We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing South Indian Food !!!!”
Review of Hotel Homely Raj

Hotel Homely Raj
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Homely Raj
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This is a very old property of Kolkata and very well established. South Indian food lovers definately loves this place. It's one of the top five south Indian restaurant of Kolkata and the quality of the food is amazing. They have rooms also but I have not seen that so can't comment but for south Indian food I definately recommend this place to everybody.
Please try the Garlic bread also at this place it's awesome with mushrooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanchitagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 35 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

For Chennaities and Fellow South Indian's....this is a good choice as you will get to feel the ambience of chennai and tamil speaking crowd....the food is damn good! but sorry no north indian stuff available! i think they should introduce....it is difficult for a mumbaikar to stay with south indian food all the time...the rooms are ok...i would say ok interms of cleanliness! Service is prompt during day time...delay in the nights especially when you ask for water etc.,

Room Tip: Please go only if you like South Indian food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

happened to stay in homely raj for 4 days. The hotel was a decent one in the locality very near to jatindas metro with friendly staff (except few). we stayed in a AC room ( the AC was hardly cooling the room.. as we were away most of the time it wasn't a matter) The food was nice (but only south indian available !) and cheap ..... the problem is there is no food stalls in the locality... ..over all the ambiance, food and budget...homely raj scores far better than any other hotels in kolkata in its range..... to end in a happy note they gave us a 10 % discount with out even asking !!!

Room Tip: Can go for AC rooms but the AC s were old and hardly cools the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rajesh_chandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Excellent value for food and a southindian looking for that favourite rice and appalam
The ambience average but the food is fantastic. Even the hot idli is a wonder away in bonglandExcellent
The location reacheable by anyone,

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvraghuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Its just an apartment complex turned into hotel rooms.
Very average rooms.

Best south indian food you can find in calcutta and the the whole of West Bengal.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Suri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed there for seven days in this hotel during our week-long stay at Kolkata during Puja time. The hotel accomodation is good , the staff are very decent and the location is also well connected that we used to return by city-bus everyday late night to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SibsagarVish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Last fortnight, I went for a tour along with my family and parents for 15 days, visiting Bhubaneshwar, Konark, Puri, Kolkata and Guwahati.
At Kolkata we stayed at Hotel Homely Raj.
Positive things: [1] This hotel is clean and well maintained with spacious ac/non-ac rooms with cable TV, although the lobby/reception is too small. [2] The staff are very attentive. [3] Provides a very reliable 12 hour laundry service. [4] Each room is fitted with a geyser. [5] Clean linen [6] 2 newspapers at your door every day. [7] Five minutes walk from Jatin Das Park Metro station. [8] This hotel is a blessing in disguise for South Indians who cannot eat north Indian or Bengali food. The restaurant at the ground floor is one of the best south Indian restaurant of Kolkata. Although expensive, the food is as authentic and tasty as it is at Chennai. They also serve north Indian and Continental food.
Negative things: This hotel is 3 storeyed one without lift facility. There are no rooms on ground floor. It can be difficult for the elderly to climb up to the firs floor.
Other things to note: [1] Their checkout time is morning 8 A.M. [2] Keep a photocopy of your identity proof [PAN card, Driving license or Passport] when you check in. If you don't have one the receptionist takes your original ID proof and returns later. Although it is not that risky, I am paranoid about giving my original document to a stranger.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ramnath_prabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
7.4 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#46 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
99 reviews
12.9 mi away
Vedic Village Spa Resort
Vedic Village Spa Resort
#21 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
692 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,185 reviews
2.3 mi away
OYO 867 Marina
OYO 867 Marina
#96 of 359 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
45 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Homely Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Homely Raj

Address: 10/2 Manohar Pukar Road | Near Basusree Cinema, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700026, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 359 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $26 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Homely Raj 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hotel Homely Raj India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing