parking area and wide approach but inner interior is impressive including smiling welcome. Moreover, the owners (two brothers) are so helpful and courteous. In addition, the receptionist and the house keeping personnel are also courteous with smiley face. Most important point is that, in that neighborhood, I should recommend this hotel is the best hotel compare to other hotels including so-called three stars rated. We stayed in a triple bedroom in the 4th floor. The room had wonderful décor, 42 inch LCD TV, IDD Phone, wall cabinet, sofa, mini refrigerator etc. and bathroom had shower tray with geyser. Rate for the triple room was INR1900 including all tax. Double Room Rate was INR 1400 all-inclusive. However, due to limited of rooms and availability, it is always recommend for early reservation.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are better. However, one of their room do not have window. So make sure before che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zunaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We needed a place to stay for a few hours because we missed a train (the last one) to the next destination. Our cab driver suggested this place. For the dreadfully shabby exteriors, the hotel had surprisingly, a nicely done interiors (don't be fooled by the cover!). It is located in a dingy but busy locality. The person at the front desk made us sign in a huge register with all our details and showed us to the room which was old, spacious enough and clean. Bathroom was a let down and could have been cleaner (sorely needs refurbishing). The old TV had a lot more options than the one in the 5-star hotel we had stayed the previous day! We had to leave early the next day and found that the staff were all sprawled out in the lobby! But one person helped us check out fast. Overall, an ok place for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2pence_worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

As a delegate of science congress my stay in the hotel was really comfortable.Best value in terms of cleanliness & room service. More attention may be given towards walls & room accessories.One can select & book the hotel online for any purpose.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank BADAL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#174 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
154 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Eastern Plaza
Hotel Eastern Plaza
#172 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#15 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#40 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#61 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
187 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#21 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Times International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Times International

Address: 23 Marquis Street | 2nd floor, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700016, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 350 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $15 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Hotel Times International India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing