We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homely :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Esplanade Chambers
Ranked #158 of 364 Kolkata (Calcutta) B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 1, 2012

A great budget hotel. Had been some days back. Proximity to the Chandini Chowk Metro station. Good staff especially the manager was very kind. Highly recommended. Free breakfast is again a plus point for free-bees ;)
You pay moderate amount a get quite good food too.
Cozy bed
privacy emphasized
hearty placed within the tech shops

Room Tip: I had a solo room on the 3rd floor. was kinda well accessible via the lift (I accept was a bit small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarthakron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 126 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was clean. Service was friendly and helpful. Aftab was an excellent hotel manager.

Was a little on the expensive side compared to other places especially Sudder Street.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatDearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

this hotel was booked by my group manager for a couple of days .
we arrived early morning . thankfully the rooms were ready for us ,checking in took a couple of minutes and we were shown the rooms .clean bedseets and towels ,the individual geezers were on to provide hot water instantly .the room it self was spacious and clean .the bathroom definately larger than most budget hotels in kolkata , no cockroaches or bedbugs or foul smell
the staff was helpful and the breakfast which was included simple and fresh provided promptly.
overall a good and refreshing start to the hetic work schedule we had .
the renovated rooms looked nice with large mirrors and all.
many resturants are around the hotel ,so good food was not a problem .though the waiters offered to order food for us ,
the only advantage/disadvantage is that it is right in the middle of the office areas ,so crowded during the day ,otherwise travelling to other parts is easy as taxis and auto are easily available.
recommended for comfortable and hassle free stay.

Room Tip: book in advance ,seems like a busy place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights before leaving India after a 5 month trip.
Room was clean, bed was comfortable, shower was excellent and staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed 5 days in the hotel and I am very pleased with both the room, the reception, the food, etc. While I stayed here, they were renovating and builing new rooms next to mine - a bit noisy but only in the daytime. My room had a balcony facing the cosy Chandi Chowk street. A few minor cleaning issues, but nothing worth complaining about. Staff are so friendly, always ready to help you the best way they can. The fact that this place have free WiFi and breakfast is so nice. It's not the cheapest place, but my experience here was so nice. Definitly recommendable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This hotel has a very good location and is clean enough. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. You might fight a cheaper place in Sudder Street but you won't do anything wrong by booking this one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

i visited the establishment in feb on a business trip.
i checked into the executive room .i was a little concerned as it was the first time i was staying here ...but fears were unfounded .i stayed for 10 days
the friendly staff with professional work,my needs were met instantly even when i requested an order from far away resturant.the bed sheets were spotless and so were the towels ,
the toilet was big and with a clean round tub ,with no water shortage i enjoyed the facility .
the executive room comes with sofa set ,i checked the double rooms as well they were smaller .
the hotel brand of soap and shampoo was good .
above all the room was peaceful and matress was soft for a restful sleep
The only drawback was the small entrance to the building .otherwise the room tarrif ( 2000 )would have been higher!!!
free breakfast and bed tea was also an added attraction.

Room Tip: choose the executive rooms if you want like home feel.talso they are situated at the back so no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busymanBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
5.2 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#55 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
101 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Camac Plaza
Hotel Camac Plaza
#206 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
23 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
OYO 867 Marina
OYO 867 Marina
#100 of 364 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
45 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Esteem
Hotel Esteem
#23 of 364 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
117 reviews
1 mi away
Sunflower Guest House
Sunflower Guest House
#32 of 364 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade Chambers

Address: 2 Chandney Chowk Street | 2nd Floor, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700072, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $24 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Esplanade Chambers 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central kolkata ,Esplanade Chambers is a neat and clean BUDGET hotel .Offering complimentary breakfast and high speed internet connection .All the rooms are aircondditioned and bathrooms have running hot water.We are two minutes walk from Chandney Metro Station and very near to the various tourist spots of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Esplanade Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Esplanade Chambers India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing