We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good and comfortable Hotel for a business Trip in Kolkata”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Ranked #18 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
delhi
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Good and comfortable Hotel for a business Trip in Kolkata”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My stay at the Hotel for one Night was comfortable on June 24 on a business trip.The hotel is having some minor repair work going on but this is not disturbing. The Rooms are Neat and Clean ,well stocked for Tea the Mini bar is also well stocked. The Room is very comfortable ensuring a very comfortable Night Sleep. The Spa at the Hotel is also good. In the middle of the city this Hotel has a small green lawn which is very comforting in the Morning. The Spread of the Breakfast is also ok ,but other Hotels Like HHI have a better Spread.I would say ok for the Price. The Hotel Staff is good.

Room Tip: Avoid the Rooms on the First floor with Room numbers starting with 201 etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeepdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata and reviewing it on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you found the rooms, buffet and our hospitable services at par with your expectations. . We are a sought after business hotel in Kolkata and offer state-of-the-art amenities. Our location in the city center makes us a preferred option among travelers.

The team at Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata strives to provide a comfortable stay to guests who visit the city either for business or for leisure and we are happy to know that our services conformed to the standards expected by you.

Thank you for your custom, we look forward to hosting you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    269
    81
    12
    23
See reviews for
64
70
43
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DELHI
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is very nicely done . Rooms are small as compared to HHI but very neat and comfortable . The rooms are neat and comfortable . The hotel does not have a pool , which is the only draw back . The spa is very good . Breakfast spread is very good .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIMISH111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Kolkata and for sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We endeavor to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests through well-appointed rooms that feature modern amenities. We provide recreational facilities like spa to offer a wholesome experience to our patrons. It fills us with immense pleasure to note that you had a satisfying dining experience with us, and your appreciation for the efforts of the team has been duly conveyed.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We would deem it a privilege to serve you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My stay at the New Kenilwoth at Russel Street, Kolkata from 5th-9th June, 2013 was worth its price, to say the least. I got to spend a peaceful time at this hotel which is exactly what I wanted. The staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful. The guards and other hotel staff were all smiling which added to the hotel's value. Their Buffet breakfast was varied in cuisine and specially good in Indian food...poha, dhokla,sambhar,etc. The Buffet dinner was intersting too. The Marble Room,their Indian speciality restaurant served us some unique-style dishes made with raw mangoes. The hotel's location is very good as it is walking distance to Park Stret and some very good lifestyle stores(Pantaloons & Westside). Overall I would love to stay there again on my next visit to Kolkata.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DhakaFarzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and sharing your experience on this public platform. We are delighted to note that you were impressed by our hotel and had a pleasant stay with us.

Centrally located, Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata provides an easy access to the various landmarks of the city. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our location along with our service. The entire team at the hotel strives to make a guest’s stay enjoyable and your kind words have made them very happy. We also offer a wide range of cuisines at our multi-cuisine restaurants The Big Ben and The Marble. Your special mention of our food has made our chefs ecstatic and they are looking forward to tantalize your taste buds with more such offerings.

We thank you again for staying at our hotel and reviewing us. We would indeed deem it an honor to host you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The room alloted to me was on the front and there was lot of noise since 4 am(some truck loading and a lot of associated loud conversations.Very disturbing indeed).Some one from the hotel has to be sensitive to this issue(while i accept that the hotel is located in a busy commercial hub and would be difficult to stop noisy activities).Then could the rooms be sound proofed?

While i reiterate that the in room dining is wonderful(my last review bears testimony), the prices seem to have hit the roof.500rs for a small bowl of soup?I have decided not to patronise the in room dining henceforth.

Room Tip: DONT take a room on the front part of the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladict_del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with Kenilworth Kolkata during your recent trip and are glad to receive your valuable feedback. As mentioned by you in the review, our hotel is centrally located and provides an easy access to major attractions in the city. At rare times, noise from outside may be heard inside the property but we have taken all measures to minimize the intensity and provide a calm and peaceful environment to our patrons.

Our services and facilities are designed with the aim of providing utmost comfort to our guests though we regret that your stay was not up to your expectations. Our in-room dining is one of the more appealing services on offer and the pricing may be better appreciated bearing in mind the quality of the food and the prompt service.

Once again, we thank you for your review and look forward to hosting you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I am a regular visitor of this hotel in Russel street,Kolkata. Here the best part of the hotel is their buffet beakfast wherin they combine the north and south indian taste and serve food.The hotel is not a very expensive and if we are booking a little earlier we can get a double room for Rs 5500+taxes(Approximately 100 usd) and the hotel is just very close to park street and well connected. If you want tobe in luxury the suite rooms are very good and not too expensive also.
The hotel boasts of a very good bar and a good bar be que too.Overall a good decent hotel for a business trip.

Room Tip: if travellers need a suite room they are on the sixth floor I remember .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank BANGALORETRAVEL7747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata and reviewing it on the public forum. We are a sought after business hotel in Kolkata and offer state-of-the-art amenities. Our location in the city center makes us a preferred option among travelers. We are pleased to know that you found the rooms, buffet and our hospitable services at par with your expectations.

The team at Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata strives to provide a comfortable stay to guests and your repeated patronage is a testimony of our rewarding services.

Thank you for your custom and patronage. We look forward to hosting you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at Kenilworth during a business trip this month. The hotel is a very decent stay in Kolkatta. The rooms are big, staff is very friendly and helpful and try to cater to all your needs. The hotel is also very clean though i cannot comment the same about the city. The food at the hotel was mind blowing. Overall a really good stay at Kolkatta.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelhiGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing us as your host during your recent business trip to the ‘City of Joy’, Kolkata and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are glad to know that our services and facilities were at par with your expectations.

We are pleased to note that you had a satisfying dining experience with us. Our team strives to offer a comfortable stay for our esteemed patrons through hospitable services and we take this opportunity to express our gratitude to you for encouraging us with your kind review.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We would deem it a privilege to serve you again at our business hotel in Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Amazing place located in the heart of the city. The staff is great, well behaved and courteous. They are there for any help you need. The hotel is well maintained and rooms are wonderful. Overall this happens to be a perfect choice if you are in Kolkata.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treckko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to host you at our property. We sincerely thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your experience at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata.

It brought immense delight to us to learn that we exceeded your expectations and provided you with all the essential amenities during your short stay in Kolkata. With a highly professional and diligent staff, our central aim has always revolved around providing our patrons with a comfortable accommodation through well furnished rooms, best of the banquet services and recreational facilities. It makes our day when a testimony like yours validates that we have succeeded in our efforts.

Once again, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again at our luxury hotel in Kolkata in the future.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,345 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,890 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#14 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#26 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
234 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#22 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Property: Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Address: 1 Little Russel Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#13 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing