We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shivangan & Zo Rooms
Ranked #148 of 343 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“had a good time”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

hotel shivangan is located near to Airport, with bus stop near by. So it was easy to reach the place. Neat rooms, good room service. food was tasty and economic. courteous staff. my son & me had a good time. Thank u.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
5
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Patna, India
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is only 15 - 20 minutes drive to the airport. Checking in was quick. We stayed there for a night to catch our flight next morning. The reception is on the 2nd floor. The lift was very old and small, with not having enough space for three persons and some luggages. The room was good with air conditioner running and hot and cold water in the bathroom. There was a small balcony attached to the room. They don't have a running restaurant but arrange foods and snacks from nearby restaurant. The front office and other service persons were really helpful. The breakfast served was good. Overall a good budget airport hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank payer_tolay_sorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at Shivangan for three nights as part of a wedding party, and therefore the entire logistics of out stay was handled by our hosts. The lift leading to the upper floors dates to the Raj days and is in dire need of replacement. The rooms were quite clean and well maintained, perhaps due to a recent renovation, but the use of vitrified tiles here can be quite dangerous due to the slipperiness. Also, the water pressure in the top floor is abysmally low and one has to wait for tens of minutes for a bucket of water to fill, let alone take a shower. At least for me, this was a major turn-off.
The service, however, was excellent. Although there is no attached restaurant, the hotel organizes food and beverages from a nearby hotel and very quickly at that. The quality of the food served - both with room service and at the banquet was fantastic. Very close to the Airport, City Center mall and Salk lake area, I'd recommend this hotel for short stays, although I must warn that the expectations better be a bit low.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of busy VIP road may provide some relief from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pannags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived at Kolkata at 11:00 pm and there was our driver organised by the hotel with a sign so it was easy to find him. A short drive (10 minutes) and we were at the hotel.
Entrance is a bit interesting, as the hotel is actually on the second floor of the building above a banquet centre.
A small lift takes you to reception and the paperwork commences.
We had some issues getting the night reception staff to understand us, but soon got to our room.
Clean and comfortable, but still woke up too early due to the timezone change (4.5 hours in our case).
Breakfast served in our room was the standard omelet etc, but all freshly cooked and nice.
Then we got dropped off back at the airport for next flight to Bagdogra.
All in all, a good place to stay if you are basically just connecting overnight and don't want to pay top rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oceang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel Shivangan is conveniently located on the VIP road, about 10-15 min drive from the airport. Although from the outside the hotel may not appear very alluring, however the rooms are comfortable and ABSOLUTE value for money. Rooms are clean, comfortable, bathrooms are well furnished, the staff pretty helpful. The restaurant is average, however Kolkatta provides u enough choices on the street so that shudn scare anyone off... I recommend it to u all.... Hope u enjoy Kolkatta....!!!

Room Tip: The cheapest room is comfortable enough so dont spend any more money.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sachin_103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I had booked the hotel as we needed to spend just a few hours in the night in Kolkata while we were travelling between our international and domestic flight.
Rupees 1850 for the Room and breakfast was a good price. The hotel is about 10 to 15 minutes only from the Kolkata airport. It is right on the main road but the hotel lobby is a few floors up. This means if you arrive like us in the middle of the night you have to wake the reception people up. Yes the security guard on the road level will help but he also had trouble waking the reception people up!
But once we were in out room it was not bad. It was clean and the Air condition was working well along with the fan. The Tv although did not work in our room. The toilet was big and clean.
In the morning got woken up by the person taking the breakfast order. we tried the indian and western choice. Both were good and service prompt but the tea was a bit dissapointing! I think it was due to the milk that they used. Instead of fresh milk they had used powder milk. Still over all a good few hours rest. If I was travelling by myself and arriving in the middle of the night I would not be comfortable here. If I have my husband with me then I would use this hotel again because of the good price and location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherpafamilyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed 1 night each trip. Arrived late night, kitchen was closed, Reception suggested nearby restaurant 10mins walk. Hotel's facing main road, very very DUSTY and noisy. Shopping or strolling anywhere is OUT. Renovation's ongoing so quite messy & dirty at entrance. Lift takes 3pax max (old-fashioned lift where you have to close the metal grating before lift goes up/down) or you walk up 3 flights of stairs with your luggage. Rooms clean, bathroom quite cramped but room service was fast. I must say their staff were very patient in accommodating our requests at the breakfast table!! Airport about 15mins drive, provided traffic's "clear". Good enough for those on transit stops or short lay-overs.

Room Tip: Bring face-masks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starry-nite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.1 mi away
Geetanjali Regency
Geetanjali Regency
#79 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
O2 Hotel
O2 Hotel
#59 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eastern Plaza
Hotel Eastern Plaza
#162 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Maureen
The Maureen
#107 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
24 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Majestic Suites
The Majestic Suites
#34 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ethnotel
Ethnotel
#29 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivangan & Zo Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivangan & Zo Rooms

Property: Shivangan & Zo Rooms
Address: Nazrul Islam Avenue(VIP Road) | Jora Mandir, Baguiati, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700059, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shivangan & Zo Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Shivangan & Zo Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivangan & Zo Rooms India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing