We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“neat and clean but far from public utilities”
Review of Hotel White Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel White Palace
Ranked #215 of 359 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Small hotel but very neat and clean.
Not a budgetary hotel.
good in case of emergency but very costly compared to other hotels.
Least tariff per night was 2200, which was very high compared to other nearby hotels.
But located in the center of the market area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NirdoshGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2010

Never go to this place ..the people here are very unfriendly and the rooms are disgraceful.. Give it a wide birth

Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
7  Thank onthegroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We only needed to stay in Calcutta for one night so went for this hotel as it was recommended in the lonely planet and near the airport. When we arrived we felt very uncomfortable, the manager on the desk was very rude, made us feel unwelcome and then over charged us for a filthy room. The room smelt terrible, had a toilet which had leaked all over the bathroom floor and dripped all night and the bed sheets very disgusting. Definitely one hotel to avoid like the plague!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneSouthEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Hi,
the only reason why we chose this hotel was the recommondations of Lonely Planet & that the hotel is very near to the Colcatta Airport - and as we had an very early flight we decided to stay there. It was the worst hotel of our 6 weeks journey through India - and it wasn't even cheap compared to other nice places. The facilities very dirty, dirty, dirty. The room: dirty, dirty, dirty. Really horrible. If you have the chance - choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magstk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

This hotel was reffered by one of my colleague. This hotel is very near to Kolkata Airport. This is a very low budget hotel in that Area. They Include complimentary Airport Pickup and Drop service in the tariff itself. Personally i felt bad after checking in the hotel. The facilities were not good. The Hotel was not clean. One of the reason for this may be due to renovation. Hope by this time it should be good. But i will not recommend this hotel on the basis of my past experience. I stayed there for one night and paid around 1000 Rs. for the same. but it is not worth for money hotel. Overall the experience of that Stay was terrible

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RohitMBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Sipi_304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.4 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#46 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
99 reviews
6.8 mi away
Vedic Village Spa Resort
Vedic Village Spa Resort
#21 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
692 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,185 reviews
7.5 mi away
OYO 867 Marina
OYO 867 Marina
#96 of 359 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
45 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel White Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel White Palace

Address: 28 / 1 Italgacha Rd, Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 359 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $24 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel White Palace 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel White Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Palace India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing