We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with comfortable rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Ranked #19 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Liked the hotel for its clean and comfortable rooms. Food was good too though I felt that food charges were a bit on a higher side. Channel options in the television were limited, would appreciate more choice there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keshant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience.

We are happy to be your host in Kolkata and know that it was a comfortable one. It is a delight for us to hear that you relished the food served at our restaurant. However, we regret that limited TV channel options led to your disappointment. We would surely make the necessary changes to ensure that our guests leave our hotel entirely satisfied. Further, be rest assured that our rates are set as per the industry standards.

We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 583 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

Though the Hotel is a 4 star property the services offered is as good as a Five Star Hotel. Excelent staff and service standards. The food at the dinner buffet was very good with a good variety and presentation. Though the breakfast buffet starts at 7 pm they are even willing to arrange for breakfast before 7 am if you have to leave for some work.

Room Tip: The room I got didnt have agoood view. however I was a business traveller and didnt spend much time...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChetanChandhok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Located in the heart of the city, Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata offers a perfect blend of contemporary amenities and friendly service, making it a preferred choice amongst leisure and business travellers. We are glad that your stay at our hotel surpassed your expectations and are happy to know that you were happy with the service and facilities provided to you. We would love to appoint you with a room with stunning views of the city during your next visit.

We have also shared your views about the breakfast spread with our team in the kitchen and this shall motivate them to continue performing to the best of their abilities.

We look forward to welcoming you with same spirit on your next visit.

Best Regards,
The Management,
Kenilworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Lot more is expected from a Hotel of this standard, service is little laid back and quality of rooms are not at per with current market standard, while leaving I had left a note on with Hotel manager, hope to see some improvement next time.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Joshuane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience.

It was a pleasure to host your stay in Kolkata, but we regret that our hospitality was not up to your expectation. The areas mentioned by you that needed improvement have been duly noted by us and we will make the necessary changes wherever required to ensure that our guests have a completely satisfying stay. You are a valued guest to us and your disappointment is a great matter of concern for us. We hope this experience would not deter you from visiting us again and you would give us another chance to provide much better services.

We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Have stayed at this beautiful hotel often for business purposes and quite sadly noticed that the quality and service levels are no longer a match with the standards they had even 7-8 years back.Wish there is a change for the better or else competition will make it bite the dust.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebPunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we thank you for sharing your feedback.

Complete guest satisfaction has always been our motto and we have been working sincerely towards it since our establishment. However, it is disheartening to know that you found a downfall in our service standards. We regret that your stay with us was not up to your expectation this time. It is a great matter of concern for us and we will look into the matter to ensure that necessary steps are taken so that our guests do not leave disappointed.

Hope this experience would not deter you from visiting us again and you would give us another chance to provide much better services on your next visit in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

initially the first day i complained to the front office manager Mr Malcolm regards lukewarm response from the room service during the night time when its required ....the things changes rapidly...a unconditional apology comes from the top management side, more over a drastic changes changes taken place " the face over we can feel everywhere" .....the property is excellent more than our expectations and the money we paying ....

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santhoshch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Kenilworth has lost its past glory and is no where close to what it was 10 years back . Its location off Theatre road is the only positive . The rooms are old looks worn out and the general feel is that the staffs are laid back . Not friendly and no value for money .

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at our hotel in Kolkata and reviewing it on this forum.

Kindly accept my sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. While it is our constant endeavour to provide our guests with exceptional standards of products and services, we seem to have not been able to achieve the same in this case. Your feedback regarding our facilities has been noted down and will be looked into.

I am sure you will experience a difference on your next visit to Kolkata.

Best Regards
The Management,
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

India isn't easy and accommodations are usually lacking in many things specially in maintenance. Still this is not the case with the Kenilworth hotel in Kolkata, the hotel is just perfect, with an excellent location therefore many sites can be visited within walking distance. The rooms are really nice, perfectly up-kept (even the walls are well painted and not stained, also the sheets and the towels.... travelers in India know what I'm talking about), nicely furnished, with just anything you can need and peaceful colors and decorations plus small details like.... plugs that work!
The staff is most friendly and you can feel it's a happy staff that cooperates with you if they haven't already anticipated your needs. This is valid for everyone there: from the porters and driver to the managers, passing by the travel desk and going through the chef and his team to the hotel's cashier, also the room cleaning personnel.
The food is great and healthy, the breakfast buffet is very complete and good. The restaurant views a nice and calm green loan and garden and once their Indian restaurant will reopen on April 15 it will be a great positive surprise for all.
This hotel made my stay in Kolkata just great, with a desire to return and stay there again. I highly recommend it. I just don't have anything to criticize from this hotel, only positive things. Just go for it! Jenny Sugar.

Room Tip: Just ask for the type of room and the bed and the floor you want and they listen to you, incredible...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JENNY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel as your hospitality partner on your visit to the city of Kolkata.

It is heartening to know of your pleasurable experiences in the duration of your stay with us. Your appreciations of our service and many facilities have been conveyed to the team and they are bustling in happiness to have served you in a manner that has exceeded your expectations and to have taken care of your needs throughout your stay.

Our convenient location indeed makes us a preferred choice of accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike and we thank you for your words of appreciation for the food menu.
It was a pleasure to serve you at our facility and look forward to doing so again in the near future

Best Regards
The Management,
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,668 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,938 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#15 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
777 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#24 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#17 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Address: 1 Little Russel Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#13 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $77 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing