We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunflower Guest House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Taj Bengal Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$121
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swissotel Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$153
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Oberoi Grand(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$160
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Peerless Inn(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$85
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Kolkata Ballygunge(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$101
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Suites(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$166
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
42
107
79
25
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
107
79
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watersudder stold colonial buildingpeter catprivate bathroomrooms are basictop floorfantastic locationstayed for nightsmetro stationvictoria memorialbudget hotelguesthouseelevatorstreetparkmarket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 275 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Hotel location is great if you want to go to restaurants an go for shopping its all within walkable distance !availability of hot water is a plus point especially loved the roof top terrace where we can see a great view of Kolkata . the staff were very helpfull and friendly wished the elevator would be a little mordenised because callling for the lift man seemed a little burdensome but it does blend well with the old architectural structure of the building . ANY ways our family had a great time and would love to visit again .

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imsu j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

No doubt the hotels location is good and rooms are good. However, the staff behaves like govt. servant, they feel that after giving room they have done you a favor, ask for anything and they are not interested to respond

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
4  Thank atulsahai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Kolkata's key cultural attractions and recommended restaurants are all within walkable distances from the guesthouse. The rooms are well proportioned and the hot waters regularity is very much a positive point. The rooftop terrace offers pleasant panoramic views over Kolkata's skyline.

A key, negative point to add to these positives, however, has to be the staff's anti-sociability. They rarely greet you or make any attempt at initiating a conversation. I do have to say, however, that the man operating the vintage escalator is the exception as despite his lack of English, he always offered a friendly greeting. Other than him, the staff were unfriendly and unsociable. Do take this into consideration if you decide to stay here!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BangaloreBombom, Manager at Sunflower Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Aaron,
Greetings!
Thanks so much for the response. Yes indeed our place is extremely well located possibly the best location in Kolkata one could expect to stay in. The roof top garden with the green cover and beautiful view is a very pleasant break from the busy city and great place to unwind.
Regarding your feedback on our staff we take it seriously. Yes our lift man is a warm and welcoming person and liked by all. Our other staff are also very nice and hard working people. However as they are not very good in english they shy away from making a very small gesture like offering a smile and engaging in conversation. It doesnt mean they do not welcome our guests; they are all very keen to serve our guests to the best of their abilities. We have trained them to wish every guest.
Thanks for your feedback and we will certainly work on it.
Cheers!
Anirban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed in sunflower guest house for 3 nights & it was a nice different experience. You get that old nostalgic feel as soon as you enter the building. It has a very old elevator which does not have any floor buttons. It has a lever which is operated by a lift-man. This elevator(in India it is called "lift) does not have a shaft also... it is just a cabin with iron ropes attached to the counter-weigth on the other end. All this is visible from outside the lift cabin.
I even liked the sitting area up on the terrace with lot of plants all around. It is a awesome place for a quiet evening over a coffee.
As for rooms, they are not so great... but they are comfortable & clean.
I would also love to stay here again because of its close proximity to lot of branded shops, some of the best restaurants & a lot of pubs around in this area. If night-life is important in your holiday, than one has to be in this locality where Sunflower Guest House is....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Akbar Travels
Thank niravmht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BangaloreBombom, Manager at Sunflower Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Nirav,
Greetings!
Thanks for the wonderful feedback. It keeps us motivated and excited to serve our guests better.
Yes our location is like none other and the roof top garden very nice as well. We try to offer clean rooms and a nice stay for value for money in a great location. Our building architecture is quite liked by our guests and we try to preserve it as much as possible. Offering new world amenities with an old world charm at the out side is what we strive for.
Thanks once again.
Cheers!
Anirban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

i stayed in sunflower guesthouse for 13 nights in november 2013. the guesthouse has clean rooms and semi clean bathrooms. the bedsheets and towels are changed about once a week (as at home and not as in a hotel). the rooms are cleaned very basically (floor sweeping) only or on demand. sunflowers has clearly the standard of an ok guesthouse and not of a hotel. the breakfast is served in the room or the lobby (a room where everybody can sit on the third floor). it contains an omelet, 4 slices of toast, a banana and a cup of tea. the reception is on the 5th floor from where the videocams of the house are supervised. each floor is 'garded' by a boy who deals with all your requests eventhough they speak basic english only. as a women traveling alone i felt very safe in sunflower. the location is perfect since its only a 2 minute walk away from park street where you find mc donalds (severs breakfast as well), barrista, pizza hut, coffee day, subway and kfc as well as many delicious local food stands, travel agents and run down sudder street. would always go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BangaloreBombom, Manager at Sunflower Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Daniel,
Greetings!
Thanks for the review. It helps us stay motivated to serve our guests better.
Our target is always to offer great value for money, clean and reliable place to budget travellers and allow them to stay in a great location.
Good to know you enjoyed the stay.
Cheers!
Anirban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews