We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Calm!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Ranked #18 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Calm!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

A nice centrally located hotel with all the amenities to counteract the chaos that is Kolkata. Stayed for touriist visit, but equally suitable for business needs. The restaurants offered a consistently good mix of western and India food at reasonable prices although wine is limited and a bit pricey. Onsite spa and laundry too. Walking distance to the Victoria Memorial and the Park Street Cemetary.

Close to the metro line which is by far the most pleasant and efficient way to move N/S in Kolkata. For farther flung destinations, car service with driver via online booking is ridiculously inexpensive and easy. For far less than the western price of one cab ride you could have a car every day with driver.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata. The quaint charm of the hotel seamlessly blends with modern luxuries. Our central location makes us a preferred choice among business and leisure travelers. The team is delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel in Kolkata and found our services & amenities at par with your expectations. We are glad to note your appreciation for the delicacies served at our restaurant.

We look forward to an opportunity of serving you again.

Thank you!

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    270
    82
    12
    23
See reviews for
65
71
43
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

good hotel in good position. Unfortunately the reception staff (manager included) has not respect for the guest and his target is tray to gain from you without any explanation. At the check in be sure all the details are been clear twice specially about the rate per every night. Their behaviour is very unfair and unpleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guido V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for checking-in with us on your recent trip to the city and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We regret that the service delivery during check-in was not up to your expectations. Let me assure you that this is definitely a one off incident and I will ensure that such incidents do not recur in future. Thanks for bringing this to our attention; guest feedback goes a long way in assisting us to constantly upgrade our services.
On another note, Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata is a centrally located hotel that provides easy access to city’s attractions. I am glad that our location added value to your stay and thank you for rating us 5 Stars on location parameter of your stay experience.

Once again, thank you for staying at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Indeed great experience!!
Excellent stuff altogether. Preferred to stay again at this hotel next time I visit Kolkata. Location of the hotel is into the cozy environment around the central part where anybody can move to the historical locations comfortably. Victoria memorial is just the walking distance. Travelers can take a morning walk there under fantastic environment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ejajujzaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We can’t thank you enough for your kind words of appreciation that have uplifted the spirits of the entire team.

Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata is a centrally located hotel that provides easy access to various landmarks of the city. We complement our location with an array of world-class amenities and personalized service. We are glad to note that our offerings met & exceeded your expectations and that you had a stay par excellence with us.

We thank you again for your patronage and appraisal. It was indeed a pleasure to serve you at our hotel in Kolkata and we look forward to welcoming you soon in the near future.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent 10 nights at the Kenilworth Hotel during this year's Durga Puja. It is an ideal base to explore the city and the festival. The room is compact, but very clean and cozy. The bed is firm and comfortable. You have the option to get a special type of pillow of your choice. We got the contoured pillows which are very similar to what we use at home. The pillows made a real difference to the quality of our sleep without waking up in the morning with a sore neck. The bathroom is clean and has a strong shower head with plenty of hot water. We looked forward to returning to our room after an exhausting day as a tourist or evening pandal hopping. The hotel has an excellent Indian cuisine restaurant and decent room service food. The hotel is run professionally and efficiently. By and large the staff are attentive, courteous, and always ready to assist guests with questions or special needs. Checkout was slow, confusing, and definitely desires improvement. The hotel Spa offers a selection of massage services. We had a Thai massage which was ok, but not a good value for the expensive costs. Foot reflexology was a disappointment and the masseurs were not up to professional standards. Airport transfers were done very smoothly. We made a last minute car arrangement for our day trip to Tarapith- which turned out to be a 15 hour driving journey. The hotel driver was excellent. In sum, we enjoyed our long stay at the Kenilworth hotel. We highly recommend this hotel to all travelers who visit Kolkata.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at our hotel in Kolkata and sharing your detailed stay experience on this forum.

At Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, we blend contemporary amenities with classy service to provide a stay par excellence to guests. Our location is indeed one of our assets and we are glad to note that you found it worthy of appreciation. We pamper our guests with a range of world-class amenities, recreational options such as spa and dining outlets. We are pleased to learn that you availed our various offerings and your constructive feedback about them has been duly noted by our associates.

Once again, thank you for staying at our hotel and recommending it on this forum. It was an honor to serve you at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and we would love to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Upgraded to business floor, where the room was a good size and had a nice view of surrounding buildings. Furnishings pleasant and the room was very quiet. This seems like more of a business hotel, with a spacious lobby and various dining options and bars. The location is quiet - a real plus in Kolkata! The staff is welcoming and gracious, and the breakfast buffet is very good. Our only quibble: no Kingfishers or any Indian beer available: Fosters/Budweiser - PLEASE!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at our hotel and reviewing it on this forum.

Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata is a sought after hotel and your testimony is the reflection of our stature. Located in the heart of the city, our hotel caters to the needs of business and leisure guests with a host of in-house amenities, spacious rooms and recreational options. We are immensely pleased to note that you were more than satisfied with our offerings. Your appreciative remarks about our staff have been duly shared and the entire team is looking forward to your revisit.

Once again, thank you for your patronage and appraisal. We hope to serve you again when you visit Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel very comfotable. Nice filling to stay but seem to be expensive. Staff is very cordial. This rooms are very big and good condition. And good location. Food was excellent And all are good nice place to stay. i most stay in hotel next time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaya5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for opting to stay at our luxury hotel in Kolkata and sharing your experience on this forum. We take pride in our service delivery and amenities and are ecstatic to note that you also found them at par with excellence.

Located in the heart of the city, Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata offers an array of accommodation option, dining options and recreational alternatives. Our staff goes the extra mile to provide clean rooms, delicious delicacies and flawless service. Your acknowledgement of our services and our varied offerings are highly valued by the entire team.

We thank you again for giving us an opportunity to serve you at our hotel and we would deem it an honor to have you back with us in your next trip to the city.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,461 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,914 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#19 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
740 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#25 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#15 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Property: Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Address: 1 Little Russel Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#13 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing