We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Location, Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Ranked #18 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
152 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Central Location, Very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Located very close to Park Street, the hotel is an island of quiet in the city.
The location makes it easy to walk & explore the area, and to try eating joints like Mocambo.
Check-in/Check-out is always quick & efficient (although we did miss Cassandra on our last stay).
Pleasing lobby, cheerful decor in the well-lit corridors.
Comfortable sized rooms with all mod-cons (no fan or reading light though).
Bathroom had a traditional look with dark marble; very good quality supplies & a hair dryer.
Safe available in the room ; mini-bar was well stocked and reasonably priced.
Gym on the 2nd floor is very well equipped, windows on 3 sides make it quite bright & sunny, besides giving a view of lots of greenery.
The trainer was very attentive and helpful with several tips to tweak my exercise regimen.
I made good use of the bar coupons provided (the bar is in the 'heritage wing'); the barman gave efficient & non-intrusive service (especially if one sits at the bar). Space was lively with chatter and music.
Spread for Dinner & Breakfast is extensive; food was uniformly tasty and well presented.
The low level of noise in the restaurant aided conversation and made for an enjoyable meal.
However, these meals were outdone by our conference lunch as far as taste was concerned (I particularly liked the Grilled Fish in lemon butter sauce).
Our banquet arrangements were handled well; billing was quick.

We found the staff uniformly keen to make our stay enjoyable.
Have been going back as a result (this must be my 9th or 10th visit at least).
Would happily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No views from my room; higher rooms seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trips56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we very sincerely appreciate your effort to write a review about us on a public platform. It is always heartwarming as well as rewarding to know that our patrons had a cheerful experience with us.

Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata is 4 star luxury hotel located at the heart of the city. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisine. Our hotel along with the princely comfort also takes care of the health of our patrons with fully equipped Fitness centre.

Your positive feedback has been dully conveyed to the entire team. We thank you again for your valuable feedback and look forward to your repeated patronage.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    261
    79
    11
    23
See reviews for
60
65
45
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
139 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed two nights at The Kenilworth and found the room very comfortable, with good bed and good shower. The staff were always helpful, and kindly offered us late checkout on the last day when we told them our train would leave at 6:30 pm. A very pleasant surprise was that the guests are now offered free WiFi in the rooms, which shows they pay attention to customer feedback, as some otherwise favourable reviews had commented on the high prices charged for internet.

Complimentary buffet breakfast was good, with a variety of Indian and Western dishes. Freshly made omelettes and masala dosa were very much appreciated.

The location is very central, close enough to Park Street and a metro station. Victoria Monument and good restaurants are also within walking distance.

For a hotel of this standard, we thought it was excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and sharing your experience on this public forum. We are immensely pleased to know that we were able to impress you with our central location, world-class amenities, well-equipped rooms and impeccable hospitality.

We also thank you for giving us five-star overall rating that has made the entire team happy. Guest satisfaction is our prime objective; hence, we not only give importance to guest feedback but also strive to incorporate their suggestion. We are glad that you were pleased with our free WiFi, available in every room. Your special appreciation of our buffet breakfast has been conveyed to the kitchen team and they are overjoyed to have their effort acknowledged.

Once again, thank you for your patronage and feedback. It was a pleasure having you at our hotel, and we would be honored to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at New Kenilworth for twelve days. Most of the staff are friendly and willing to help with just about anything you need. The rooms are clean and offer plenty of amenities to make most travelers comfortable. It is nice to have three restaurant options for dinner and the spa is a lovely addition to help any traveler relax after a long day.
But, as if often the case when you stay somewhere for an extensive amount of time, you are able to see the negatives as well. For example, I ordered the same dishes from room service at least a couple of times and never did I receive a meal that tasted the same. It was difficult to get reliable taxi service although we went to the same location most days of our stay. The hotel does not set up taxi service, only more expensive cars. So, if you are traveling on a business budget, you must fend for yourself. Also, when we went to check out it took over 45 minutes. There were issues with being over charged for laundry service - it seems that the housekeeping staff changes your laundry sheets without checking with the guest first - and being charged for Internet service, even though it expressly states in the booking receipt that there is free WiFi. Keep in mind that this means only WiFi in your room, not for use in the guest business area. So, if you want to take advantage, bring your own devices. Also, if you get laundry service, request a receipt when it is returned to check on the charges. Otherwise, the hotel is quite unwilling to deal with these issues during check out.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard should be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zervi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata during your recent stay and taking out the time to share your experience. We endeavor to serve our guests the best facilities to make their stay comfortable and enjoyable. We are glad to receive your appreciation for the amenities, dining areas and the spa.

We have noted the concerns highlighted by you and regret the inconvenience caused. Although, it was a rare instance, we assure you that corrective actions will be taken.

Feedback like yours helps us go a long way in strengthening our services. We look forward for another opportunity to add value to your visit.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Most of the staff particularly bell hops have been here for years and its always good to be back and encounter their warm reception.

As expected the rooms are in good nick. I checked in only at 0200am having picked up my family who arrived from Hong Kong but everything went well without a hitch.

Breakfast has improved considerably over the years.

Still a lovely and comfortable place in the heart of town particularly for travelers looking for a touch of the Kolkata of yester-years.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btakhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata again and sharing your experience with us on this public platform.

At Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata we endeavor to make your dining experience mesmerizing with a wide variety of delicacies to choose from. It delights us to know that you had a satisfying experience while dining with us and the overall layout of the property was at par with your expectations.

We thank you again for your valuable feedback and look forward to your repeated patronage.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for about a week on a biz trip (in march 2013). Feedback:
Room - neat, clean -like most biz hotels in the category are
Location - in the middle of the city, about 10-15 mins walk from Park Street. Good, but not great
Service - was not that great either at the restaurant or room service. Time taken to respond was too high
Gym - well maintained... Has a nice energy about the place with helpful assistants. Enjoyed my workouts there
Restaurants - the Big Ben was nice. Plays good music

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmrichArjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and taking out the time to share your experience on this public platform.

Our luxury hotel in Kolkata is located in the heart of the city and is easily accessible from commercial hubs of the metropolis. Catering to both leisure and business travelers alike, we offer an array of options for accommodation, food, relaxation and recreational amenities. It delights us to know that you liked our dining avenue, The Big Ben which is the only authentic British Pub in town and the gymnasium where you enjoyed the workouts.

However, we regret that our service did not match your expectations and you did not have the perfect stay. Feedback like yours inspires us to go that extra mile so that all our guests are satisfied and they are happy when they check out.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was a good experience as my stay was comfortable. Along with rooms, Big Ben is also a cozy place to chill. The management really cared about me and showed a good level of hospitality. The food was fine but could have been better. The hotel has got so much potential to give a better service.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rimi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and taking out the time to share your experience on this public platform. It is a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay with us.

We are glad that you found our hospitality at par with your expectations. It delights us to know that you liked our dining avenues. The Big Ben is the only authentic British Pub in town. We regret that the food was not up to the mark. The concerned changes are going to be taken care of as it was conveyed to the management. Feedback like yours inspires us to further strengthen our resolve.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is such a great hotel right in the middle of the nice part of Kolkata. It is recently renovated with a new wing of rooms. The staff is helpful sometimes a bit too enthusiastic. The entrance is being renovated so a bit of a hassle but overall a great place to stay and walk to places on Park Street and Chowringhee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarahblahsiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your stay experience on the public platform. It is indeed a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel in Kolkata. We are located in the heart of the city and are easily accessible from major transport hubs of the city. The hotel has been renovated recently that gives it a new look. Your kind words for the efforts of the staff have been duly conveyed who looks forward to your visit again. We are happy to know that our services conformed to the standards expected by you.

Thank you for your custom.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#23 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#17 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Property: Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Address: 1 & 2, Little Russel Street,, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#13 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing