We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Esplanade Chambers
Ranked #157 of 346 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Although the hotel is situated in a busy street , a calm ambience prevails inside the rooms.A decent hotel with affordable price to stay in a metro city. Amicable Staff is a plus. Adequate amenities are available with a well cleaned rooms and toilet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rajiv41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naushina j, Owner at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

thank you for your appreciation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Esplanade Chambers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 125 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff were so friendly and kind. They did all kinds of things for us that we needed help with which they didn´t have to do. They were just brilliant. The rooms were clean and tidy, they were not modern but they were fine. it was quite noisy but Kolkata is a very noisy city. The location was great as it was centrally located and also close to the metro. There were many restaurants nearby. The wifi signal was very good. There was plenty of hot water for showering. There was breakfast service where they would come to your room in the morning and ask what you would like and then they would bring it to your room. It was very prompt and lovely of them. We had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naushina j, Owner at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

thank you for appreciating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

i booked this hotel because my late flight. location of this hotel is not convinent, though near the metro.room is not clean and neat. price is higher than average. i will not stay here again, there are many choices in sudder street.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikayao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naushina j, Owner at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

i am sorry to note your stay was not comfortable ,we will try harder to address to your points made .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have stayed at Esplanade Chambers twice on visits to Kolkata and wanted to add a review for anyone looking for a reasonably-priced and comfortable place to stay in the city. The hotel is located on Chandni Chowk Street near a metro station. Rooms are on the second and third floors of the building.
Both times I have stayed at the hotel I have been very impressed by the staff. They are very helpful and polite and have gone out of their way to accommodate me. I have stayed in a room just across from the reception desk with a king-sized bed, sofa and coffee table, flat-screen television and large bathroom. The a/c has worked fine but in the cooler month of January I was usually quite happy to just open the window for some fresh air. Wireless internet worked fine. The room was clean and complimentary breakfast is served every morning.
Management was happy to arrange airport pick-up and drop-off and the location can't be beat. Easy walk to Chowringhee or just take the metro or taxi anywhere you want to go. The Gypsy Restaurant on the street level serves good and inexpensive meals.
I think Esplanade Chambers is a great little hotel and would stay there again any time I'm in Kolkata.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naushina j, Owner at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for appreciating the hotel, staff and their efforts to make your stay comfortable .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This guesthouse was recommended to me by friends and the staff provided an excellent service. The central location means that it is easy to get about the city, with the Metro station being only 2 minutes away. The room was neat and clean and breakfast was provided promptly each morning. There was good wifi coverage in the rooms. The manager was incredibly helpful and knowledgable about the city and always seemed to be available. The airport transfer they organised was a blessing and they even coordinated with me when my flight was 12 hours delayed to ensure that the driver was there to collect me. Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonKET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A bit hard to find as the taxi driver from the airport had no idea where it was. After asking many people we arrived. Kind of a poor neighborhood but once upstairs the rooms were decent. Wifi worked good and the tv had many channels. Great location as right next to a subway station which can take you to many places in the city.

Room Tip: Not sure which rooms are better then others.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcallinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

thanks to some good reviews on this forum,we decided to stay at this hotel on our way back from bangkok.the first impression of the hotel was poor due to its location on the second floor in a very crowded market.even the lift was not working at that time.a couple of people on the ground floor offered to take our bags upstairs as noone from the hotel was present on the ground floor.after checking in we were shown to a neat and clean room.the ac did not seem to be very cold but the manager mr aftab assured us that it would be fine after some time.
we left for lunch and tried anand restaurant for some very nice south indian food.mr aftab had recommended this nice restaurant.he is very knowledgeable and friendly person who gives best advice without any self interest.
after returning back to the hotel we found that the ac had become better.the hotel is very convenient as a base for visiting victoria memorial,birla planetarium,park street,new market,eden gardens.chandni chowk metro station is very close by from where one can see most places in kolkata for just 4 rupees tickets by metro
breakfast was simple but tasty.they also kept our bags in safe custody till 4pm after we got back from sightseeing
all in all a very reasonable and good option to stay in kolkata if you are on a budget.some improvements in receiving guests from the ground floor would be my humble suggestion.thanks guys for a nice stay

Room Tip: take the larger rooms for a couple of hundred more
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cooldoc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naushina j, Owner at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

sir ,thank your for appreciating us , we are taking note and trying to implement your suggestions .
we appreciate your feedback ,and will try to improve the points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
5.3 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#48 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#54 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treebo Diamond Plaza
Treebo Diamond Plaza
#90 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,663 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Trimoorti
Hotel Trimoorti
#51 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
233 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#20 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade Chambers

Address: 2 Chandney Chowk Street | 2nd Floor, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700072, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 346 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $24 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Esplanade Chambers 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central kolkata ,Esplanade Chambers is a neat and clean BUDGET hotel .Offering complimentary breakfast and high speed internet connection .All the rooms are aircondditioned and bathrooms have running hot water.We are two minutes walk from Chandney Metro Station and very near to the various tourist spots of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Esplanade Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Esplanade Chambers India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing