We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well up to standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Ranked #14 of 209 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Well up to standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A good hotel well up to 4 star standard. I had booked through the Internet and on arrival was upgraded to "a better room". This took about ten minutes but the room, of medium size, was very nice and very well equipped. The young men at reception seemed to get a bit flustered but a young woman receptionist quickly sorted out anything and everything. The hotel runs well, the restaurant's food was very good and the staff are polite, friendly and helpful. It is well situated for the average tourist. It's not the cheapest place around but its good if you can afford it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wulfruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us on this prestigious platform. We are happy to learn that you found our services efficient and friendly. It inspires us to learn that our amenities were at par with your expectations.

At Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, we focus on making the stay of our guests comfortable with a blend of modern amenities and traditional hospitality. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we will look forward to serving you on your next trip to Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    234
    75
    9
    21
See reviews for
50
57
41
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for about a couple of days... overall a nice hotel. Up to the standards. Rooms are clean. Bed comfortable for a nice sleep. Service was also good. Was not that happy with the food (I'm a pure veggie) ... found a little expensive too

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on this public platform. We are happy to learn that we were able to provide you with influential accomodation and friendly customer service. Our property includes exclusively decorated rooms combined with well dedicated customer service and mesmerizing dining facilities.

We appreciate the details you have highlighted through this review. Your suggestions help us to make your vacation more interesting and enjoyable while you are at Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata.

We hope you’ll consider us on your next visit to Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We bought a group of 7 with us this time. All members were most impressed with:all aspects of the hotel. The service from staff was outstanding. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome, including making provision for extended hours to fit in with flights at awkward times. Quick and efficient service was provided when the use of wi-fi needed assistance.
The rooms were well appointed and clean. We enjoyed having rooms that overlooked the garden. Rooms were free of noise.
The food was excellent with plenty of variety. As a visitor to India it was much appreciated to have food labeled so we could take advantage of the excellent flavours. A good selection of fruit was also provided. We made use of the travel advisory service which was well placed inside the front door. We loved being close to such good shopping venues.
One suggestion: free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the garden, for a pleasant outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matisse08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank the entire group for visiting Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata. We are much elated to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our rooms and suites are targeted towards providing awe-inspiring luxury to our guests. Thank you once again for mentioning the food at our multi-cuisine restaurant. It has been recognized a prodigious number of times for expressing culture through cuisine.

We appreciate the details in your review. As a matter of fact, your words have incorporated a new zeal in us to exceed your expectations time and again.

Looking forward to hosting you on all your future visits to Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

On seeing the outside facade of the hotel, I got a bit nervous on entering the hotel. I was wondering how actually it would turn out to be. To my surprise, the rooms were very good, neat and clean. The bed was very comfortable and perfect for a good rest.

The best part about the hotel was that the food in the Aromas Cafe. The Buffet Dinner was excellent. Good Soup, Good Starters and Perfect Meal.

Check out took a very long time however. To my surprise, they only had one person attending the reception as well as cash counter at 8:30 am (which is the busiest hour for a check out at any hotel). Keep some time on hand while you make a check out !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shetul_NewAge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

At the very outset, we thank you for choosing us on your trip to Kolkata. At Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, we focus on making the stay of our guests with our bespoke amenities. It was really wonderful to learn that the arrangements, personalized service and style of our accommodation were able render an awe-inspiring character to your stay. However, we deeply regret the delay in your checkout and assure you that it has been noted.

No matter whether you come for business or pleasure, we would like to host you on all your future visits to Kolkata and make your every moment with this preferred abode memorable.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Rooms are a little basic, could do with that extra spark but they're fine.

Staff were good, very attentive and polite.

Food was OK but a little pricey.

Good value hotel in the middle of town. Business center was good, we booked a small last minute meeting in the 'boardroom' and had a good sandwich selection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience at Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata on this public platform. We offer a luxurious blend of modern amenities and traditional hospitality.

Your feedback about our living spaces has been noted. We are more than happy to know that our business center and the services related to it lived up to your expectations.

Looking forward to welcome you once again as a treasured patron in the near future.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel after a long gap of 2-3 years for one day, one night on 12th Oct 2012. But the hotel, despite my protest, charged two days' tariff claiming that the room was retained from previous day against booking. This was a shocking incident never experienced before as earlier on I was a regular to this hotel during my business trips to Kolkata. All said, hotel has well appointed spacious rooms with good quality linen, toiletries & tea maker. The food & breakfast spread of hotel restaurant are of excellent quality with some very delectable items. Hotel is located at a convenient location in Central Kolkata. Hotel tariff, even corporate rates, are steep, as is common in all hotels of equivalent standard in Kolkata.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baijalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for being a regular guest at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata and sharing your review about our property. Besides, being at a very convenient location in Central Kolkata, we are a sought after hotel for our quality service and amenities par excellence. We are extremely delighted to learn that you found the food truly delectable and in-room facilities also lived up to your expectations. Reviews like yours always boost the morale of the team and we strive to offer even better hospitality.

The days are calculated based on the check-in and check-out time, as is the practice in the hospitality industry. Although it is never our intent to make our guests’ stay unpleasant, however we regret the discomfort caused.

We are grateful for your kind words and look forward to host you with a perfect stay experience.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had been to Kenilworth some 20 years ago. It was very quaint then. Now a new building has been built with all modern facilities. We found the staff very helpful and the food in one of their restaurant, 'Aromas' had reasonable amount of choices on their buffet breakfast and dinner.
The location too was good, near centre of the city

Room Tip: They have rooms where I understand that WiFi is free, otherwise you will have to pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jendeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review.

Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata is one of the premier hotels in the city of Kolkata. We maintain a high standard of personalized service and guest loyalty is our key driver. We pride ourselves with our superior quality and customer satisfaction rating. The property provides an experience of elegance as you encounter luxury like never before.

Once again, we appreciate the time and effort you have invested in this review. We hope to welcome you again at Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#20 of 209 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 stars 1,388 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#18 of 209 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 209 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 stars 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 209 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
Park Plaza Kolkata Ballygunge
#13 of 209 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
Hotel Hindusthan International K...
#46 of 209 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Property: Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Address: 1 Little Russel Street, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#9 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing