We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good cleaning system would turn this place into a real gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Ranked #18 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good cleaning system would turn this place into a real gem.”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed there in the Old Kemilworth ie Purdy's Inn in November 2009 for 3 weeks. The location is good and the staff are really pleasant. They even provided a second mattress when my husband found the original too hard. the rooms are wonderfully large.


Three concerns: despite booking a room on the upper level, when we arrived late at night, it was not ready, so we spent the night in a ground floor room, not really a problem except it seemed like it hadn't been cleaned for months...the bathroom was quite foul.


Second issue is the general standard of cleanliness, which was not too high. I'm not sure if the owner actually does spot inspections of his staff's efforts but I suggest that wouldn't be a bad idea for him to consider.


Last issue was that early on, the owner told us that he wouldn't charge us for breakfast because our stay was of some length. Despite that we were in fact charged for all our breakfasts at the end (we had the identical meal each AM, two fried eggs on toast, a coconut and coffee). We didn't raise the issue as overall we had enjoyed our contact with him, his family and his staff, I've just raised it now as a caution to formalise any such offers. We have chosen to believe that it was a lapse of memory on his part, as he seems a genuine sort of person.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrysalis52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    269
    81
    12
    23
See reviews for
64
70
43
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Got to know of this wonderful boutique hotel in the heart of the city, thanks to which we greatly saved on our local conveyance costs.

Rooms are a good size with all amenties expected from better star hotel, compete with LCD TVs, in room safes, tea coffee makers etc.

The buffet breakfast was huge, with live cooks for eggs and south indian food. The lunch and dinner variety at the buffet was also exteremely value for money.

Stopped by at the Big Ben bar on Friday where a live band was performing and the place was absoluetely vibrant with a distinct pub type feel. Good crowd as well.

The spa was great and the treatments quite relaxing !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amit_a11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newdelhi
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I was here to attend a conference . I had expected a business hotel ambience but the moment i checked in , i found a relaxed atmosphere . Gentle check in , cozy room and quiet corridors . Good central location , good food , good room service and pleasant staff . Everything is small ... the lobby , the dining room , the lawn... but cozy . I missed the swimming pool . Actually there is not much to do between breakfast and dinner so you better be out in the day to take care of your work but you will be pleasantly surprised on your return in the evening when you find a senior playing piano in the lobby ... a nice goan man settled in kolkata ---ooops --- and that is some food for thought ?!!!!!@#$!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

old hotel which surely deos take some interest in maintaining it's herutage provided the fact that the property is not at al maintained or renovated with afresh look.Looking at the reviews i had stayed at the hotel only to be disappointed.I surely think that all these reviews are posted by the hotel members themselves.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Professional20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajubharat, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, July 18, 2010
New Kenilworth Hotel is one of the premier hotels in the city of Kolkata and has a consistent policy of upgradation and improvement to satisfy the highest expectations of our guests. We maintain a high standard of personalised service and guest loyalty is a key driver of our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

It is an average hotel in the heart of the town.
The rooms are OK, average maintenance.
Staff is courteous.
Food is OK not great

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drkssagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

My return trip to Kolkata was carefully planned, but the awful Indian Railways journey first class from Varanasi resulted in us arriving nearly 24 hours late. However, the Hotel driver had come to the Howrah station three times and eventually found us at 01.20 hours on 11th February when we should have arrived at 07.30 hours on the 10th! It is a good hotel and once I pointed out that our room had air conditioning that appeared to be faulty it was rectified by us being moved to a different suite. The multi cuisine restaurant was very good with delicious food well served on the lawn whilst listening to a sweet singer. There is much to commend this hotel and I found the Staff helpful. Our trip was concertined into two days instead of three. Kolkata has changed much over the decades not for the good sadly and it is a polluted decaying city but I wanted to be in Little Russell Street so that I could visit my old home and I did. To have a garden in which to sit and three restaurants and elegant bedrooms with helpful service right in the middle of town was very helpful for us. The hotel has a heritage wing that is used for conferences and suites but I was entirely happy with the room to which I was moved, the earier one reached at 0200 hours being stuffy because of faulty air conditioning. The bathrooms with excellent showers are excellent and the bed was a dream after the nightmare rail journey which had encompassed an eight hours wait at Varanasi in a rat infested room with our feet on stools to avoid the rodents and a stench ridden women's WC. Sometimes in India everything works wonderfully, but when it does not it goes horribly wrong...thus afterwards standing in a clean elegant bathroom shower under a hot pressure easing away the aches and pains and bad memories becomes doubly luxurious, followed by a good tomato omelet and papaya. My only niggle which I told them about is that they should promote tea strongly and provide tea in individual tea pots with good quality choices - in my childhood Calcutta was the centre of the tea industry that was grown in Assam and north Bengal. As it was I then flew up to Guwahati to embark on The Assam Bengal Cruise which was totally delightful and worth doing.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseofScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Good location. Good rooms. Great Pub (Big Ben).
This hotel has pretty much everything you look for.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahul_2k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,345 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,890 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#14 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#26 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
234 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#22 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Property: Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Address: 1 Little Russel Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#13 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing