We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Brief Stay at the New Kenilworth Hotel in Kolkata”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Ranked #17 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We found the New Kenilworth excellent value for money. The hotel was well laid-out, bright and the facilities good. I used the gym and the personal trainer was really helpful to my needs.
Perhaps the presence of a swimming pool would be beneficial as would free internet access.
We felt safe because of the security and made most welcome by the friendly staff and, in particular, by the smile of Miss Nikita Jordan.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel during your recent trip to Kolkata. It was a sincere pleasure serving you with our valued services. We endeavor to provide our guests ultimate comfort through premium amenities and exceptional facilities at our luxury hotel in Kolkata.

We appreciate your suggestion about free Wi-Fi and swimming pool as guest feedback goes a long way in strengthening our services. We are happy to note that our gymnasium was at par with your expectations. Making our customers feel safe and secure inside the hotel premises is our top most priority. An acknowledgement of our efforts in your testimony has been well-received by the team. We once again thank you for your testimony and would deem it a privilege to serve you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
There are newer reviews for Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 580 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

A spacious room, well-appointed room with welcome little touches such as an international adapter plugged into one of the electrical sockets. The service was excellent , including laundry and room service - quick, efficient and discreet. Perfect as a working environment. And they upgraded me to free Internet for the whole week of my stay. A very welcome quiet room, compensated for the less than interesting view out of the window .
Food and drink prices in the Hotel were very expensive by Indian standards, but as a woman on her own, working long days, I felt well looked after and did not mind the expense as it was within my expenses budget.
As a foreigner, I enjoyed the breakfasts, the delicious biscuits left in the room daily and the variety of food in the two restaurants, where the attentive staff provided welcome advice which helped me choose. I was grateful to sit outside for breakfast and Dinner after working inside all day. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthLondoner186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us on your last visit to the city and for your kind words about the hospitality extended by us. Our intelligently equipped and furnished property complements the soothing and spacious ambiance and offers a truly relaxing experience to the patrons. Our artistic chefs always work hard to gift you a delicious dining experience.

The sincere team of Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata takes care of minute details and steps ahead with personalized services to accomplish all the needs of the guests. We thank you once again for acknowledging the efforts of our staff. We look forward to hosting you soon in the future.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Rooms were cozy and neat. The service staff is polite. Room service was alright - with only some north Indian items that were good. Will not suggest eating in the hotel unless necessary. Old world charm in the decor. Location of the hotel is excellent, close to everything the city has to offer. A little on the pricier side but one of the nicer hotels in Kolkata

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himachal_2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

At the very outset we thank you for taking out time to review us on TripAdvisor. It was a privilege to host your stay during your recent visit to Kolkata. It is a pleasure to know that you liked the cozy & neat rooms, authentic décor of the hotel and our room service. We are located in the heart of the city and all the major business & shopping centers are within the easy access of our patrons. We serve a wide variety of cuisine at our multi-cuisine restaurants and offer a mesmerizing dining experience in Kolkata.

We would like to inform you that our pricing policy is best explained by our high standards of hospitality and par excellence services.

Once again thank you for your custom. We look forward to your next check in with us.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Rooms were spacious and furniture was giving a very warm and comfy feel. It has an old world charm and everything moves slowly here. You'll see people relaxing there and laughing around.

A welcome complimentory drink at the bar was truly appreciated

Location is brilliant. Just walk for ten mins and you'll be in middle of the best market and with good nightclubs around

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RohitMumbai4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata. We are pleased to know that you had a memorable stay with us. Our property is located in the heart of Kolkata, easily accessible from the market, nightclubs and other commercial hubs in the city and we are happy that our location added value to your trip.

We, at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, have retained the city’s old world charm of the bygone era while offering our patrons state of the art amenities to meet contemporary requirements.

Once again, thank you for feedback. We hope to welcome you again at our property in Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had a one day stay here. The rooms are comfortable and the location is in the middle of the city. The buffet food is good for somebody looking for Bengali cuisine although the service is slow. However the hotel is on the expensive side for a city like Kolkatta. The staff is very co-operative and helped me with a mobile charger. The checkin and checkout process can be made faster.

Room Tip: Internet wi-fi is very expensive. Make sure u bring your own dongle.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veejo_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us. It feels good to know that you had a pleasant stay at Kenilworth Kolkata. One of the premier five-star hotels in Kolkata, we pride ourselves in our service quality. Our staff is trained to respond to client requirements, and it is a pleasure to know that we were at par with your expectation in that department. However, we noted the points of concerns with regard to food and front desk service.

Regarding the food and beverage offerings, our buffet menu is rotated on a daily basis to accommodate tastes of different travelers. While acknowledging and regretting the delay caused in Check-in and Check-out process, we would like to assure you that efforts are already underway to minimize the waiting time for guests during check-in and check-out process.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The rooms are amazing with the most amazing beds ever. Thought the place is bit expensive but its perfect for couples. Services are really superb and you will enjoy the stay. The location of the hotel is very close to park street hence easily accessible.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W-Traveller0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay at Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata. Our service and staff work diligently to fulfill guest requirements and it feels great to receive an appreciation of our efforts. Being located in the heart of Kolkata is another plus point of our hotel. Our pricing policy can be best explained by the par excellence services that we offer.

Once again, thank you for your custom and look forward to hosting you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned from a stay at the Kenilworth. It was extremely comfortable, with very good facilities, a very good breakfast - not the same old thing every day - and very helpful and polite staff. I would certainly recommend it over the Park Hotel (which has two or three nightclubs on site and is very noisy) or the Oberoi Grand because, although the Grand IS 'grand' you step out into Chowringhee and might wonder why you'd wasted the money.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is a 'standard' class, but we had business class. Worth asking, b...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoingAwayToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant experience with us at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata. Our property in Kolkata has been designed keeping in mind the requirements of business and leisure travelers alike. Our services are tuned to the needs of our patrons and can be adjusted according to the individual guests’ requirements. We feel proud that our amenities interested you in the best possible ways and were able to create a lasting impression.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback, and hope to feel the warmth of your company again at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,626 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,935 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#15 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#18 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#25 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Address: 1 Little Russel Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#12 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $84 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing