We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #74 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here for about 4 nights as we were visiting a friend in the neighbourhood. The hotel was good and our room was large. There was a safe in the room which was handy and staff were helpful. We checked out very early in the morning as we had an early flight and the night manager stayed with us on the street until our car arrived to pick us up which made us feel safe.
All the irons were broken so the staff had to send our clothes down the street to be ironed. This was inconvenient because we were in a hurry to get to an event.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPeterandMrLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    10
    9
    6
See reviews for
12
8
8
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The hotel cleanness is perfect.
Space is good,
We are getting experience of old edge room.
The hotel is located in heart of city so office is near by city then very good location but it is far away from airport and it takes 2 to 3 hrs which is not ok

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBHIMANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta - Kolkata
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This business hotel is extremely well located. Very courteous and knowledgeable staff. The rooms are a bit small but ok as business travelers like me spend most of the time outside. Only come back to sleep. Also had a small meeting with my customers in their banquet hall. This was well managed. Their chinese food is out of this world. never tasted like this anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parthakundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auroville, India
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

I have stayed at this property twice. It is in a good South Calcutta location with rooms that have everything albeit that the rooms are small. The price is relatively good value. But they have some basic problems. Getting connected to the internet really requires the presence of their IT Manager at that only happens in business hours. I also find that the some of the front desk staff are poorly informed about the property and available services to the point that I was mislead and inconvenienced concerning the hot water supply and alse the provision of an iron and ironing board. This was componded by the staff not being entirely truthful about their actions. I have had email from management who say they will address these matters but I checked out prematurely due to these problems. It is a new property but it's old enough not to go through these basic problems.

  • Liked — room facilities
  • Disliked — poor services
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank npk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
2.8 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#18 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
275 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#48 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Roland Hotel
Roland Hotel
#42 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Regenta Orko's Kolkata by Royal Orchid Hotels Ltd
Regenta Orko's Kolkata by Royal ...
#26 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
272 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ethnotel
Ethnotel
#28 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
180 reviews
9.4 mi away
Pipal Tree Hotel
Pipal Tree Hotel
#20 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: 174 Sarat Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700029, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing