We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in the heart of Kolkata”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Esplanade Chambers
Ranked #113 of 324 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay in the heart of Kolkata”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was the first time our family have stayed in the Chandni Chowk - Esplanade zone and we love the hotel. Aftab and his crew at reception were super friendly and always helpful without being pushy. The rooms were spotless and everything worked - plenty of hot water, great WiFi and tv. Lots of cheap food options nearby as well as more up market value restaurants like Anand. The metro is a minute away and works great especially as we had a group of six travelling. All up highly recommended.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms adjacent to reception albeit did get a bit noisy occasionally
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    48
    30
    5
    15
See reviews for
15
31
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Kolkata as a city, doesn't receive many tourists. Because of this, I think, its quite difficult to find a "hotel" or accommodation with standards you'd get in Delhi, Bangkok or any other place that actively attracts tourists and has to maintain a certain standard. This hotel was, similar to another hotel we stayed in Kolkata, quite dirty. Dusty floors, and the person who took our bags to the room wore his shoes in doing so. Maybe you're expected to sleep with your shoes on. Place is noisy, the night we slept there we could hear sounds from the corridor, workers there were conversing loudly with each other and I could hear sounds from a game someone was playing on their phone. In the morning, the outside area is abuzz quite early. Toilet is filthy, what I'd imagine a toilet in a jail cell would look like. The good parts: unwavering wi-fi, efficient front-desk.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Al Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was my first stay here and I would definitely return. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean. I checked out at about 10 a.m. and they stored the luggage for me for when I returned in the evening to take my late flight out. I was also able to pay a small charge to use a room at that stage to re-pack and shower before heading to the airport. Located tvery close to two of the metro stations (Esplanade and Chandni Chowk). If coming in a taxi the Gypsy Hotel may also be known and is in the same building so they may know that too - as is down a small lane/alley.

Room Tip: Some rooms will be noisier than others as some face the street BUT hello..this is Kolkata and noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Getting there:
After arriving at kolkata, took a prepaid taxi (Rs 100) from howrah station to esplanade area. Gave the hotel location address to the driver but he was not aware of it. We asked a few people after reaching esplanade area but they also did not had any idea. Then I connected to the hotel staff and he provided directions to the driver.

The hotel surrounding:
The hotel is off the main road and in a shabby street. If you are with your family, as I was, you are bound to be worried with the environment and surrounding. Not sure why this hotel has such good reviews.

The hotel:
The hotel in the 2nd floor and there is a strange looking elevator that you have to be on to get into the hotel. The elevator can anytime break down. The reception had the manager named Aftab, who is a good guy and provides answers to your queries.

The room:
But the room had lot to desire of. It was small and had a balcony looking into the street. The bathroom was decent but the biggest worry is the amount of noise that your get in the night. The kind of people making noise in the night will ensure you have sleepless nights.

Good things:
The chandni chowk metro is nearby and there is a good veggie restaurant named 'Anand' where in you could savor some south indian food.

The breakfast:
The morning breakfast is complimentary where in you can either opt for bread omelette or puri bhajji. But not of the best quality.

Overall Experience:
All in all not a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajesh_Patnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is at the 2nd and 3rd floor of an old building within a very convenient location near Chandny Chowk metro station and Central Avenue, and out (but not so far) of the backpacker/hustlers area around Sudder street. The inside is simple but clean and sobre, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast served in the room is included. Although it is more expensive than budget hotels around Sudder street, it is way cleaner and confortable. Good value for money!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene-abd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel is good all in all and can be stayed in for a long or a short duration. The staff is very friendly, specially so the manager. Even during peak season, the service is very fast and prompt, something not seen anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlaamato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you can look past the narrow entrance and the funny elevator then it is a great place to stay. The room was small but adequate for 2 people . I think they have bigger rooms but they were already booked as we went during the durga pooja season. The TV and AC were functional and worked just fine. The bathroom was clean and shower was better than i expected. The location of the hotel was great as the metro station is just a 5 mins walk away.
The hotel manager Mr. Aftab was very helpful as he gave the driving directions to our cab driver and checkin process was smooth and swift. The hotel staff is was amicable too.
Overall its a great option for travelers on a budget!

P.S. - I have one suggestion. Right now one can only book a deluxe room on makemytrip website, please make provisions so that the executive rooms can be booked online too.

Room Tip: Opt for executive rooms as they much more spacious and worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prashant_sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
5.3 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#40 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treebo Diamond Plaza
Treebo Diamond Plaza
#72 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#46 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dee Empresa Hotel
Dee Empresa Hotel
#61 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marina Hotel & Restaurant
Marina Hotel & Restaurant
#97 of 324 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cecil
Hotel Cecil
#22 of 324 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade Chambers

Property: Hotel Esplanade Chambers
Address: 2 Chandney Chowk Street | 2nd Floor, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700072, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 324 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Esplanade Chambers 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central kolkata ,Esplanade Chambers is a neat and clean BUDGET hotel .Offering complimentary breakfast and high speed internet connection .All the rooms are aircondditioned and bathrooms have running hot water.We are two minutes walk from Chandney Metro Station and very near to the various tourist spots of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Esplanade Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Esplanade Chambers India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing