We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful holiday in a decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Ranked #18 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My stay at the New Kenilwoth at Russel Street, Kolkata from 5th-9th June, 2013 was worth its price, to say the least. I got to spend a peaceful time at this hotel which is exactly what I wanted. The staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful. The guards and other hotel staff were all smiling which added to the hotel's value. Their Buffet breakfast was varied in cuisine and specially good in Indian food...poha, dhokla,sambhar,etc. The Buffet dinner was intersting too. The Marble Room,their Indian speciality restaurant served us some unique-style dishes made with raw mangoes. The hotel's location is very good as it is walking distance to Park Stret and some very good lifestyle stores(Pantaloons & Westside). Overall I would love to stay there again on my next visit to Kolkata.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DhakaFarzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and sharing your experience on this public platform. We are delighted to note that you were impressed by our hotel and had a pleasant stay with us.

Centrally located, Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata provides an easy access to the various landmarks of the city. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our location along with our service. The entire team at the hotel strives to make a guest’s stay enjoyable and your kind words have made them very happy. We also offer a wide range of cuisines at our multi-cuisine restaurants The Big Ben and The Marble. Your special mention of our food has made our chefs ecstatic and they are looking forward to tantalize your taste buds with more such offerings.

We thank you again for staying at our hotel and reviewing us. We would indeed deem it an honor to host you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 616 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

The room alloted to me was on the front and there was lot of noise since 4 am(some truck loading and a lot of associated loud conversations.Very disturbing indeed).Some one from the hotel has to be sensitive to this issue(while i accept that the hotel is located in a busy commercial hub and would be difficult to stop noisy activities).Then could the rooms be sound proofed?

While i reiterate that the in room dining is wonderful(my last review bears testimony), the prices seem to have hit the roof.500rs for a small bowl of soup?I have decided not to patronise the in room dining henceforth.

Room Tip: DONT take a room on the front part of the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveladict_del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with Kenilworth Kolkata during your recent trip and are glad to receive your valuable feedback. As mentioned by you in the review, our hotel is centrally located and provides an easy access to major attractions in the city. At rare times, noise from outside may be heard inside the property but we have taken all measures to minimize the intensity and provide a calm and peaceful environment to our patrons.

Our services and facilities are designed with the aim of providing utmost comfort to our guests though we regret that your stay was not up to your expectations. Our in-room dining is one of the more appealing services on offer and the pricing may be better appreciated bearing in mind the quality of the food and the prompt service.

Once again, we thank you for your review and look forward to hosting you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I am a regular visitor of this hotel in Russel street,Kolkata. Here the best part of the hotel is their buffet beakfast wherin they combine the north and south indian taste and serve food.The hotel is not a very expensive and if we are booking a little earlier we can get a double room for Rs 5500+taxes(Approximately 100 usd) and the hotel is just very close to park street and well connected. If you want tobe in luxury the suite rooms are very good and not too expensive also.
The hotel boasts of a very good bar and a good bar be que too.Overall a good decent hotel for a business trip.

Room Tip: if travellers need a suite room they are on the sixth floor I remember .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank BANGALORETRAVEL7747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata and reviewing it on the public forum. We are a sought after business hotel in Kolkata and offer state-of-the-art amenities. Our location in the city center makes us a preferred option among travelers. We are pleased to know that you found the rooms, buffet and our hospitable services at par with your expectations.

The team at Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata strives to provide a comfortable stay to guests and your repeated patronage is a testimony of our rewarding services.

Thank you for your custom and patronage. We look forward to hosting you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at Kenilworth during a business trip this month. The hotel is a very decent stay in Kolkatta. The rooms are big, staff is very friendly and helpful and try to cater to all your needs. The hotel is also very clean though i cannot comment the same about the city. The food at the hotel was mind blowing. Overall a really good stay at Kolkatta.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelhiGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing us as your host during your recent business trip to the ‘City of Joy’, Kolkata and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are glad to know that our services and facilities were at par with your expectations.

We are pleased to note that you had a satisfying dining experience with us. Our team strives to offer a comfortable stay for our esteemed patrons through hospitable services and we take this opportunity to express our gratitude to you for encouraging us with your kind review.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We would deem it a privilege to serve you again at our business hotel in Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Amazing place located in the heart of the city. The staff is great, well behaved and courteous. They are there for any help you need. The hotel is well maintained and rooms are wonderful. Overall this happens to be a perfect choice if you are in Kolkata.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treckko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to host you at our property. We sincerely thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your experience at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata.

It brought immense delight to us to learn that we exceeded your expectations and provided you with all the essential amenities during your short stay in Kolkata. With a highly professional and diligent staff, our central aim has always revolved around providing our patrons with a comfortable accommodation through well furnished rooms, best of the banquet services and recreational facilities. It makes our day when a testimony like yours validates that we have succeeded in our efforts.

Once again, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again at our luxury hotel in Kolkata in the future.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Located between Theatre Rd (Shakespear Sn) and Park Street, Kenilworth lets you amble away to most central Kolkata destinations at ease. The rooms are amply charming and the hotel has just that touch of a Colonial era that makes you plushly comfortable.
Stayed here for a night in January, slept well and the staff is courteous and helpful.
A little disappointed at the lack of sync between the reservation desk and the online reservation system, they may quote different rates - probably not Web-POS platform integrated.
Overall, value for money for both business travellers and tourists.
PS: headed to Calcutta for a couple of days next week, looking forward to my stay at this charming hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StatesideBong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are extremely delighted to have received your valuable feedback. Apart from the convenient location of our luxury hotel in Kolkata, we are also acclaimed for our state of the art amenities. We offer our patrons palatial accommodation, tantalizing delicacies and a multitude of recreational services. We are glad to learn that our efforts to make your stay perfect were at par with your expectations.

We also noticed your concern regarding the online reservation system. We would like to inform you that the issue has been duly noted and appropriate action will be taken, as applicable.

Once again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was very impressed with the overall hospitality and the eye for details in the room. I found the staff very friendly, receptive and eager to assist. this was my first time in Kolkatta and the staff was very resourceful. The rooms look out to the Garden and they are all very well appointed. Its a very relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms near the spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shammu_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata on your first visit to ‘City of Joy’. We are glad to have made your stay comfortable and memorable. Our team strives to make every guest’s stay unique with efficient and hospitable services. The rooms are designed keeping in mind different taste of guests and are well furnished with every amenity. It is a pleasure to know that our services exceeded your expectations.

We would love to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,380 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,065 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#19 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
369 reviews
8.3 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,766 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#22 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Address: 1 Little Russel Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#12 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $98 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing