We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Stay in Kolkata”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Ranked #18 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Our Stay in Kolkata”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had been to Kenilworth some 20 years ago. It was very quaint then. Now a new building has been built with all modern facilities. We found the staff very helpful and the food in one of their restaurant, 'Aromas' had reasonable amount of choices on their buffet breakfast and dinner.
The location too was good, near centre of the city

Room Tip: They have rooms where I understand that WiFi is free, otherwise you will have to pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jendeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review.

Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata is one of the premier hotels in the city of Kolkata. We maintain a high standard of personalized service and guest loyalty is our key driver. We pride ourselves with our superior quality and customer satisfaction rating. The property provides an experience of elegance as you encounter luxury like never before.

Once again, we appreciate the time and effort you have invested in this review. We hope to welcome you again at Kenilworth Hotel Kolkata.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    261
    79
    11
    23
See reviews for
60
65
45
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

* Was impressed by the room cleanliness
* Service level was top notch
* Business Class room size was good
* Sound proofing from glass door could have been better.
* Location wise was great, right in middle of city business area
* Overall was a pleasant experience for business visitors
* Good choice for Kolkata visit

Room Tip: Take the 2nd floor business class room at the end to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forevernikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata on this public forum. We are delighted to know you had a memorable time during your stay with us.

Centrally located, we offer our services to business, leisure and transit travelers from around the world and offer an array of services that range from dining to banqueting. Our goal is to ensure complete guest satisfaction so that each time a patron steps out of the property; they have pleasant memories to dote on.

We are grateful for your kind review and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just because it is the coffee shop of a star category hotel, donot be misled that it would be pricey too ! It is not and the sumptuous lunch buffet is quite diverse and has 1 fish, 1 prawn, i chicken and 1 mutton items alongwith good choices for soup, rice, tandoori roti, nan and local dessert alongwith ice creams and cakes. And it is so reasonably priced .We had buffet and also ala carte and teh food was well prepared and the waiters were very attentive. My only regret is they forgot to add up the tip to the bill even after we repeatedly asked them to do so......makes me feel guilty because it was such good service they provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sckol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Sckol,

Thank you for sharing your review about our coffee shop Aromas at the Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata. We are extremely pleased to know that you found everything at par with your expectations.

The team is delighted to learn that you enjoyed eating at Aromas and expresses its gratitude for sharing your feedback on this public forum.

We are grateful for your kind feedback and look forward to serving you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Good music, Romantic ambience, Excellent service and ofcourse mouth watering food...what else was needed,for a surprise dinner...Last but not the least a beautifully designed heart shaped cake was mesmerising...Nothing could have made it better....I celebrated my husband's birthday in Aroma...Team aroma were superb at hospitality ... I would love to come here over and again ...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_jaiswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Mrs. Jaiswal,

We were really happy to host you at our property and express our gratitude for sharing your review about our services. We are pleased that you the found the quality of food, services and ambiance at par with your expectations. Our team at Aroma pays close attention to every detail to make it a worthwhile experience for everyone. We are glad that we added to making the celebrations of your husband’s birthday a memorable affair.

We are grateful for your kind review and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Quick check-in
Clean Rooms
Comfortable Beds
Good Service
Expensive Food
Would stay again if travelling to Kolkatta.
Checked in late in the evening and left early in the morning could hence could not use other facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnandSingh2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Anand,

We thank you for choosing Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata. It was a pleasure to host your overnight stay in our premises. Centrally located, we offer our services to business, leisure and transit travelers from around the world and offer an array of services that range from dining to banqueting. The team is delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and expresses its gratitude for sharing your feedback on this public forum.

We offer various cuisines, prepared by expert chefs, to tickle the taste buds of all our guests. The range and variety of our menu is very exhaustive and is appreciated by our guests as you may read here on TripAdvisor. We hope this information will assist you in assessing the F&B services from value for money perspective.

We look forward to your check in with us in the near future and hope your schedule will permit you to explore all of our services and amenities.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed many times but keeps getting better & better. Ambience quiet & serene, staff friendly and eager to help. Will give any 5star hotel run for their money. The only thing I see that doesnot qualify for a 5star is no swimming pool. But the upgraded & relocated gym is very good & Mr Seal the instructor is a good & loyal staff. Do well & keep the guest guessing every time.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Chetan,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It certainly feels great to know that you are a return guest at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata.

It is our endeavor to continuously proffer services to match and exceed the expectations of our guests. Our team and staff members put in their best efforts so that our guests can have an experience better than before on each of their stays with us and a feedback like this is truly inspiring. We thank you for acknowledging our efforts.

Thanks once again for sharing your comments. We look forward to serving you when a return visit to the city beckons.

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
131 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have heard stories of this hotel while growing up form my dad. He taks highly about this hotel and so i chose to try it out this time.
Obviously like most of the places in kolkata time stands still so has the hotel in many ways.
THere is a damp smell of old decor and furniture. while the rooms are cleaner yet one doesn;t get the modern smell in the rooms. any attempt to modernize looks tacky.
is Ok to stay for a very short maybe one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhupendrasharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthKolkata, Management at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Bhupendra,

We are overwhelmed by your review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is nice to hear that your father had also stayed with us and it is a privilege to have served you. We are happy to know that you liked the rooms in their old world charm still prevalent at Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata. Perhaps, your review of the property’s contemporary upgrades is influenced by what you would have pictured in your imagination of the hotel while growing up; we sincerely appreciate your candid comments and feedback.

We would be more than happy to serve you again during your next trip to Kolkata. Thank you!

Best Regards,
The Management
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#23 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#17 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata

Property: Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Address: 1 & 2, Little Russel Street,, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#13 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Kolkata is a 4-star luxury hotel located in the heart of the city. This family managed hotel goes back to the grand days of British Raj and, to this day, has an unmistakable colonial look and feel to it. The hotel comprises of exclusively decorated rooms and suites fully equipped with modern amenities. The in-house restaurants and banquet services cater to all tastes with their delectable range of local and international cuisines. The Big Ben relives the colonial days of Kolkata and is the city's only authentic British bar. Enjoy princely ambiance at the Marble Room serving traditional Indian fare. While Aromas is the hotel's multi-cuisine coffee shop. The hotel also has a host of energizing spa and salon facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing