We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peerless Inn(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Kolkata Ballygunge(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swissotel Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$80
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi Grand(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$158
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ITC Sonar(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$157
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Taj Bengal Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Park Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveler rating
217
298
89
14
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
298
89
14
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig benvictoria memorialbusiness hotelstaff were courteousroom servicecamac streetbusiness tripwalking distanceheart of the citynew wingpleasant stayexcellent locationbuffet dinnerbusiness districtold world charmrooms are cleanswimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 642 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you are looking for a comfortable stay during your trip to kolkata and if you are ready for pay around 5k per couple per night, then i would suggest to go for this hotel.

Good hotel with great location and with lots of open space. If you are lucky, then you might be able to see bollywood celebrity during your stay in hotel.

Open garden bar and resturant adds value to this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room near to exit on any floor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecquando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank for your feedback. Kenilworth Kolkata is among the most sought after hotels in Kolkata, we are also counted among the best for our services standards. Another plus point is our vast open space that tends to create a relaxing atmosphere within the confines of the city. Also, our prices reflect our commitment to provide unmatched services and always keep customer before everything else. Once again, thank you for choosing us. We hope to welcome you again at Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I spent a night in the Kenilworth and found it adequate if nothing special.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff friendly and the food acceptable, but I found the whole experience distinctly average. Given the relatively high prices you pay for rooms here, there are better value options in Kolkata.

I was not disappointed by the Kolkata, it was perfectly adequate, but at the price I think there is room for improvement.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevineInsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that your stay with us was a comfortable one. However, we did note that you had a concern regarding high prices of the rooms. Our room tariffs are reflective of the services we provide, and amenities that are made available to our esteemed guests. We regret any inconvenience that might have been caused to you due to our tariff structure. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at our luxury hotel in Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed on three separate nights during our stay in India. Rooms are comfortable, roomy and of a high standard. Restaurant has air conditioned indoor section and outside garden (under cover and under the stars sections). Food was reasonably priced but service was slow. Although cooked to order, there were only a couple of tables in use and it still took an age to be served. On our last night after a long road journey we were very disappointed to learn that it was a Muslim Festival and no alcohol was being served (though strangely they were happy to server pork chops!).
We did not have time to venture outside the hotel other than on our way out by car each day, but it seemed to be close to the main city centre attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback. We express our gratitude for identifying these areas of improvement. Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata is centrally located, caters to business travelers and tourists alike. Our services and restaurants cater to both local flavors and international cuisines. We have made a note of your concerns regarding slow service and would be conducting an investigation to identify the cause. Also, we would like you to know that our restaurants and bar do not serve alcohol on designated ‘dry-days’. Once again, thank you for choosing us. We hope to welcome you again at our property.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had a written confirmation of my reservation. Just few hours when I was schedule to arrive into Kolkata was informed that they were unable to give me a room. When asked for a solution, the Manager - Sales and Marketing said "it was not the Hotel's fault", As a solution they offered a "Hotel" which on my personal enquiry from the locals found out to be a Guest House which has one caretaker. On arrival at the Hotel late in the night, i had to wait in the lobby and was then offered another hotel accommodation and when I was escorted there - it turned out to be shady, dingy outfit. After a day's work, unwell, tired and exhausted I took refuge in a colleagues hotel lobby, Please be very, very careful when dealing with this hotel, specially if you are a single woman travelling.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank SudhaNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Sudha,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We regret the inconvenience caused to you and are disappointed to learn about the unpleasant experience. We have taken serious note of your concern and will thoroughly investigate it. The team at Kenilworth Kolkata, strives to make guest’s stay comfortable; however, we noticed that your experience with us was not as per the expectation, and we regret the same. Incidents such as the one experienced by you are extremely rare occurrence.

We assure you that a full-fledged investigation would be conducted to identify the points of concern. In order to address all your concerns, we request you to write to us via e-mail or call us on the numbers listed on our website and we will be happy to resolve your concerns.

Any lapse on part of the staff is regretted, we would like to sign-off with assurance that the staff would be educated on dealing such issues. Your feedback gives us a perspective to work towards the shortcomings, and provide better services to our guests. Once again, thank you for the review.


Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

review is long overdue .was there for the apicon 2012 at kolkatta. nice place very three and a half star ,clean , nice food .one major complaint ,i hope they corrected it by now. could never eat in peace at the lawns the crows hounded you in the mornings it was terrifying .they hadnt used the net.close to shopping areas by cab off course. not a bad place however .

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctor1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

We express our gratitude to you for staying at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and for reviewing our luxury accommodation in Kolkata on TripAdvisor. The staff at our hotel takes every possible step to make guests satisfied. We are happy to learn that you found the rooms comfortable and hotel premises clean.

The food served in our restaurants, The Big Ben, Aromas and The Marble Room, add to the culinary experience of our guests with diverse cuisines. Our central location makes it easy for travelers to explore the major shopping and recreational hubs of Kolkata.

We would love to welcome you again with assurance of a pleasurable stay.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews