We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kenilworth Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Ranked #19 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Kenilworth Hotel has a beautiful charm right from the foyer to the rooms. I spent a night and had a peaceful and comfortable sleep, which is rare for me especially in hotels. However, my only disappointment was the gentleman manning the front desk when I checked in. He was not rude but I found his demeanor extremely arrogant (with audible snide remarks now and then) and not suited for a hotel like Kenilworth. I left very early in the morning to catch a flight and a senior gentleman (concierge) who had worked there for almost three decades bade me a warm farewell and I feel that he really exuded the old world charm of the hotel.

Room Tip: The room I got had a view and can be seen in the pictures which I have downloaded. I am a lover of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renovung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 587 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

Over phone and on mails many big things were commited, sad none of their commitment was in place and it is completely fustrating. Service is slow with hiegene standards very average. I am a frequent traveller to Kolkata, I am not going to stay here any further.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devid60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and sharing your experience on this forum.

It is our objective to deliver a stay par excellence to guests and based on the generous reviews shared by our patrons, we can say that we have succeeded in our endeavors. Having said this, we also want to express our regret for the inconvenience you faced during your stay. We thank you for bringing the shortcomings to light; rest assured we will certainly investigate the concerns and rectify them at the earliest.

We thank you again for your appraisal as it is only through guest feedback that we can raise the bar of our services. We hope you would give us another chance to host you at our hotel in Kolkata and erase your bad experience with a memorable one.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotels, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Never expected that I will have such a wonderful and comfortable stay. It offers luxury in differents spheres. Truly smitten by the hospitality. very supportive staff. Value for money. food is great. My recommendation, go for it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajeshUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for lauding our hospitality standards on this travelers’ forum as the happiness that we derive from guest satisfaction is truly unmatched.

Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata is a sought after hotel in the city, and we are delighted to note that we were able to charm you with our service and amenities. At our hotel, we go above and beyond to cater best to the needs of our patrons. Your appreciative remarks about our hospitality have boosted the morale of our team, and they are eagerly awaiting your revisit.

Once again, many thanks for checking in with us and letting us know about your stay experience through your review. Your patronage and recommendation are invaluable to us, and we would love to be at your service whenever you visit the city.

Best Regards,
The Management,
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hotel is located near the premium Park Street area of kolkata. The services and the rooms were good too. However, prices seemed to be on higher side. The restaurants were especially good. Try Aroma!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to host your stay during your recent visit to the City of Joy, Kolkata.

Located in the heart of the city, Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata offers a perfect blend of contemporary amenities and friendly services, making it a preferred choice among leisure and business travellers. We are glad that you were impressed with the service, accommodation and our restaurants. Your feedback for the pricing is welcome but we would like to mention here that the pricing is in accordance with the present industry standards.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again.

Best Regards,
The Management,
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

As you can expect from a Luxury Hotel especially Kenilworth. This Hotel keeps up to all that you can think of or expect. Great food, nice location, exceptional hospitality. Dont miss the speciality restaurant 'Aroma'.

You ask for it and you get it. This was true in our case as we had a traveled with two young kids. Thanks to the Chef and team to have taken care of our needs o well.

The difference between a great hotel and an excellent hotel is in the detail, and the Kenilworth gets it just right! From the flowers on the steps to the gym, to the discreet, but ever-present waiters, this hotel never fails to impress. The rooms are now a little outdated, but the excellent service and array of amenities more than make up for this minor detail. The quality of food from the range of restaurants and 24hrs dining area is impressive. By far my favorite hotel in India!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SudiptaNandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are elated to be rated as your favourite hotel in India.

Thank you for capturing the true essence of what we strive to provide our guests at Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata. We are happy to note that the food, location and our services were at par with your expectations. Our chef truly cares about our guests by offering them with a special culinary experience and we are glad that your kids were happy with it. Your appreciation has motivated the entire team and will help us in the long run.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again.

Best Regards,
The Management,
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Liked the hotel for its clean and comfortable rooms. Food was good too though I felt that food charges were a bit on a higher side. Channel options in the television were limited, would appreciate more choice there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keshant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience.

We are happy to be your host in Kolkata and know that it was a comfortable one. It is a delight for us to hear that you relished the food served at our restaurant. However, we regret that limited TV channel options led to your disappointment. We would surely make the necessary changes to ensure that our guests leave our hotel entirely satisfied. Further, be rest assured that our rates are set as per the industry standards.

We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Though the Hotel is a 4 star property the services offered is as good as a Five Star Hotel. Excelent staff and service standards. The food at the dinner buffet was very good with a good variety and presentation. Though the breakfast buffet starts at 7 pm they are even willing to arrange for breakfast before 7 am if you have to leave for some work.

Room Tip: The room I got didnt have agoood view. however I was a business traveller and didnt spend much time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChetanChandhok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Located in the heart of the city, Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata offers a perfect blend of contemporary amenities and friendly service, making it a preferred choice amongst leisure and business travellers. We are glad that your stay at our hotel surpassed your expectations and are happy to know that you were happy with the service and facilities provided to you. We would love to appoint you with a room with stunning views of the city during your next visit.

We have also shared your views about the breakfast spread with our team in the kitchen and this shall motivate them to continue performing to the best of their abilities.

We look forward to welcoming you with same spirit on your next visit.

Best Regards,
The Management,
Kenilworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,771 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,959 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#15 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,127 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#25 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#18 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Address: 1 Little Russel Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#13 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $79 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing