We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked well for transit stay”
Review of Shivangan Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shivangan Hotels
Ranked #155 of 357 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here with our toddler and though the elevator is really old, small and creaky it got us to the room ok. The staff was very helpful and airport pick up and drop off as arranged. The location isn't great but then with easy access to the airport you can't complain much. We had some breakfast in the room which was quite decent. Rooms and bathroom were clean. Basic amenities with A/C. It was alright for one night or transit for a few hours.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank habari12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 44 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to come upon this hotel at night (booked ahead) as it was festooned for a marriage banquet. The deluxe room w breakfast did not disappoint. Small, but decorated in wood tones, it was perfect for a one night before heading out to the airport the next morning. The room was clean, bedsheets new, and AC and hot water worked comfortably. Breakfast comes thru room service, and one has the option of about 4-6 sets. We thought roti was just four slices but it came with ample curry to go with it. Also has a menu one can order from if you don 't want to go downstairs. Otherwise, there seem to be shops in the vicinity. We just didn't explore as it was a transit--it's about a 15 min taxi ride from the airport. Taxis abound in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here on two separate stays in January when I needed to be near the airport. This small hotel is only about a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport. It occupies the second floor in an apartment building on the VIP Road in Baguiati. The VIP Road is very noisy and dusty, and there is a flyover construction project underway. Thankfully, most of the rooms face away from the road, but you will not be fully insulated from the noise.

Receptionist seemed rather grumpy and check-in was cumbersome (some hotels will fill out the government forms for you - not the case here).

On my first stay, I was in a standard room, which was clean, albeit somewhat threadbare and worn. Second stay later in the month was in a deluxe room, which was definitely a cut above the first room. Beds are very hard. Towels that were originally white are now gray. You have a 50/50 chance of getting a towel without asking. The hotel only has about 6 rooms, so despite what room type you reserve there is no guarantee that you will get two twin beds or one king bed. Another quirk: Some of the staff sleep in the large common room that you pass through on the way to your room.

No restaurant, but there is complimentary breakfast via room service (masala omelette, toast and tea). No wifi - to get internet access, you have to cross the VIP road to an internet cafe.

Bottom line: If you need a place near the airport that is basic and clean but without a lot of frills, this should fill the bill. If you do not need to stay near the airport then consider other options.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hrza04a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

hotel shivangan is located near to Airport, with bus stop near by. So it was easy to reach the place. Neat rooms, good room service. food was tasty and economic. courteous staff. my son & me had a good time. Thank u.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Merlin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is only 15 - 20 minutes drive to the airport. Checking in was quick. We stayed there for a night to catch our flight next morning. The reception is on the 2nd floor. The lift was very old and small, with not having enough space for three persons and some luggages. The room was good with air conditioner running and hot and cold water in the bathroom. There was a small balcony attached to the room. They don't have a running restaurant but arrange foods and snacks from nearby restaurant. The front office and other service persons were really helpful. The breakfast served was good. Overall a good budget airport hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank payer_tolay_sorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at Shivangan for three nights as part of a wedding party, and therefore the entire logistics of out stay was handled by our hosts. The lift leading to the upper floors dates to the Raj days and is in dire need of replacement. The rooms were quite clean and well maintained, perhaps due to a recent renovation, but the use of vitrified tiles here can be quite dangerous due to the slipperiness. Also, the water pressure in the top floor is abysmally low and one has to wait for tens of minutes for a bucket of water to fill, let alone take a shower. At least for me, this was a major turn-off.
The service, however, was excellent. Although there is no attached restaurant, the hotel organizes food and beverages from a nearby hotel and very quickly at that. The quality of the food served - both with room service and at the banquet was fantastic. Very close to the Airport, City Center mall and Salk lake area, I'd recommend this hotel for short stays, although I must warn that the expectations better be a bit low.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of busy VIP road may provide some relief from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pannags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived at Kolkata at 11:00 pm and there was our driver organised by the hotel with a sign so it was easy to find him. A short drive (10 minutes) and we were at the hotel.
Entrance is a bit interesting, as the hotel is actually on the second floor of the building above a banquet centre.
A small lift takes you to reception and the paperwork commences.
We had some issues getting the night reception staff to understand us, but soon got to our room.
Clean and comfortable, but still woke up too early due to the timezone change (4.5 hours in our case).
Breakfast served in our room was the standard omelet etc, but all freshly cooked and nice.
Then we got dropped off back at the airport for next flight to Bagdogra.
All in all, a good place to stay if you are basically just connecting overnight and don't want to pay top rates.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oceang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.4 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#55 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
100 reviews
6 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,148 reviews
6.3 mi away
Vedic Village Spa Resort
Vedic Village Spa Resort
#19 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,225 reviews
5.8 mi away
OYO 867 Marina
OYO 867 Marina
#96 of 357 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
45 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 250 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivangan Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivangan Hotels

Address: Kolkata (Calcutta) Nazrul Islam Avenue V I P Road | Jora Mandir, Baguiati, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700059, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 357 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $31 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shivangan Hotels 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shivangan Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivangan Hotels India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing