We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Esplanade Chambers
Ranked #157 of 346 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed 1 night on our way out of India, after a 3 week trip. The rooms need painting but are otherwise clean -- more than can be said for many other hotels in India. Breakfast was included in our price -- but there's no restaurant, we just ate in our rooms -- you get 2 eggs and 2 pieces of toast with butter and the universal red jam. The free wifi worked well. Manager an staff are helpful. We also kept one room until 7pm the second day for half price, and used that to shower and change for our late night flights home. By Indian standards, this was a good place. Gate #3 to the Chandni Chowk Metro station is only about 50 m away. However, the hotel is down a small street and our taxi driver from Howrah station had trouble finding it, even while talking on the phone with the manager.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank RobertTheRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naushina j, Owner at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking time to pen down a review for us ,We have completed paint work of the rooms ,hoping to make them pleasant ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Esplanade Chambers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 125 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have to say that I was initially rather taken aback by the not-so-grand entrance to the hotel. This hotel has a lobby that is situated on the second floor of an old building. To access it, you have to take a turn from the main street into a narrow side alley on the ground floor and turn into yet another narrow pathway before taking a narrow elevator upwards. Some other cheaper hotels actually have better access and a proper ground floor lobby.

Also, the rooms that we got on the second floor are quite dark and with furnitures that are rather aged. They unfortunately don't look quite as nice or has a view as good as those rooms shown in the hotel website at all. The hotel has gone to great length to show their best side to potential guests on their own website, and I would call that you check out the photos taken by other tourists as well to set a better expectation of the condition of the place.

On a more positive light, I was absolutely happy with the staff, who were attentive, polite and friendly. The location of the hotel is away from the main tourist area, which is good if you're the type that loves to explore life as a local, and is also very near to a metro station.

However, for this price range, there are definitely many other options that you can explore that provides the same level of service.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors for better views and brighter rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heartpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naushina j, Owner at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Hello,
thank you for taking out time to write a review for our establishment .
I have noted your views carefully ,unfortunately many things like the entrance and passage leading to the guesthouse is beyond our control ,We are situated in the the old part of kolkata ,many of the buildings in this area were build pre independence ,hence we can see so much character in these areas .
Chandney where our guesthouse is situated is the main business district and hub of electronic market and companies,There are many monuments and landmarks all walking distance around this area .
We will be obliged if you can email me the details of your visit and room no . so that we can take necessary steps to improve it .
it is true we do not have the modern 5 star style beds and quality of furniture, but befits a budget hotel as we advertise ourselves ,.
many of the old furniture is burma teak and antique pieces. we strive to keep our place neat and clean ,with clean sheets and towels and of course only the very good and friendly staff for the comfort of our guests ,this is our USP. good service and clean surroundings.
Many of our foreign guests like the character and the feel of the local city. which our area and guesthouse offers

regards
Mrs Jabar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This guest house is run by an amazing manager named Aftab who was unfailingly responsive, polite and helpful. Large rooms, hot water and occasional furniture. Aftab arranged an airport pickup(we rang him before we left home) and recommended nearby restaurants which were great. Like StuartBalkham, I am surprised by negativity...Kolkata cannot be compared to other destinations in terms of value etc. You get a realistic experience staying here and apart from street dogs howling at an invisible moon it is relatively quiet at night. Go to the Oberoi Grand for morning tea and remind yourselves of why you are really traveling in India. It is 1 min walk from the efficient (and cheap) metro but you can walk to Park St etc if you wish.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenniemci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naushina j, Owner at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Hello ,
A simple thank you for writing the review .we do our best to make our guests comfortable .
It feels nice when our great city which is very dear to all calcuttans is appreciated .
and of course our efforts to make your stay memorable .

best regards
Mrs Jabar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family stayed in the largest deluxe room with 2 extra fold up beds - 4 singles in total. As well the room had two small couches, coffee tables and a wardrobe and did not feel cramped. The fold up beds were particularly hard - a problem we frequently encountered in India. The room was clean, the water hot, and it was quiet. Staff were really friendly and helpful. We liked eating nearby at Anand for veg and the Broadway Hotel for non veg/veg. Considering the prices for accommodation in Kolkata I thought this was a good budget choice for families in an interesting area. Subway next door was easy to use.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunbird2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naushina j, Owner at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for your appreciation .We are happy your stay was comfortable ,We are indeed looking at options to make the spare beds more comfortable . i thank you for your input .

best regards
Mrs Jabar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I'm astonished by some of the negative reviews on here since my wife and I had such a good experience at Esplanade Chambers - to the extent that I wonder whether they are talking about the same place... Perhaps it is erratic, but we found a good value, clean and well run hotel during our five night stay in December.

Firstly, our room was enormous, clean and had a great shower. We stayed in a handful of hotels across India and another in Kolkata and this was by far the best value. Aftab the manager was very helpful and friendly and the staff were always polite and eager to please. They helped us with a number of requests which were slightly out of the ordinary, including receiving a package which had to be kept refrigerated and bringing us tea after the kitchen had closed.

The location is slightly out of the tourist centre of the city but within walking distance of many of the sights and just a few metres from the metro station.

We didn't use the AC but there was plenty of hot water, a big TV and excellent wifi which is something of a rarity in budget hotels. For the price, I simply don't think you will find anything better in central Kolkata. If you want luxury, go elsewhere, but if you want good, clean, quality budget hotel, Esplanade Chambers ticks all the boxes for me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palitha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naushina j, Owner at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

A simple thank you for your vote of appreciation.


best regards
Mrs Jabar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at hotel Esplanade Chambers for three nights in December 2012. The hotel is on a small side-street and a little difficult to find. Our taxi driver could not find the hotel and dropped us off at the nearest main intersection. We got lost trying to find the hotel, and it was frustrating trying to navigate the crowded streets with our luggage. Fortunately we ran into a Thai tourist who knew the location of the hotel because he stayed there for one night before switching to another hotel because he thought this hotel was too grubby. The hotel rooms could use a good scrubbing. The walls are dirty and the sheets have a permanent dirt washed into them. The mattresses are thin foam on a wood slab. The rooms on the street are noisy due to traffic, although the traffic noise gets quiet from around 10:00 pm until about 7:00 am. The interior rooms are a little quieter. The manager is friendly and he went out of his way to accommodate us. He let us change to a quieter room part-way through our stay. We also needed to have an early breakfast, and the manager let us have our breakfast at the requested time. The breakfast is delivered to your room and included an omelet, toast, and tea or coffee. The rest of the hotel staff was also friendly and helpful. The A/C worked fine and had no problem getting hot water (although the water is not super hot). If you’re looking for a clean, western-style hotel, then go to a more expensive hotel. But if you’re looking for something basic and a good value, this place is barely tolerable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan-and-Emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Terrible experience. I am a seasoned traveler in India. This place combines rudness of staff, tendency to cheat, very poor and noisy rooms, lack of facilities of all sort, dirty rooms at high price. The only good thing is that it is central. But you can find much better. Do not ask for food: it is dirty and they will present you a unbelievable high bill.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kocchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naushina j, Owner at Hotel Esplanade Chambers, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

hello your review is very disturbing .in my long experience of running my establishment .this is indeed the first complaint /review regrding over billing ,rudeness and above all cheating .
please send me an email to regarding the above mentioned . i will transfer your full paid amounts back to you .

best regards
Mrs Jabar
owner .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
5.3 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#50 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#53 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treebo Diamond Plaza
Treebo Diamond Plaza
#92 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,638 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Trimoorti
Hotel Trimoorti
#51 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
232 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#19 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade Chambers

Address: 2 Chandney Chowk Street | 2nd Floor, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700072, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 346 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $24 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Esplanade Chambers 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central kolkata ,Esplanade Chambers is a neat and clean BUDGET hotel .Offering complimentary breakfast and high speed internet connection .All the rooms are aircondditioned and bathrooms have running hot water.We are two minutes walk from Chandney Metro Station and very near to the various tourist spots of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Esplanade Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Esplanade Chambers India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing